We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Boston”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Boston”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in center Boston, room was really nice and clean, the bed was awesome and the staff is great, special thanks to Brittney Deschenes the concierge for all her help and patience!!!
We really enjoy our time at Colonnade!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank su a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,969
    789
    225
    81
    57
See reviews for
775
885
145
806
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fabulous, friendly, professional staff. The restaurant, the rooftop pool, the room, the beds, pillows, front desk, the concierge, doorman, everyone and everything was top of the line. The staff was just a perfect mix of genuiness and professionalism. Hard to find these days. The location was perfect. Could walk to fenway, to shops, restaurants, and did :-). I will definitely return, and thank everyone for their kindness, and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackielacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is really cool.
It has a rooftop pool (thats why we chose it) I think the only hotel in Boston which does ?
We stayed on 6th Floor and the room was lovely, although it would be so nice to have two seperate beds for the kids as everywhere in the states we only ever get one room with two large beds, otherwise for two rooms the trips would cost way too much !

Anyway, staff all very friendly, especially Norman, one of the Concierge who always went out of his way to help us and give us information .... I think he truly loves Boston and his country :-)
When it was raining, he provided us with umbrellas, and when we left, he even provided us and the kids each with a small bottle of water ... unheard of, but such wonderful service.

The pool was very cold though and had a strange chloring smell just above the surface of the water which made it hard to do any proper swimming. I did mention this to the pool attendant who said he would look into it.

There are loads of pool staff on hand, loads of towels and a bar too.
Chilling in the evening by the pool was fab, with music playing too.

Location was perfect, with a subway right outside.
Also perfect location for the Duck Tours.
Cheesecake factory directly opposite, although we never managed to go there :-(
A great shopping mall close by too.

Food was excellent, and as usual with American portions ! so go easy on the ordering and share stuff :-) Ultra yummy though !

Would certainly stay here again if we come back for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidharveyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is a winner. The location is the best and the roof top pool is amazing-this is a guarantee. What is not always guaranteed is the staff at any hotel.. They are amazing from the minute you pull up to the front dest to the staff on the floors and on the roof deck.
This is my first trip advisor review-had to complement when it is due

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoeDee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcell, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great staff, perfect location, fantastic rooftop pool and bar. Close to shopping and sight seeing spots. Within walking distance to Fenway and all kinds of restaurants and pubs. Huge mall across the street f or anything you left at home

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purcell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Part of my job is to coach to The Customer Experience. I can truly say that I HAD that sought after "WOW" Experience at the Colonnade. Yes, my room was lovely and beautifully appointed (# 1169), but from the very first phone encounter to reserve my room, to the very last goodbye, I received nothing short of excellent, professional, friendly and humorous service. And it was SINCERE. You can train to some of that, and you can only hope for the rest. Because of the service I received, and because I was at home from the moment I reserved my room, I would never think of staying anywhere but the Colonnade when I go to Boston again.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in one so far. Mine was high and overlooking the Prudential Center. very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel in Boston... We have an annual girls night away every summer and stay here. Always clean rooms... friendly staff and top notch service... but the best part of this hotel is the rooftop pool!!! Great way to relax and have fun with friends on a hot summer day in Boston. Cold drinks, decent apps... fun.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank molson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing