We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Nice place, friendly staff, large and clean rooms. The hotel has a good location, close to Newbury street with its nice shops and restaurants. Also a supermarket is close by. Its USP is the pool on the roof but we found it too crowded and noisy. The hotel has a nice gym. Please make sure if the wifi is included in the rate or not.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NLcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,525 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is an older hotel which has been upgraded and updated - rooms were quiet and well-appointed; housekeeping staff were lovely, as were all service staff - totally impressive level of service. And the food was great too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nzauregionaldirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall, my husband and I had a great experience at the Colonnade. It's a "boutique hotel," with exceptional service and the added bonus of a rooftop pool. However, the rain literally rained on our parade of wanting to use the pool, which was the main reason for choosing the hotel. Considering we didn't utilize the pool we were left wishing for more amenities, which we expected for the cost of our stay (we have stayed at equally nice or even nicer hotels in Boston for a lower cost).

Room Tip: If you can, stay on the 11th floor. Amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fab hotel, spotlessly clean, friendly & helpful staff. Excellent roof top pool and lovely added touches of balloons & birthday cake waiting in our room upon arrival for my sons & my birthdays. Large enough room for family of 4. Close to great shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on top floor which gave great views over boston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manda110874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Colonnnade Hotel is a beautifully appointed modern hotel right in the heart of Boston's Copley Square/Back Bay area. The rooms are well maintained, and although the decor is modern, it's not that edgy, even your grand parents will enjoy it.

The location is near perfect, and you have a T station right outside the door, a 24/7 supermarket (now branded Star Market) 1 block away, and if the people that you are with want to shop, they have unlimited resources at their back and call, including the only full line Saks 5th Avenue location in all of New England*.

A rooftop pool is a great summertime amenity, but it is hyper popular, and fills up fast. The pool does stay open late most days, and it is best enjoyed either early in the day, or the evening, a schedule is posted at the front desk. A mini bar is stocked in your room, BUT as others have noted use the frig to store your own purchases, and leave the contents provided when you check out. The bedding and bath towels fit a hotel of this caliber.

One MAJOR gripe, STOP CHARGING FOR INTERNET, in this day and age that is so 2010 !

Ken

* Before I get questioned on this, Saks closed it's only other full line New England store in Stanford CT, and as of this writing the only other Saks 5th Avenue location is a limited selection store in Greenwich (not to mention their outlet brand, Off 5th).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank krapug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Colonnade for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Everything was wonderful, our room, the restaurant, the rooftop pool and bar. I had contacted the hotel prier to our trip and they were so helpful answering all my questions and concerns, and even sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room. There are great restaurants and shopping near by and the T right out front of the hotel. So easy to get around without spending a fortune in taxi rides. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Francine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is a fraud - a bunch of scam artists - they bait and switch - they say breakfast in included - but they charge you and say they will adjust the bill on your check out- they don't - they say internet is included and give you the same lame excuse - they don't take it off your bill - you call them to make a reservation and they offer you double what is on the internet - if you try and change your reservation they try and add a surcharge - the service is horrible - the walls are paper thin - the only thing going is the roof top patio where they over charge you for small drinks and then the close it when they feel like it - says open to 11 pm but closes at 8 .....I would look around - there must be better in this city - dont settle for this dump......

Room Tip: Don't book here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,541 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £111 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing