We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 6 January 2009

My husband and I've stayed here several times. Location is perfect: literally outside the "Aquarium" Subway Stop. Within walking distance to: Faniel Hall, Quincy Market, shopping, Boston Commons, Beacon Hill, Freedom Trail & about a 15 minute walk to "The North End" - great restaurants!

Hotel has always been clean & quite. Have not eaten on site.

We fly in and never rent a car. You can take a bus from the airport to the subway. And the subway to just about anywhere.

Don't miss the Hauolocaust Memorial (outside) near one end of the market. (sorry for the mis-spelling)

Breakfast can be hard to find - head to Quincy Market for a bagel or eggs.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy_Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    643
    159
    62
    53
See reviews for
134
786
102
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Flew into Logan airport, got onto train and arrived at the door of Harborside Inn, couldn't have been easier!! After almost year and half travelling with backpacks it seemed too easy!!! Staff are really nice and friendly, Boston looked gorgeous for Christmas and the hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to alot of the main sights and attractions. Rooms were large and very clean. Probably it's only downfall is a lack of restaurant for breakfast but lots of places close the hotel and no shortage of Irish pubs for lunch/dinner. Overall great place and great value for money.

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank molly9Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Stayed here for one night only and have no complaints. It was very reasonably priced and the location is great. The room was simple and clean. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ann5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Great location, nice set up, but I just realized that there's a nice loud club next door (which normally I'd be happy to be at), but with the week I just had partying elsewhere, the "I could bring up some ear plugs" answer from the front desk just doesn't cut it for the $130 plus tax I just paid to get some REST. BEWARE THE TIMING OF YOUR STAY.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Noise From The Club Next Door [-----]
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

The location is ideal! Literally steps away from Boston's Mass Transit, known as the "T". You are steps away from Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Quincy Market Place, The North End, The Aquarium, Pubs, restaurants, shopping, EVERYTHING. Stay here and you won't need a car. The rooms were not luxurious, BUT they were clean and SUPER comfortable. Large screen TV in all the rooms, make sure to request a city view. You can't beat watching the fog roll in off Boston Harbor! The bed was comfy, the pillows were awesome! The room had exposed brick walls, and for a Miami girl, that was a great touch. No room service, but, trust me, you won't miss it.... For what you pay one night across the street at the Marriott, you can stay a WHOLE week at the Harborside Inn.

Free Wi-Fi, free use of computers/printers in the lobby add to the excellent experience. Top it all off with a VERY pleasant staff, night and day, they always had smiles for you, and were genuine.... No stuffiness here. They even stored our luggage for us after we checked out and went sightseeing. We almost DIDN'T want to review the hotel in order to keep it a secret. It's THAT wonderful.

  • Liked — The staff, the location.
  • Disliked — The doors slam a little hard and you can hear them at all hours... Small price to pay, though.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SciFiChick_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter, devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2008

This hotel could not be better placed with easy access to the airport, the waterfront and the city centre. As all the guide books
recommend I booked a city view and was a little disappointed to have a third floor room at the rear with an uninteresting view of a back street. To that extent the name Harborside is a little misleading: a pity that when I booked I had not read the review which advises asking for a room at the front on a high floor. On the other hand I don't think I would have liked one of the rooms that faces into the central well.

In all other respects it was an excellent room, nicely converted and with the largest television I have ever had in a hotel (not that I watched it). The front desk was always helpful and the supply of hot coffee abundant. I have come not to expect much in the way of breakfast in American hotels so the absence of a restaurant was not a problem.

  • Liked — Superb location and pleasantly furnished room
  • Disliked — Rather dull outlook
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legaleagle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Second time I've stayed here in the past 6 months. Very reasonably priced, located in a great spot on State Street and right next to the Aquarium t stop !
Free wireless internet was an added bonus and allowed me to get some work done while I was in my room in between client meetings.
Will make sure to stay here the next time that I am in town !

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iceref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,598 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,277 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing