We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great wedding reception”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We held a wedding reception at the Colonnade and it was exceptionally well planned and managed. The cocktail hour was held on the rooftop pool area and the skies opened up to sunshine just before the event. The atmosphere, the staff, and the appetizers were great. The following dinner and the dinner service was also top notch.

Thanks to Kristyn and the staff, Jerry, and Chef Nick.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,697 - 2,703 of 3,385 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I were at the Colonnade for five nights, as part of a conference held at the hotel. The location is tops, and Brasserie Jo serves excellent breakfasts with very good service. The parking garage is expensive but convenient, as is the location of the hotel itself, near the Prudential Center, public transportation, and shopping. On the downside, the TV-Internet connection was very difficult to use; the lighting in the room and hallways was extremely dim (almost dangerous) and our bathtub seemed to collect water underfoot, resulting in a decidedly squishy feel when taking a shower. We would stay here again, but might even bring our own lightbulbs, to facilitate reading...no kidding.

Room Tip: Street rooms get noise from emergency vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here in June last week - I was very pleasantly surprised as I'd seen some negative reviews on here about unfriendly staff but this turned out to be the opposite. The room was very spacious, modern and bright, it even had a dining table and chairs, plus ceiling to floor windows with a fantastic view of the city - Prudential Centre and and Symphony hall - very pretty at night. The staff did their utmost to make us welcome and importantly it felt genuine, unlike other hotels we stayed at where staff sound like robots. We dined in Brasserie Jo and it was a perfect end to our two week trip in the US - the brasserie is stylish, busy and bustling with a city dining atmosphere (also serves food until 11 - we were shocked in Maine where dinner is usually only served until 9) We had a great steak Bearnaise with a fantastic bottle of Bordeaux recommended by their sommelier. The brasserie also has a lovely cocktail bar. The location is excellent - there is a metro stop right outside the hotel taking you downtown within a few stops. Newbury Street and Copley Square are a short walk away. Personally we preferred Newbury Street to being downtown. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great so the rooftop terrace wasn't open but we went up to have a look and I can imagine it would be a lovely spot to have an apertiff on a warm summer evening - sadly we missed that, the weather in Boston was awful so we spent more time in the hotel luckily in a great one. Just a special mention to the reception manager who kindly organised late check out for us - thank you we really appreciated it. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a first class hotel without paying the earth.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChampignonSauvage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I always looked at the Colonnade when I was leaving town and wondered why I hadn't ever stayed there...and the next time I went to go to Boston for work, the Westin was sold out. I'm an SPG member so I was annoyed but it was a perfect excuse to stay somewhere else! And boy am I glad I did! I was so welcomed at the Colonnade, the service is fantastic from the moment you walk in, til the moment you leave. The gym is nice and be sure to check out the rooftop pool bar!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyGags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

stayed here for 3 nights and found the hotel to be perfect for a city stay. as a travel agent
i would suggest this hotel due to location, price and quality. friendly helpful staff and a rooftop pool that made the hotel my number one choice. after sightseeing and shopping
the pool offers a great oppertunity to relax and enjoy some sunshine. only suggestion is a shady area for some of the loungers when it gets very hot

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Best value and centrally located on the T(can walk to fFenway and many other attractions). Rooms very clean and quiet, street side view better. Great K-cup coffee. Beds extremely comfy. Concierge John and bellhop Norman excellent with information and service. Breakfast excellent in Brasserie jo and roof top pool clean, relaxing and great waitress service with unusuall variety of frozen drinks. Parking was pricey but thats Boston. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for street side room..more to see, no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegfach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thank you so much for your positive review and for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate that you mentioned our location, clean and quiet rooms, our one-of-a-kind Rooftop Pool and most especially the service you received from our staff. We'll be sure to pass along your comments to each staff member. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back a 3rd time! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here with my teenage son, then husband joined later, for four nights, in a double/double room. Room was clearly recently renovated and was very nice - my only complaint I that I wish the room had two queens instead of double beds. Had everything else we could ask for. We were on top floor, so just a quick walk up the stairs, and we were at the small, but very nice pool deck. The food at the poolside restaurant was brought up fromthe Brasserie Jo downstairs. We ate breakfast there t two days, and lunch there two
other days. We made good use of the concierge Cindy, who helped us procure Red Sox tickets, and who had good restaurant recommendations and directions. thanks Cindy! The hotel is pretty close to Fenway, we walked home two nights from the game. Good location right across the street from Prudential Center mall and restaurants, including Five Napkin Burger (yum!). Sorry for typos, using an iPad, and the app does not let you scroll back to edit!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thanks very much for your positive review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed Boston's only Rooftop Pool and that you were impressed by the service from our concierge staff and our location. A couple of the items that we feature during breakfast at the Rooftop Pool may also be found at the award winning Brasserie Jo. However, most are exclusive items that we hope our guests have the opportunity to experience. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,414 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#9 of 84 in Boston
4,523 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £117 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing