We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Stay All The Way Around”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2007

I stayed at this hotel and was kept awake until 3:00 in the morning by the bars which come to life at night! You could hear the partiers as if they were in the next room. I complained to the hotel clerk and he said there was nothing he could do about it. The next morning I was complaining to the manager (who was very confrontational and unprofessional) stating that I wanted another room and the manager claimed she had never heard that complaint before this one. A lady sitting in the lobby stormed over to the desk and said that is so not true since she had just complained the day before when she complained about the same thing and had been placed in a different room. I also checked with others in my group (we had 3 rooms total) and all said the same thing - they were kept up until after 3:00 a.m. because of the booming of the bars and then the people leaving the bars. I was told by one of the clerks that the owner decides if anyone gets credit based on how he is feeling the day he looks at the complaint. Very unprofessional group - there are a lot better Boston hotels without the noise!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WorldTraveler777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Harborside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2007

From the moment we arrived, the excellent customer service set this place apart. Steve was extremely helpful during check-in, gave great directions, and was extremely pleasant. I'm not sure of the names of the others who worked the desk, but everyone made our stay enjoyable.

You can't beat the location of this hotel! Literally steps away from Quincy Market and Long Wharf, with the subway "T" stop in front of the building. (There is absolutely no reason to have a car in Boston. Everything is within walking distance or a short ride on the T. We returned our car immediately after checking in).

The hotel is a converted mercantile building and is just charming with the exposed brick walls and hardwood floors. It is worth paying a little extra for the city view. Other reviews have noted the street noise, but we stayed on the 8th floor and the street noise was no problem. (We heard city trash trucks idling in the middle of the night, but no bar-hoppers or anything like that). The hotel was under construction during our stay, but a quick call to the front desk a week or so before our stay ensured that we were as far from the construction "noise" as possible. In fact, the only way we knew the hotel was under construction was the unfinished lobby.

We appreciated the coffee and computers in the lobby; they made checking in to our flight online a breeze.

Some negatives: No coffee maker or safe in the room. Bathrooms are clean but not updated. Ice machine was in the basement. Hotel under construction.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrAndMrsM2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

I liked this hotel. Definitely an alternative to the chains. No food on site though but there is a sports bar and convenience store immediately adjacent with bars and restaurants within a block or two. Fanuiel Hall is just a block away. And the T stop is right outside their front door. I would stay there again. I loved the brick walls and the hardwood floors.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fpencollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhagopian9, Owner Manager at Harborside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2007

Traveler Tip:
When staying in the heart of any city you will encounter some city noise.

We are a owner operated hotel who care very much about all of our customer needs, suggestions. and complaints.

We remember that this person was working very hard to get themselves a discount.

Don't believe every thing you read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2007

My husband and I stayed here in March and had a wonderful time.Our room was lovely and clean,staff very friendly and the owner Mark was really nice.I manage a Inn on Marthas Vineyard and would really recommend The Harbourside Inn to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

My husband, my parents from Germany and I spent 2 nights here. We did not get any rest in this hotel. Our rooms were located right next to the construction zone. Nobody informed us; booked the rooms over the phone. Therefore price was not acceptable! Hotel staff was not the sharpest in terms of customer service .We enjoyed Boston anyways and made the best out of it, definitely learned a lesson to always ask from now on if there is any construction/ remodeling going on.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank Rostock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2007

13/06/2007
A tripadvisor Cheshire UK
Just spent 3 days at the Harbourside to meet our US based relatives. The hotel lobby still needs some work but our rooms were very comfortable and the hotel is in an excellent location, yards from the harbour and Quincy market. Hot drinks are available in the lobby but not breakfast but there are several options from small cafes to the adjacent Marriot. Exellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank twolancastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2007

Our atrium view room was larger than expected and included a small table with two hard wooden chairs. A more comfortable chair would have been appreciated. Room was generally very quiet with occasional noise from guests walking in room above. During the day, there was a little construction noise from other parts of the hotel, but it did not bother us. The large comfortable lobby provided free internet access. Complimentary coffee and tea were available 24 hours. We paid $169 plus tax per night. Other, more upscale hotels in the area are $300-400.

The Harborside is very close to Quincy Market, and Faneuil Hall. The Aquarium "T" stop is just outside the front door. Boston Common is about a mile away. Many moderately priced eating places are near by at Quincy Market and neighborhood cafes.

My only complaint regards placing the towel rack directly above the toilet. Small towels went for a swim on more than one occasion.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank runtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,630 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,065 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £144 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing