We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh... Some positives, some negatives”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Eh... Some positives, some negatives”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights. There were definitely some positives, but also some negatives that a traveler with kids should consider.
The positives:
- clean room, nice housekeeping staff
- great restaurant, fab breakfasts, hospitable waitstaff
- knowledgeable concierge
- rooftop pool
- close to subway
Negatives:
- no sundries shop for snacks, etc.
- Internet for a fee.
- rooftop pool closed 2 of 4 nights-hotel rents it out for private events. One of those 2 nights, we had NO WARNING. A sign was posted the SAME DAY it was scheduled to be closed. The hotels solution-- to send guests to another hotel a few blocks away to use their pool. A little bird informed of the reason for this last minute closure of the pool -- a photo shoot for the hotel. Really? Couldn't they have gone up to do their shoot at 6 am rather than close it at 4 pm for the whole night!!
-rooftop pool available to non-guests during the day for a $30 fee... Meaning that during the day the pool did get crowded. Since the hotel was at 100% occupancy, I don't feel letting non-guests use the pool.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,013
    808
    232
    83
    58
See reviews for
794
905
147
829
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We picked this hotel based primarily on the pool. We have two kids and we wanted to swim at the end of the day. Unfortunately 2 of the 3 days when we wanted to use the pool at the end of the day to swim and eat the pool was "closed " from 3:30 on due to a private party. After further questioning of the staff- apparently this is a frequent occurrence which upsets guests. Clearly we are not the only ones who picked this hotel based on the pool which was off limits. We spent nearly $700 a night for adjoining rooms and we would have been better off within $40 staying at a suite in a 5 star hotel. Also cleanliness was a concern. On arrival our duvet cover had food over a 8 inch area on the underside. Management never contacted us about the dirty duvet. So clearly linens were not changed between guests. $700 a night and not even a water bottle in the room. We feel completely taken advantaged of... Duped.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this hotel on Hotwire, and given the price that we paid we were very happy with the hotel and its amenities. We were particularly enamoured with the location, from which we walked or took the "T" everywhere. It is very central and convenient. The rooms themselves could use some updating, as could the carpeting in the hallways. This is a perfectly acceptable 4 star hotel in a great location, but don't expect to be wowed. The attached restaurant did not seem particularly popular and was quire pricey.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My daughter and I had a fabulous stay at Colonnade. The staff was great - friendly and accommodating. Services such as Housekeeping and Room Service were on task and responded quickly. The room was spotless clean and quiet. The parking too was very easy. I love the location and will definitely stay there again when I'm in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here for one night at the end of our Maine vacation. Hotel was well maintained and very clean. We arrived at 8:30pm and had to wait 15 minutes to get our room - it wasn't ready. The hotel is in a great location in Boston. One disappointment: my kids were looking forward to swimming in the rooftop pool but we couldn't stay long due to the number of people using foul language. The pool water was also quite chilly.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deomsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Nice place, friendly staff, large and clean rooms. The hotel has a good location, close to Newbury street with its nice shops and restaurants. Also a supermarket is close by. Its USP is the pool on the roof but we found it too crowded and noisy. The hotel has a nice gym. Please make sure if the wifi is included in the rate or not.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NLcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is an older hotel which has been upgraded and updated - rooms were quiet and well-appointed; housekeeping staff were lovely, as were all service staff - totally impressive level of service. And the food was great too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzauregionaldirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,226 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,756 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Preferred Hotels, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing