We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but quite expensive”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed two nights at the Harborside Inn in Boston. The hotel is in a very good location, ideally suited to explore Boston by foot. The insides are stylish, but our room didn't have any daylight - our window was facing an inside walkway, which meant that people could look into our room, if we left the blinds open.
The room was big, but not very bright (partially due to the missing daylight, but also due to relatively weak lights). The bathroom was huge, but with a weird setup (e.g. the bathtub had two shower heads, which were both placed somewhat awkward).

Overall this is a good hotel to explore Boston, but I would have expected more for the rather expensive price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Harborside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Canada. It's an amazing location, easy parking, easy to get to, nice rooms. The only problem we had is I don't believe the air conditioning was working in our room. We woke up hot in the middle of the night. I mentioned it to the desk as we were checking out and they said a manager or someone would contact us since we were leaving, but we never heard back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daydreamingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have written prior reviews of the Harborside and stayed there again in May 2014. Will continue to repeat. Great location and room is just fine for one or two nights. Hotel is a quick ride from the airport and near T stations. Lots of restaurants and things to do if you are a tourist. Super convenient if you are on business depending on your office locations.
Continue to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market with the Aquarium subway stop just outside the front door! The state street stop on the T is just 4 blocks up as well. Our room had great character with an exposed brick wall and beautiful views of Boston from our window and provided more room to move around in than some big city hotels do. This hotel is in a busy part of town and we barely heard any of the street noise in our room. Free wifi, great bar and restaurant downstairs, all at a very reasonable price compared to many of the hotels in the city! We will definitely stay here again.

Note: The windows have no screens. We loved this being on the top floor to look around, but for kids be careful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Wharf District Park!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXMARTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is within 1/2 mile of everything I wanted to see. We were there for Boston Calling. It is about a 4 block walk from the concert site. We had a "cabin." This is a nice room in the basement. Do not be worried about a basement room. It is quieter than most hotel rooms and very nicely furnished. Hotel staff were super helpful. This hotel is also very convenient to the "T" (Boston's subway).

Room Tip: The "B" rooms or cabins are a great way to get a more affordable room at this fancy hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at the Harborside May, 12th to 16th 2014 for a business trip and loved every moment of staying in this hotel. It was very conveniently located, I was able to walk to the heart of the financial district for work in less than 10 minutes and in the evenings I was walking distance to anything I desired to see/ visit. It's almost directly across the street from Faneuil Hall, Quincy Market, the Aquarium, pubs, great restaurants and shops as well as just a short walk to the Union Oyster House, the Bell and Tower as well as Boston's little Italy.

You are never a more than a few minutes from an available taxi and although the hotel is close to so many tourist attractions it is still quiet and calm where the hotel is. The staff were very friendly and the room was kept very clean. I travel a lot for business so noticing lack of effort in cleaning the hotel room is second nature to me, I can say that I was impressed with the level of cleanliness of the room and facilities. THIS will be my hotel of choice each and every time I go to Boston, whether for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Try to request a room without the window that faces the elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just spent a night in Boston at this hotel. The hotel would be really convenient to the subway, except that the Government center T Station is closed for renovations. Park St T is about a 20 min walk from the hotel. The hotel is very trendy and located right across from the Harbor. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated, but very small. Our room had one double. They do not have on-site parking. You have to park in a lot that is a block away. It is a little tricky since they do not have bell service. (that I saw). The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful with directions. They knew the area well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbo915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,630 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,066 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £144 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing