We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Nice Place In a Great Location”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #49 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Place In a Great Location”
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We very much enjoyed our three night (8/14-16) stay at the Harborside Inn. The lobby and room were very clean and well-kept. Those at the desk were always helpful with our questions. I took the advise of others about the outside noise and booked an atrium room on the 3rd floor. It was very quiet and, although there was a minimum of natural light, it was never a problem There was an antique brick wall behind the bed, unusual bedside lighting, nice bathroom, big wide screen TV on the wall, and a table with chairs. A small refrigerator would have been helpful, but we got around it with ice (machine located in the basement). Also a nice touch would have been a dimmer on the ceiling light.

For the inexorbitant price and great location, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. It's easy walking distance to the harbor, great big and little restaurants, and all of the action going on around Faneuil Hall. The freedom trail runs right in front of the place and the T is just a short distance away.

Take the Duck Tour!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    630
    154
    57
    51
See reviews for
130
758
98
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

The hotel is very close to the city center and to the aquarium. The metro station in on the opposide side of the street. A little bit noisy during the night cause the pubs along the street. Atrium rooms are more quite.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

The hotel is a simple city hotel with no general amenties outside free coffee and internet access in the lobby. I chose a city facing room which was a mistake.

The room was smallish but okay. It lacked a fridge and safe but included an ironing board and hair dryer and a very large flat screen tv. The bathroom was very tatty, the sink was split and old, the general condition was poor and the bath had in my opinion not been cleaned as evidenced by the number of rogue hair present in the bath! The main problem with the room was that it did not have sound proof windows. The hotel is in between a loud bar and a nightclub and it was extremely noisy on the first night (I was on the 6th floor) until 2 am. I purchased earplugs for the second night!

The location is ideal for donwtown Boston and is very close (maybe too close) to lots of bars and restaurants and has easy access to the Port for the water taxi to the airport.

I would have been satisfied at half the price but at $240 a night it is a complete rip off and like many US hotel very poor value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doofler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

There is no doubt that the Harborside Inn is located in a great location ...you can easily walk out the door of the hotel and walk to many sights ....great area, and yes, the "T" line is right there! Certainly the room was huge and clean ...and fortunately quiet....the hotel room does have a certain charm to it with its brick walls. We were there for a trip to Fenway Park, and that day was rain, rain, rain. I did ask the front desk when I would know if the game might be cancelled, just general questions about the policy and I must say, he wasn't very helpful at all. (It wasn't a big deal, I decided to call the Fenway Park number on the back of my ticket, but he didn't even suggest that). But other than that,
it is a good, clean, smack in the middle of Boston, hotel. I might consider staying at a
cheaper place next time, but all in all, not bad.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The Harborside is a "no frills" hotel with a great location close to Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Aquarium, Little Italy, etc. The location is really outstanding. That, alone, make it an excellent value.

It's a clean, recently remodeled hotel. There is no restaurant, no room service, but the rooms are adequate and reasonably appointed. It's got great access to the subway, too.

This is the kind of hotel that uses plastic cups and paper coffee cups. Hot water for the shower is a little questionable at some times.

Rooms are quiet. TV is wide, flat panel. Space for your clothing is very adequate. Desk staff is very helpful and courteous.

Housekeeping does well at cleaning the room, but they don't seem to dispose of used cups or empty the ice bucket.

Wireless internet access is free and easy and they also have a bank of computers in the lobby for guest use.

If you're looking for location/value and don't put a lot of emphasis on "luxury", this is a fine choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littletm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at the Harborside Inn! It was in the middle of everything, right out front was a blue line T stop, across the street was Quiny Market, a short walk to the harbor and aquarium! The rooms were clean and quiet. I would definitely recommend this hotel to adult travelers!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2009

This is a very convienently located hotel in the downtown district. Simple access to all parts of the city via the "T" , water taxi, or cab. Walking works pretty well too! The room was nice as well as the staff.

The only down-side is the lack of food service, but with the abundance of restaurants in the area, it's hard to fault them for sticking to what they know. I wouldn't venture into food in that area, if I weren't prepared to offer top-knotch fare.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,145 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing