We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We booked a "king bed cabin room" which had no window. The room was very quiet, spacious and nicely laid out. However, because it was located below ground level, we had no cell phone reception which came as a surprise. The hotel's location is fantastic...walking distance to many attractions and right next to a blue line T stop. Although not exactly cheap, it was a very good value for the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    618
    150
    56
    49
See reviews for
128
745
95
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We booked a hotel in Boston and immediately looked for a new hotel because we were too far away from the city center. We LOVED the Harborside Inn. The interior was beautiful and we paid a far lower price than we expected. This hotel is cheaper on weekends and some rooms do not have a view. The best part? The location. It is close to the airport and all metro lines. It was an easy walk to the North End and we could stop back, change clothes and continue seeing the sites. We loved being close to Quincy Market and the Waterfront. We would certainly book this hotel again. Note--the price went up for our weeknight stay but overall the value was better than many hotels. Our goal was sightseeing, not free breakfast.

Room Tip: We had an atrium room to save money. I didn't mind but my travel partner felt a bit claustropho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Not only was it perfectly situated right next to the metro, the Harborside inn was within easy walking distance of the Boston Commons, Freedom Trail, and aquarium, as well as multiple other attractions. The hotel is clean and comfortable as well as classy. I was on the 6th floor and didn't experience any outside noise whatsoever. I wish we could have stayed here longer!

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank treegirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Nice room, reasonable value for location, helpful front desk and cleaning staff. Our room was very clean and furnishings were good. We paid a few dollars more for a city-view room (the only room available). The room and bathroom were a little small, but we were not in town to hang out in the room. No coffee maker in the room although coffee was available for purchase from the cafe located in the building. Would definitely have this hotel on our list to consider when in Boston. MTB stop directly in front of the hotel. Easy access to Logan Airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Really nice, comfortable hotel in good locality. Good size room and very clean. Comfortable bed. Close to attractions, harbour ferries etc. However we did have an issue with the toilet in our room which was reported. A staff member from the front desk arrived about half hour later to hand me a plunger to resolve the issue and informed me they often have problems along this line. Rather surprised that a guest is required to resolve these issues. We eventually were given a change of room. The staff member who handled this issue was extremely rude. This took the shine off our whole visit. It became obvious the next day that the issue we had had with the toilet in the previous room required more than a plunger, as there was a distinct smell of disinfectant in the hallway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, and even though rooms aren't cheap I suspect it is one of the cheaper hotels in this area of the city.

The rooms are small and mostly don't have an outside view. However, if you don't spend your days sitting in your hotelroom looking out the window you probably don't care, just like we. The hotel rooms are small, but big enough for a couple. I liked the modern and nautical decor, but of course this is a matter of taste. The beds are comfortable and the shower gets HOT! Wifi is fast and free, like it should be nowadays. Also, unlike some other small hotels, the staff is very friendly and professional. Next time we're in Boston we'll definately check if they have rooms available.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cloggistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Really nice hotel, the location is perfect, close to everything ! The room was spacious, the bar was superbe wih a nice spot on the sidewalk to sit and enjoy the weather. The staff helped us on restaurant suggestions and always answered us with a smile. I would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#42 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,968 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing