We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at It's Best”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hospitality at It's Best”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Staff of The Colonnade Hotel is very well trained in providing customer satisfaction with a smile. You will feel like you are an extended Family Member of every member of this team. Fantastic Service is provided by each staff member. Enjoy your stay, we definitely did and will return many more times.

Room Tip: All The Rooms are Equal from the 8th Floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emerybarbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear emerybarbj,

It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for the compliments of our staff, our team makes every effort to go above and beyond in any way possible. I hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Boston!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,036
    810
    234
    83
    58
See reviews for
805
907
149
833
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
funky town
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We only stayed two nights but loved Boston and this hotel. Clean and comfortable. JO brasserire excellent as was the good old Cheesecake factory opposite. We arrived by chance to be in town the day the Red Socks clinched the World Series and boy did you know it! Next day the winners T shirts were everywhere. You couldnt escape the frenzy. Good for them.
This hotel is in a great location for Fenway Park, we walked there to soak up the atmosphere. You can also walk to Back Bay station which is where we arrived from. The Tour starts outside too. All good! Try Thorntons along the road. Big breakfast at good prices. Two great shopping malls ( one verey upmarket) 2 mins walk. The Pru tower and Mary Baker church well worth vist and yes they are both literally across the road. Great hotel! BOSTON STRONG!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondgeeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear diamondgeeezer,

Boston Strong indeed! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I’m delighted you were with us during such a historic and exciting time! Thank you for visiting our beautiful city and staying with us at the Colonnade Hotel! Go Sox!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The Colonnade is smack in the centre if Boston, very easily accessible from the T. My room was extremely comfortable, quiet and sparklingly clean. The gym is well equipped. The bar and restaurant are very good indeed. I was extremely pleased to have chosen this hotel. I highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DarleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear DarleyTraveller,

Thank you for your review! I'm delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found our location to be perfect. Please come back and see us again!

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hotel room was too hot, almost 90 degress with heat off and gad to keep windows open on the tenth floor during the night just to sleep.
Shower water control fell off onto foot in shower.
"Do Not Disturb" button was not functional.
Mattress was too soft.
Handprints on ceiling above bed. Could only imagine how they got there.
Book lights on headboard did not work.

Room Tip: Check your room before staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anyharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear anyharbor,

Thank you for providing us with feedback. We strive to provide a flawless stay for all of our guests. I am deeply sorry that we were not able to accomplish this for your recent stay. Please contact me at your earliest convenience as I would like to discuss your experiences further. I look forward to hearing from you.

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our trip tow New England and again at the end of the trip. We chose this hotel as it looked appealing in the travel brochure. When we arrived at the hotel we were shown to a large, comfortable room on the 6th floor. Things were starting off well. We did notice, however, there was a connecting door but we hoped this would not be a problem. Unfortunately it was. On each of the three nights of our stay we were awoken by noise from the adjoining room. We did notify the hotel about the problem and I see other Tripadvisor reviewers have also mentioned lack of soundproofing between rooms. This rather somewhat spoiled our first stay. We did request a room with no connecting door for our end of trip stay and the hotel made sure this was supplied and although the room was smaller than the first room it was comfortable and there was no noise from other rooms. One other point I would make is that it was the only hotel of the seven we stayed in during our trip which did not supply free wi-fi in the guest rooms.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Elizabeth C,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m happy to read your positive comments about the hotel however I am very sorry that the first evening of your stay did not allow for a good night's sleep. We do recognize how important this is when staying in a hotel. I’m happy to know our staff was able to correct the opportunity for your second night and you were able to peacefully enjoy our property. If I may be of any assistance upon a future visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo,Japan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at Colonnade hotel gor 4 nights. The reason we chose this hotel is its great location. The hotel locates in front of the Prudential center. The shopping malls and good restaurants are within a walking distance. The staffs were friendly and efficient. The doormen were very kind. As the room was occupied by 2 double beds with so many cushions (too many cushion) , a large table with 2 chairs, the room seemed smaller than I expected. Although the room had the floor to ceiling window, the room was not bright enough because our room faced to the court yard. Colonnade hotel has the plus side of the small hotel. The lobby area has tranquil atmosphere. We will stay here again when we have the chance to visit Boston again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear cheriko

Thank you for your Review! I’m happy our staff made a lasting impression on you. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can note your reservation for your future stay.

Best Regards,

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Colonnade for 5 nights in early October. Having stayed at several Boston hotels in the same category, some of which were rather stuffy for our taste, we were drawn by the sleek, modern design of their redecorated rooms. Good news first: on that count, the Colonnade delivers. Its website images capture the look well, everything feels though through and substantial.
Why then the 2 point review (we toyed with giving 3, but the review is based on our actual stay, not what could have been)? One problem we had: the Colonnade doesn't know what it wants to be. It fancies itself as a fancy modern boutique hotel and then goes on to charge $13.95/day for WiFi (and some ludicrous sum for water).
But the main problem we had is that this hotel fails on some very basic premises. On our late arrival in our Luxe King room (more about which later) we discovered: a huge wet (not damp, but truly soaking wet) patch on the carpet, a TV that wasn't working plus several unplugged lamps. The origin of the wet patch remained a mystery, neither the fridge nor the AC seemed faulty. In any case, too tired that night we placed some calls and had an engineer over for the TV but otherwise didn't strike a fuss. But I'm still amazed that the patch hadn't been reported the next day, and were "discovered" by housekeeping.
Next, I'm not one to get out the magnifying glass and white gloves to inspect the rooms we stay at; so I was all the more surprised to find some easily accessible corners of the bathroom to be quite dusty. And the metal rim around the tabletop in the bedroom area was, I'm sorry to say, outright filthy. Just details, the overall impression wasn't of grubbiness, but in this price range they matter.
The Premier Luxe King room was otherwise nicely appointed, but the "beautiful and unobstructed view of Boston's Skyline" is a fantasy - and must be given the height and location of the hotel. Also, the windows do indeed open, but they opened (in our case) onto Huntington Ave. Think twice, this is a busy road, even at night. And mind you, despite its grand name and not being the cheapest category of rooms, the Premier Luxe King doesn't offer turndown service (maybe it simply went AWOL in our case).
Summing it up: this is not a terrible hotel, but management has a big task ahead of them to get the basics right. It should still be doable, and then the Colonnade would have a lot going for it. But given all the competition in this category, not least in the Back Bay area, we will opt for the alternatives.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the South End (away from Huntington) should offer a quieter experience at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steinbeck1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Steinbeck1805,

Your comments are very helpful and I want to thank you for sharing them. We truly appreciate your business and I would like to speak with you further about your most recent stay. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Best Regards,

Brian Comeau
Director of Front Office Operations
bcomeau@colonnadehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,308 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,248 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing