We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harborside Gem”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2009

The location and value cannot be beat. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was a nice size and there were notissues with noise.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VADawnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2009

This hotel has fantastic proximity to Fanueil Hall, The North End, and The Waterfront. We were delighted with the room(queen atrium). Especially the surround sound stereo!! That was a plus. The bathroom had slate floor and shower(speaker in there as well to hear the stereo was great!) Our bed was on a platform which you stepped up into. The wood underneath and surrounding the bed made a racket, it got to be very comical. Comfortable bed and furnishings, nice television with lots of channels from which to choose. Lots of restaurants in the area within walking distance. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUGARPEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

This hotel is a great deal for Boston. The location is awesome. Easy access to public transport, if you need to get somewhere. There is a garage to park in down the street, so that was very easy. There are lots of great bars and dining areas around. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are a good size. The bathroom is very standard, but good. The hotel was very quiet. There were lots of other couples staying there. They had a computer in the lobby to use for free. If anyone is complaining about this hotel, I can't understand why. I really loved staying here and would again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empty002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This place is Great. we checked in late evening and the guy on the front desk was really nice. we were upgraded free of charge to a bigger room. we were given a King atrium room. this had no windows to the outside but overlooked the inside of the hotel. this was okay. the brickwork in the building was awesome very nice. the room was great, very clean and had Huge tv and sound system, music in shower which was great. i would recommend this hotel it is close to town and other stuff, right next to a T (subway stop) and places to eat and drink. Staff were very cool.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomobtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

This hotel was one of the cheapest hotels on Expedia and, after reading some reviews, I wasn't expecting too much. However, this place is amazing, the rooms are large, equipped with 42" plasma, surround sound system, fantastic slate bathroom and very comfortable bed.

Convenient for The Cheers Bar (kind of the local, though expensive).

I would totally recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed here one night during my children's school vacation and loved every minute of our stay. The hotel is located basically in Quincy Market and a short walk to the Waterfront, Boston Common and the North End. It would be perfect for a tourist who is unfamiliar with Boston. There is a subway stop 20 feet from the door.

The room (807) was much larger than I expected with a comfortable king sized bed. It was stylishly decorated with three chairs and a table. The stereo was an added bonus. The bathroom was large and brand new with a tiled shower (no tub). Some of the rooms I saw while they were being cleaned were much smaller so I would ask for one of the larger ones. We had no problems with noise but it was a Wednesday night.

For $118.00 there was no better value in downtown Boston.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almarrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

My wife and i researched this hotel in depth, and noticed several comments about traffic noise, noise from rowdy party-goers, and the music throb of the adjacent clubs.

We decided to take the trade the risk for the reasonable rate and convenient location, booked an interior atrium room to at least avoid the street and foot traffic noise, and hoped the club noise was no big deal.

Upon check-in, we were offered an "upgrade" to a city view room. I voiced concern about the reviews of high noise for street-facing rooms, but the manager stressed the 8th floor should be well clear of that.

Bad idea. Extreme traffic noise (mostly cars honking due to traffic snarls on surrounding streets), police sirens, very loud crowds, and an incessant throb of techno beat from next-door club. And it continued past 4am.

When i voiced my concern the following morning to the person who checked us in, he did apologize, and admitted the noise was indeed high on thu-sat nights, and even the atrium rooms still get significant nightclub throb. Would have been nice to get that honest assessment before we wasted our evening and money. Hopefully i can save you the bother.

So, the desk help was extremely helpful (but we feel less than honest), the rooms were very clean and comfortably furnished, but none of that makes a difference if you're trying to relax. We could forgive until midnight perhaps, but past 4am? No way folks. If we were much younger and so inebriated it didn't matter, and the rooms were free, well perhaps a good fit, but for anything else avoid avoid AVOID.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank you222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,721 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#51 of 84 in Boston
7,971 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £97 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing