We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We were booked at the Sheraton for 3 nights over Easter weekend but they gave away our rooms and sent us on to the Colonnade. Their loss was our gain as we had a wonderful experience in a hotel we have obviously overlooked during the many times we have visited Boston. Now we know exactly where to book in the future!

We arrived quite late on Friday evening, We had the extreme pleasure of being checked in by the lovely Nuala Creedon. Her professionalism showed while she dealt with fairly disgruntled clients. Yes, us!! Nothing flustered her as she found us 2 rooms on the 11th floor - until we mentioned that one room was to be for three people. They had no doubles left (something the Sheraton KNEW when they sent us there) but Nuala promised to have housekeeping bring us everything they had to make our son comfortable...albeit on the floor. She also offered to have us moved to a double room the next morning and made notes so the morning staff would be prepared.

Housekeeping brought up extra blankets, duvets, sheets and pillows - not to mention extra bath robes and our son did sleep on the floor that night but may not have suffered too much.

After settling in we went down to the restaurant, Brasserie Jo, for a bite to eat and a night cap. They had a small late night menu and while I really wanted clam chowder it was not on the menu. I merely asked and yes, it was available. It may have been the best CHOWDAH I've ever had! It was served with a delicious loaf of warm French bread. (See separate review of restaurant.)

The next morning we were able to secure a double room and how lovely it was. Also larger than our previous King room. The bathroom was also much bigger. The room was very modern and comfortable with lovely bedding. I will also mention that I loved the Colonnade for the fact the windows open! We are fresh air freaks and while the outside temp wasn't very warm it made the room comfortable for sleeping.

Loved the Keurig in the room and the hotel offered a nice selection of coffee.

The room was immaculate and included a good sized safe in the closet. We consider that a must when traveling.

The staff was very warm and accommodating and always friendly to chat with. We really felt they could not have done more to make our stay so pleasant.

A special shout out to Norman at the door - he called and arranged for a van cab for 5 of us (and all our luggage!) to get to South Station for our train home. He was very warm and personable.

So, the Sheraton's loss was definitely our gain! The people who work there could not have been nicer and we totally look forward to visiting them again in the future.



T

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter but we love the city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,977
    791
    228
    81
    57
See reviews for
776
888
145
814
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new haven, connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

When my friend and i arrived at the colonnade we were informed that the electricity would be turned off between the hours of 1:00 AM to 6:00 AM. We were given flashlights and felt a bit concerned about the lack of electricity. The whole area had been without electricity for 24 hours 5 days prior to our arrival. The main generator had been out. Brian and Shep couldn't have been more reassuring and kinder to us. We felt like they would be looking out for us and were willing to help us find rooms in another hotel near by but they had all been recovering from a lack of electricity. Since the Colonnade is only 300 rooms they seemed to be in good shape and all was well. We were treated very well and decided to stay since they were so reassuring...they even gave us a bunch of light sticks to keep on hand. We loved the location and will definitely go back as we were treated so well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Jordan, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Colonnade Hotel was the best hotel I have stayed in Ever! I was traveling for business with 3 colleagues during the Boston Marathon and the hotel was very busy but the staff always made time to answer our questions and help us with whatever we needed. The rooms were large and spacious and very clean. The hospitality service was excellent and the staff was exceptional! The Asst Mgr Nuala Creedon was awesome and also all the Concierge staff members especially Sheb and Daniel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The concierge helped us with sightseeing, dinner reservations and getting taxi's. We were really impressed with their service and hope our company puts us up there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Colonnade Hotel for 4 nights. The doormen were so welcoming and friendly, (especially Ben). His quick wit and helpfulness made us feel so at home. We were just steps from the Pru Center, where there are shops, restaurants, (dunkin donuts) and an array of things to do and see. We went to Salem by train, and the train was right in front of the hotel. The trolley for historic Boston stops right in front too! Thanks to Jerry Good, our concierge, who was so helping at giving us tips for touring around, we really appreciated it!! Thanks, Jerry!!. This is the place to stay when seeing one of the best cities around.

Room Tip: our room was overlooking the street. we could see the pru center and we loved it. but if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Always a wonderful stay! The warm welcome from all the wonderful doormen to front desk is always a nice feeling after a long travel day!! If you need anything it's rapidly brought to your room with a follow up call to see if you are satisfied.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same. Although back side is probably quieter I have never had a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 4 nights at the Colonnade Hotel. The rooms are a bit small but they are clean and well-maintained. There is no free Wi-Fi in the rooms unfortunately. This location is perfect for access to mass transit as well as for being centrally located within walking distance to great shops and restaurants. The Concierge we worked with, Sheb Shumar, was exceedingly helpful and went above and beyond the call of duty by helping us with logistics for our day trips to different colleges as well printing out our boarding passes. THANKS SHEB! The other staff we encountered was quite helpful and pleasant. It was a bonus to have Brasserie Jo in the hotel for convenience. Overall it was a pleasant stay and we would go back there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Aside from the awkward, lock-less bathroom doors and slightly noisy hallways, the Colonnade is the best hotel deal in the city. Walking distance from the Pru and all the food and entertainment you can imagine.

Room Tip: Bathrooms in the Quad rooms do not have locks. Be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing