We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My thanks to the staffs of The Colonnade & Delta Airlines”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My thanks to the staffs of The Colonnade & Delta Airlines”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The people of Delta Airlines and The Colonnade Hotel in Boston have thanks from deep within my heart after I aggravated a leg injury flying to Boston Saturday for the Dress for Success Worldwide Annual Conference. I spent the next four days in intense pain, using a cane. The world's best concierge, Brittney D., at The Colonnade provided all sorts of help and transportation to a walk-in clinic which immediately sent me to the emergency room at Tufts. (The care and attention there were wonderful, too.) The Colonnade staff went above and beyond from a housekeeping staffer who saw me limping toward the ice cooler and took care of that for me - and refused a tip - to the front desk, banquet service staff, restaurant servers and bellmen. Delta staff made sure I was safely on board, provided wheel chairs (which saved me from missing a flight) and checked to make sure I could exit in an emergency. I have extensive experience as a corporate communications VP whose team included conference planning. The Colonnade staff surpassed any hotel I've ever visited with their kindnesses to me amid a beautiful facility. And I greatly enjoyed my dream dinner: grilled swordfish on the patio of the Brasserie. Having swordfish was a goal for this trip and it was perfect.

Room Tip: The king size room was ample in space; the view from the 7th floor was spectacular.
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciated the "green" approach to towels and bedding. A recycling wastebasket would be a nice addition.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFC1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,999
    802
    231
    82
    57
See reviews for
785
899
146
823
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

best place to stay in downtown boston. great service near the best shopping. Friendly staff attended to every need. beautiful view from the room. very comfortable beds. the boston trollies stop right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BahrainResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Based on Trip Advisor reviews I decided this was the hotel for me for my upcoming visit.

But before I made a reservation, I wanted to ask a few quick questions re: room sizes/rates/wifi/parking etc, so I emailed the hotel.

I received a response from Gilda very quickly and she answered every single one of my queries and was very, very helpful and said not to hesitate to contact her if I required anything else. I then replied and made the booking with her.

I must say from a customer service point of view, I was very impressed and I haven't even visited the hotel yet. If the hotel and rest of the staff are as wonderful as Gilda, I am in for a treat. Many of the other hotels for example that I have booked for my trip, if I have emailed them I have received a reply from "front desk"! Gilda signing off her name made it much more personal.

Really looking forward to my visit now.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spentafortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appalachia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My friend and I spent one night in Boston (which is not nearly enough), so we weren't in the room much. But it was so clean, so comfortable, plenty of towels and amenities. The staff, from the valet to the bell hop to the front desk clerks and Danny the concierge were all very nice and helpful. The subway stop is on the same block, you don't even have to cross the street. And be sure to eat at Thornton's Diner up the street for breakfast. It was the first trip to Boston for both of us, but we definitely plan to go again and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We arrived to a very warm welcome from the doormen and the front desk staff . With our map and the hotel's recommendations of where to eat in and around Boston we were smiling as we entered our double double bed room . Everything you would want was there , including proper wine glasses and a great ice bucket . The bathroom was not the largest but very functional , great powerful shower, plenty of towels , toiletries and bathrobes . The air con great . The beds very comfortable . Turndown service available .
Where the Colonnade stood out for us was the location - right by prudential subway station , by the prudential shopping centre and Copley square , the boston library , the staff - Nuala Creedon , rooms manager and Danny Vargas , concierge couldn't have been more helpful with booking , assisting with days out and internet access . Made such a difference having their advice and knowledge to hand . And of course the pool ! The roof top pool , a great way to relax after a day enjoying the many sights of Boston . Not that large but perfectly formed - proper views over Back bay and South End .
Would stay here next time in Boston !
One small beware - mind your ankles on the bed bases !

Room Tip: 1028 was good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crosnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went on a family trip to Boston and had a fantastic trip. The Colonnade staff is extra special. Ryan, Keith. Norman and Richard are super. Housekeeping was the best we've had in a very long time. Ryan made us feel like a guest in his own home, Keith found us a fantastic city guide , Norman made us feel like we owned the hotel with his respect and Richard put a smile on our boys faces every morning at breakfast.

Room Tip: Speak to front desk and bellman for good view. The hotel staff is outstanding. Ryan ant the front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Colonnade for one night in May. Location-wise it can't be beat -- right across the street from the Pru/Copley Place mall, a minute to the T stop, 3 minutes to Saks and Shaws and 5 minutes to Newbury Street!

We checked in at around 6pm, so I assume they had given away all the "good" rooms by that point. Our room was adequate, but our bathroom was literally a closet -- my boyfriend and I could not stand in it at the same time! I remember visiting this hotel as a teenager with my family and having a beautiful room with floor to ceiling windows and a view of Huntington Ave.

Everyone was very nice, especially the woman at the front desk who checked us in! Overall, it was a short and sweet stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HP02215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
2,172 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing