We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not do it!! ”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2005

We just returned from that hotel and it was HELL. Our room – although clean – was extremely loud. We arranged to stay at that hotel because our friends from Europe booked themselves a room at that place and since we wanted to visit with them we decided to stay at the same place. We got to our room about 8 pm and thought the windows were open because it was so noisy! A construction crew was working outside our window drilling with pneumatic jackhammers and digging with a forklift truck. They finally finished up around 12:30 am, only to our dismay to return at 1:30 to resume working. They continued to work until 3:20 am! At 6 am another crew started work there as well. We got two hours of sleep. Repeated calls to the local police and complaints with the hotel’s front desk went nowhere, although the staff was aware of the noise situation and told us that others had complained the night before and that they themselves called 911 the previous night to complain about it. The front desk did offer us the only other available room, but it was a smoking room and it really stank! Due to no sleep, we canceled the rest of our planned stay in Boston and decided to return home on the next available flight. Upon check-out the manager had apparently just left, but we insisted that the front desk contact him and they were finally able to reach him on his mobile phone. He claimed to be “sorry” for what had happened but was not willing to take any responsibility for this miserable experience because it was not in his "control," and he declined to compensate us even part of the room rate. We will follow-up with the owner as well as file a complaint with Better Business Bureau. Apparently, the crews are working on the "Big Dig" project in Boston, which has been ongoing for several years now, and they had been working at this particular location for three days, which the hotel staff was well aware of – even at the time we made the reservation. At a minimum, we believe the hotel was responsible for informing its guests upon making reservations that although it had rooms available, they are next to the construction project, which would allow the guest to make an informed decision.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank runewarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Harborside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2005

Stayed here in October 2005. Found the rooms to be very pleasant and comfortable. Even when we said not to be disturbed late into the day and then we put the clean our rooms ticket on the door the room was cleaned! Lack of a restaurant which was a shame, but there were plenty of places to eat near by. The location we thought was excellent as near to the Aquarium (both that and 3D Imax recommended) and also to the T allowing you to visit many other places with relative ease. Fanueil hall is close and yes may be touristy, but does help when you can't be bothered walking miles to a resturant and the selection of food is very good. Not far from Little Italy either and walkable to most places. I would stay there again as very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JaseyWase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bellingham, WA
325
Reviewed 25 October 2005

The hotel is in a great location for sightseeing. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the room was clean but old, the decor is charming with exposed brick walls, a nice change from large chain accomodations.

Now the bad news. I like to sleep. I like to sleep at night. Sleeping at night is good for you. Good sleep makes your vacation more enjoyable.

If you can survive on 2 or 3 hours of sleep a night, by all means stay here. The bar next to the hotel is EXTREMELY LOUD and I even sleep with earplugs because my partner snores, it was October so our windows were closed and latched. I fell asleep at 10 pm, then was awake from midnight until 4 am with loud thumping bass disco music, yelling and hooting from inside the bar, and screaming drunk girls hanging out on the sidewalk after the bar closed. Now, it is not the Hotels fault that a loud disco and bar with drunk ho's and frat boys are within spitting distance, but they could and should install new, double paned, soundproof windows on that side of the building (might I suggest Milgard Windows from Washington State?). That might help somewhat.

I won't stay here next time I go to Boston. If you really want to be close to a bar with girls gone wild and frat boys, for some reason, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2005

We stayed in a atrium room for one night on 6th October. We were able to check in as soon as we arrived at 1pm. We took the subway in from the airport and started to look for the road name and there was the hotel straight across the road. The room was big, and really pleasant - no natural light -but that's not a big deal. The bathroom was nice, lovely fluffy towels too.

We were only a couple of minutes from Quincy Market.

The only negative thing I could say was the wooden floor in the bedroom was a bit dirty.

The room was quiet at night too.

Would definately stay there again if in Boston.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CathyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2005

We stayed at the Harbourside Inn for 2 nights, the first night being a Saturday night. Our room was a city view and the noise level from 10pm until 4pm was unbearable. Music, screaming drunks, cars and taxi's hooting through the night. We rang reception at requested a different room and was advised that the inn was full. The lack of sleep ruined the following day for us, fortunately we were able to change rooms for our last night. We requested compensation and were told that the duty manager would deal speak with the Manager, we asked four times then gave up.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank snowbird_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2005

In a nutshell, if you want a great location for the North End, Fanueil Hall, Aquarium, this place is great. T stop is right in front, easy walk to shopping on Washington...but it has no other positive attributes. The problems we had there were minor inconveniences, but still, when you're paying about 200/night (inc. taxes), you expect more/better services.

1. They told us the day before we came that they had wireless internet access. And they did...but it only works if you sit directly in front of the front desk. Nowhere else in the lobby or hotel (certainly not in our 5th flr room).

2. Our toilet backed up a couple times. They always came and fixed it...but we didn't want to deal with this.

The rooms were clean but quite small. About the size of small suite on a cruise ship...but with less useful furniture. The one ice machine is in the basement.

All in all, not really a bad place...but could hardly call it a good place or even a good value. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank leonc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2005

We just left the Harborside Inn, and I don't think we stayed at the same hotel as the previous reviewers. Several times during our three-day stay I commented to my husband: "Why would anyone stay anywhere else in Boston?" Our room was clean, our bath was clean, our bed was comfortable, our air conditioner worked, our room was extremely quiet (much more so than in other large cities we have visited), the staff was courteous and helpful, the elevator was fast and quiet, the location is outstanding (Fanueil Hall one block and the Aquarium T-stop outside the door), and the Mediterranean Grill next door perfect for breakfast and lunch. It was an absolutely ideal base from which to explore Boston. The Liberty trail is one block away, and we took the T to a show at the Opera House. We loved the Harborside Inn! Our only advice has nothing to do with the hotel: pick any trolley company except Beantown; the others run much more frequently as we found watching them go by while we waited for Beantown.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,630 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,066 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £144 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing