We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Ranked #59 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Plano, Texas
1 review
“Just OK”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Check out my photo of laundry on my hall. Thought I had gotten off on the service elevator by mistake. What kind of management can think this is a good idea.

Positives: Desk staff very friendly and most awesome jogging/bike trail around the harbor just a short walk away through the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Pole, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We greatly apologize for the unnecessary frustrations you experienced. Our goal is to meet and exceed every guests' expectations and we are terribly sorry we failed to do so on your visit. We would love the chance to gain some additional information so we can follow up with our Housekeeping Team. At your convience, please reach out to me directly or contact Soraya.Chang@hilton.com, our Executive Housepeeper.

I'm glad you enjoyed the running and bike trails near the hotel. We are fortunate to be so close to such a great beach with great areas to get a little exercise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    612
    361
    132
    66
See reviews for
466
450
129
428
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a scaled down version of the other Doubletrees where I've stayed. There's a snack bar and grill, not really a restaurant. And there are not other restaurants within walking distance. But it's been newly renovated, and the rooms are comfortable. Also, close to a T station (local train/subway).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank OnALark_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

we were able to stay the night before our trip and leave our car at the hotel.....we feel very comfortable leaving our car in good hands....since we had had problems with a few other places!! we have been staying with them every trip for the last 7 years and wont stay anyplace else in the Boston area!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 895jacquelynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel is mediocre, overall, but the manager is the reason that I would not recommend this hotel to any woman. Check in was all right, but do watch out for the cookies they're so proud of, which are 310 calorie grease bombs (read the package and decide whether you really want to eat that)! While there's no dining room there's a tacky little snack bar where you can at least get a salad or sandwich. I waited for a while in the bar but no one offered to serve me, so eventually just took my salad to my room and went to bed. I didn't sleep well due to noise from the heating system (see below) but it was an average, if overpriced and not perfectly maintained, hotel room with a view of a parking lot.

The next morning about 9:30 am there was a light tap on my door and then the housekeeping staff tried hard to open it (fortunately I had the latch on), despite the "do not disturb" sign; eventually I got some clothes on and answered and explained that I was still there. I called the front desk to find out when checkout was, and they said noon, which is what I had thought. When I asked why they were so eager to have me out more than 2 hours before checkout, he simply put me on hold and never came back. So eventually I hung up, got dressed and started packing. Twenty minutes later the phone rang. It was the manager calling to start an argument with me about whether there had been a sign on the door (really, there was). I told him I'd just leave, as I didn't exactly feel welcome, and he started yelling at me, so I hung up. When I went to check out, there he was again, Mustafah I think his name was, wanting to argue further. I am a professional woman in my 50s traveling alone on business, which I do often; perhaps a male guest or couple would have a different experience. Middle eastern men like the manager of this hotel sometimes disapprove of women traveling alone (or perhaps just women in general) and try to intimidate them, and that was definitely how my experience at this hotel felt, as he continued to try to argue with me and get me to agree with statements that I knew were simply not true--I know that there was a "do not disturb" sign on my door, for example, because I put it there myself. But even if there wasn't, housekeeping walking into my room hours before checkout is unacceptable and deserved an apology, instead of the scolding I got from the manager for daring to complain. The manager's patronizing tone and insistence on arguing with me (despite the fact that he was wrong--his staff seems to have lied to him) was unpleasant, to say the least. I was shaking when I left, and am still angry many hours later. This is not the place for an unaccompanied woman, that's for sure.

Neighborhood is bleak, coffee maker was broken on one side, toilet flushes so vigorously that it sprays aerosols of nasty water and the room and bathroom, while stylish, were far from meticulously clean (think dust on ledges and grime in corners, and something sharp that I stepped on twice but couldn't locate embedded in the carpet).

This hotel is overpriced for what it is, even without the argumentative and patronizing attitude of the manager and the intrusiveness of the housekeeping staff. The heater was so loud I finally just turned it off so I could sleep and still I could hear the heater in the room next door turning on and off with a sound like a vintage garbage disposal. Altogether an unpleasant experience. Save yourself the aggravation--there are lots of hotels in this price range closer to better parts of Boston. And if you're a woman traveling by yourself this is definitely one to avoid..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeralTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Pole, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you had during your recent stay with us. We do our best to ensure every guest and team member are respectful of each other so that all may enjoy their stay and we regret having dropped the ball. We have shared your concerns with our security and facilities teams so we may work to better preserve the comfort of our guests moving forward. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality hospitality you deserve, should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Stephen Pole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Let's get the negative out of the way. The hotel is in the middle of a wasteland. There is no place in walking distance to grab a bite to eat or to shop. Only place close to see is Harbor Walk. Nice views but you have to walk across a vast parking lot to get there. Again, there are no shops or anything on the walk. But the harbor view is nice. The Red Line is only a couple blocks away but the area does not look the greatest. Now the good. Great and friendly staff. A maid even helped us with our room key when we had trouble opening our door. The rooms nice calming colors. ( I think the hotel was recently renovated.) The bathroom spacious. The bed to die for. Usually after you vacation you can't wait to get home to sleep in your own bed. My bed felt like a torture rack compared to the Doubletree's. They do have a very small bar area. Also an adequate Market/Deli so you can have meals. The usual fruit, cereal, muffins, sandwiches, snacks, etc. Would not stay at this location again. They do have another one in Boston that I believe is more centrally located. Tip: when you pick up the Boston map at the front desk, also pick up the Old Town Trolley Sightseeing map. We used it quite a bit. Easier to read and shows where attractions are.

Room Tip: Might want to ask for a room in the back of the hotel so you have a harbor view. We had a front view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is average, at best.

The good:

The room was nice & very clean. I like the Double Tree line's bathrooms, which feel quite upscale.

The shuttle drivers were very nice, quite funny, and accommodating... they took us to our choice of restaurant, even though it wasn't on their service list.

The bad:

No restaurant in the hotel & a lackluster deli.

The room was HOT. I turned the air conditioning all the way down, and still baked all night. If I had been staying more than one night, I'd have demanded a different room.

When I called the lobby to get the shuttle to pick us up at the airport, the phone rang 20 times before someone answered & I was then put on hold for more than 5 minutes. That's ridiculous when all I wanted was to know where to catch a shuttle that was already on its way to the airport.

Other Double Trees had mini fridges & offered me cold bottled water... this one has neither.

Charging for Wi-Fi in 2014 is an absurd show of greed.

I wouldn't choose this one again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonlime78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, CO
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel has very limited meal options and no restaurants nearby. Internet is an extra charge. Breakfast is not included. Housekeeping is below average. Staff was friendly but Manager constantly had his head buried in paperwork. Shuttle driver was friendly. average hotel but a below-average value. Look elsewhere unless you really need to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank cfiroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Pole, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our dining options and guestroom comfort and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience moving forward. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,
Stephen Pole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 83 in Boston
3,628 reviews
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside

Property: DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Address: 240 Mount Vernon Street at Bayside Center, Boston, MA 02125-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#47 Family Hotel in Boston
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two miles from downtown Boston, our convenient hotel offers easy access to the subway just one block away as well as complimentary shuttle service to the airport, local area restaurants, the BCEC and Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. Enjoy comfortable accommodations in a standard guest room or upgrade to one of our suites. Grab a quick bite at the Marketplace Cafe and Take Away with premium deli meats and Starbucks coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club Boston Bayside Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston Bayside
Doubletree Boston
Doubletree Club Hotel Boston Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing