We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent indeed”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent indeed”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I had a good feeling about Colonnade right away when I stepped in and that feeling kept getting better and better the longer I stayed there. Staff at the reception, concierge and bell boys were all extremely helpful and polite. I have to give them credit for all the useful and objective tips and friendly attitude.

We got a spacious double room with queen sized twin beds from the top floor. I just loved the stylish and fresh interior of the room, the beautiful bathroom with double doors and a little yellow bath duck. The window wall was all window, from floor to roof and the view was great. I could see all away to Fenway Park from up there.

Location is perfect. If you arrive by train, Back Bay Station is just like 5mins walk from the hotel. Nearest subway station (Prudential Station, Green Line E) is just in front as the Prudential Center itself. There´s also a dry cleaner / coin laundry just around the corner (W Newton St.) and great breakfast place called Thornton´s a block from the hotel (150 Huntington Av.).

If you want to eat your breakfast at the hotel, it will be served in Brasserie Jo, which is like the hotel´s own restaurant just next door. Breakfast was ok there, food was good, but in my opinion the place was a bit overpriced and service was, yes, polite but also stiff, cocky and cold. I wouldn´t go there again, cause there are so many other breakfast places in Boston having friendly staff and great value for food.

I have heard and red that the hotel has also quite a great roof top pool, but unfortunately it was closed during my stay cause it was raining all the time.

I really liked the hotel and I would definitely recommend Colonnade to everybody!

Room Tip: Top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,997
    800
    230
    82
    57
See reviews for
783
898
146
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel has a great location for shopping, dining and siteseeing. The room was very comfortable and the bed and linens are great.
Bummer that parking is so pricey and that the staff is NOT so friendly.
The Concierge needs a attitude adjustment, he clearly isn't happy at his job.
As for the restaurant Brasserie Jo, my girlfriends and I walked in around 11pm and went straight
to the bar. There were only 2 others sitting and probably around 10 others at the tables behind us. Anyways, we sat at the bar for about 10 minutes and didn't even get a glance from the bartender. 2 others walked in and stood behind us and the bartender turned around and asked them what they wanted to drink. In my eyes, this is poor service and just for that reason, I would never go back there again.
Roof top pool is pretty cool but smaller than the picture appears. We checked in at noon on saturday and around 1ish made our way to the pool. Dissapointed that there were no chairs to sit, so we went shopping instead.
All in all, the experience wasn't so great and I probably would not stay again.

Room Tip: make sure to read trip advisor before booking, I failed to do so on this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franci329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Our room was clean and spacious, the staff at the front desk and concierge desk were really friendly and very helpful. And the hotel is in a great location. We appreciated the floor to ceiling windows in our room and had a nice view of the Prudential Center. We only had one issue. We asked the same front desk attendant two times if he could arrange for turn down service and for some reason he couldn't get it done. However, all of the other staff were terrific. Great service and restaurant recommendations from the concierge. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ldubdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Our first trip to Boston for a little family getaway & the location is excellent for getting around. Hotel was nice, the public areas wide open & uncrowded, a consideration when that was the only area to get free wifi. Room we were in had 2 queen beds, bathroom was large with marble counter & full wall mirror. Showerhead was "lowish": for me at 5'10, I think if I was 6'4 or something it would be a pain, but no biggy for us. The doors to the bathroom were double french doors with the knobs not meant to be turned, you just pull to get in our push to get out & that explains why one of them was loose & fell off during our stay but when we told the front desk they had it repaired while we were out for the day, again, no biggy. All the staff were friendly, helpful, & very professional. The main reason we had booked this hotel was because of the rooftop pool, which we were looking forward to with the temperatures hittting 100F a couple of the days we were there, but the Friday night when i went up to check it out, it was packed, not with families but with what appeared to be young professionals, so I didn't bother, but our 17 year old son liked the scenery :) & swam a couple of nights.Onsite parking was very convenient, the halls on our floor have a smell I couldn't put my finger on, it wasn't overpowering, but it was noticeable when walking down the hallway. The Prudential across the street was very handy, as were all the shops on Newbry 2 blocks away, & the T subay right there too. Rooms were very quiet, they were doing some road work at the intersection right below our room & we could not hear the jackhammers while in our room our in the hotel which was quite impressive. We had a great experience, will defintely be coming back, but next time, may check out the Sheraton, as it's in the same area, & was almost half the price & from the outside looks to be newer. Would definitley not hesitiate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBHabsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Pleasant staff, good location, comfortable rooms, only issue was that at this price and
grade of hotel one had to pay for interent access in room.
Free access in Foyer/lobby.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterADH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I spend a lot of time at this hotel- this year it will be close to 40 nights. I am finishing a 3 week stretch at the hotel. I have had a lot of time to learn about the place...

First the strengths: 1) The rooms are uniformly excellent. The furniture, style and comfort are super. The bathrooms are modern, bright and clean. The linens and room maintenance are excellent. Rooms are bright, windows fill one entire floor to ceiling wall. There is a big TV, and nice Keurig coffee machine. 2) The gym is smallish, but well equipped. 3) The Brasserie on the first floor is fantastic. Truly super French food, in a beautiful art deco style. The service is super, the waiters and bartenders top-notch. The food is heavy, the wine French: many a nice night spent here. 3) Location is great. You are directly next to the Green Line E Train, and easy connections to the city. Lots of nearby shopping.

Now, the room for improvement: While it aspires to be a luxury option, service is what prevents it from approaching the true luxury leagues. The major barrier is a lack of attention to detail.

For a small independent hotel, customer relationships are sub-optimal. Despite spending 40 nights a year here, no staff member has ever addressed me by name, or even appeared to recognize me. Along this vein, CRM is not optimized at all. If I spent 40 nights at the Sheraton across the street, I would be recognized with a preferred status, or an upgrade, etc. In a small hotel, it might be a note from the manager, or a fruit plate. Here- in the middle ground, it's awfully anonymous.

Next, service can be very spotty. The staff are very pleasant when you approach them with an issue (in my case a broken toilet). But followthrough is generally poor: days to get a repair with no updates, little attention to the problem, etc. A call for housekeeping supplies was forgotten. Followthrough is the problem time and time again. This seems to hold for room service who can deliver on time, but who seem to pick up plates from the hall once a day. There seem to always be dishes in the corridors (and a perpetual food odor in the halls).

At any rate, will I continue to stay here? Probably (although the Copley Square is another nearly, recently renovated, fine choice). The rate/reward ratio is good, assuming you get a good rate. I like the room and the location. For most guests, the Colonnade is an fine choice for a short stay.

But is the Colonnade what it could be? Not quite. I'm not sure what the obstacle is: disempowered staff ...absent management? One way or the other, the guest experience is as anonymous as that offered by a large conference center Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gate95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The service was outstanding from check-in to check-out. The room service was outstanding, along with the guys up front, class act. The location is so nice and very easy to move around the City. So many great places to eat around the hotel. Nice size gym on the 5th floor with several carido machines. The Colonnade made my first stay in Boston a unique one and i will be back with my family. I felt very safe at all times and i felt like i was in the center of all activity with that location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,710 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
2,154 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing