We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in Boston”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Great hotel. Rooms are a good size and very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. The rooftop pool is great - the food & drinks up there are great, too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue4Star4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,690 - 2,696 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

Made reservations at the Colonnade for a business conference nearby, with some concern about not staying at a hosting hotel. Needless concern, since the Colonnade offered all that we could have desired. Housekeeping was efficient, friendly, and gracious, while the attached restaurant, Brasserie Jo, was exceptional. Jerry Good, their omnipresent concierge, offered wonderful service and advice throughout our week-long stay. The front desk was also efficient and courteous. The room was quite comfortable, especialy the bed, with a modern style and all amenities supplied. We found room service to be gracious and quick and the food to be delicious. On-site self-parking proved quite convenient, although the location in the Copley Square area and convenience of transportation did not require use of our vehicle. Take some time to visit the rooftop pool, an exceptional oasis in the city. The hotel also has a commendable exercise and fitness area, which is very conveniently located right off the elevator. All in all, we liked everything about the hotel, but we appreciated the staff the most and leaving the least.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Genuinely friendly staff, clean, great location and great pillows! I was with my 10 year old granddaughter who I often take trips with. She always loved the four seasons but after this weekend she told me the Colonnade was her new favorite. The roof top pool was special for both of us as we had a great time swimming and sun bathing and she got a kick out of having breakfast and lunch poolside.

Room Tip: The rooms that face Huntington Ave (the front side of the hotel) as high up as you can get are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackbow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Look at the map and you might think you want to pass this hotel up because it's not in the historic center. Don't believe it. The Boston "T" or subway is right out the front door and three stops away is the historic Freedom Trail. Across the street is the Duckmobile Tours that go around the historic sites and downtown as well as on the Charles River. They start in front of the Convention Center(across the street) which has plenty of shopping, hotels, restaurants, as well as a nice food court. Take a nice leisurely walk about 10 blocks and you're at Fenway Park! The hotel has a beautiful rooftop pool(a little small) that makes for a perfect end to a long siteseeing day. The concierge answered our questions and arranged for tours and a whalewatching trip. The hotels's attached garage was extremely convenient and they have staff on the garage levels watching over the place when you are coming late in the evening(great touch!) We will definitely be returning and basing ourselves out this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegionVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Boutique hotel feel... Contemporary comforts of a home away from home. Great!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyBBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

As we are budget cautious travellers, we usually tend to stay in Comfort Inn's and similar hotels. We were therefore a bit reluctant to pay over $200 per night, but decided to give a try to the Colonnade. This was a great decision and worth it! The extra bucks we spent at the Colonnade gave us so much more, that we now feel a Comfort Inn is way overpriced for what we get!
Clean, spacious room, tastefully decorated rooms, good quality towels and bathrobe (not the ordinary see-through stained and washed out cheap towel!!), comfy bed and pillows, nice bathroom amenities, friendly staff, hassle free check in and out, great location. This is the perfect retreat after a busy day.
As we are dog owner, dining out with our pooch is very challenging. So we were delighted to buy our food in the restaurants across the street and bring it back in our room, for a relaxing diner "at home". (and being able to sit on a real table- with a view-, with real chairs... not the ordinary tiny computer desk cluttered with the yellow pages and disposable paper cups!)
Lobster and delicious Chowda is just across the street!
We were there on Independence Day and street was pretty busy that night. We found out that extra staff was on duty to screen people willing to get access to rooms. A good point for the residents safety!
We had our breakfasts at Jo Brasserie. It's reasonably priced, with a top notch service.
On the negative side, internet is not free and becomes very pricey if you intend to use it everyday. Same comment for the parking. At $38 per day, it's not a bargain, but offers in and out privilege, and has direct convenient access to the lobby and rooms.
We are experienced world travellers and have been staying in all kind of hotels, from cheap Inns to pricier Westin's ,Shangri-La's, Hyatt's and so...
Staying at the Colonnade is probably one of our best experience, and one of the greatest value for our bucks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabbagetowntoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The Colonnade is an excellent hotel. Great location near Prudential/Copley, easy access to Back Bay and South End. Friendly staff and good service. Clean, comfortable rooms. Good value for rate.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#9 of 84 in Boston
4,541 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £111 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing