We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Spent 3 nights here in late July with wife and 2 teenage daughters. VERY comfortable rooms (adjoining which none of the other hotels we stayed in the US managed to arrange despite booking months in advance). The ladies loved the rooftop pool though it was closed for a private party one night we were there. Excellent service.

The only minor complaint was that the free wi-fi was a bit patchy in our rooms (eg the lift lobby gave better reception)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,306)
There are newer reviews for Colonnade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 3,306 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for the first three nights of our New England tour. Very lovely staff who upgraded our room with a smile! T stop right on the door step, an excellent supermarket over the road and the amazing Prudential Centre almost opposite. Everywhere is within easy reach of a T stop.
Our king room was on 6th floor facing Huntington Avenue. We had no issues at all - we loved Boston and the Colonnade. We hope to be back one day!
Join 'I Prefer' for free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for whatever you want. I emailed a few days before arriving.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nasdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is at a great location, right next to the Prudential station metro station. Copley Square is few mins walk from here. The service is great, rooms are clean and tidy. But with two big beds the space is a bit cramped. Lighting can be better in the room, with big windows (window walls should i say) this is not an issue.
Food is expensive and there are lot of events/parties happen here which makes it difficult to use the elevator at times. I was lucky that one of the staff reserved an elevator for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpradyumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable! The concierge was very helpful with questions and suggestions of what to do/see in Boston in the short time we had. It was dog friendly which is a huge plus! All the front desk loved my pup :) The good: bed, size of room, the subway stop out the front door, amenities such as gym. The bad: The AC would shut off sometime in the night and struggled to stay cold, which was odd. Crazy drunk half naked guy pounding on the door at 1:30am, but the staff dealt with him rather quickly. It was just odd to see in a upper class hotel. No breakfast :( Despite lots of restaurants in the hotel. The pool wasn't open a lot due to "events" and when it was, wasn't exactly friendly...also, for the price, you'd think you'd get wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JapanKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights. There were definitely some positives, but also some negatives that a traveler with kids should consider.
The positives:
- clean room, nice housekeeping staff
- great restaurant, fab breakfasts, hospitable waitstaff
- knowledgeable concierge
- rooftop pool
- close to subway
Negatives:
- no sundries shop for snacks, etc.
- Internet for a fee.
- rooftop pool closed 2 of 4 nights-hotel rents it out for private events. One of those 2 nights, we had NO WARNING. A sign was posted the SAME DAY it was scheduled to be closed. The hotels solution-- to send guests to another hotel a few blocks away to use their pool. A little bird informed of the reason for this last minute closure of the pool -- a photo shoot for the hotel. Really? Couldn't they have gone up to do their shoot at 6 am rather than close it at 4 pm for the whole night!!
-rooftop pool available to non-guests during the day for a $30 fee... Meaning that during the day the pool did get crowded. Since the hotel was at 100% occupancy, I don't feel letting non-guests use the pool.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We picked this hotel based primarily on the pool. We have two kids and we wanted to swim at the end of the day. Unfortunately 2 of the 3 days when we wanted to use the pool at the end of the day to swim and eat the pool was "closed " from 3:30 on due to a private party. After further questioning of the staff- apparently this is a frequent occurrence which upsets guests. Clearly we are not the only ones who picked this hotel based on the pool which was off limits. We spent nearly $700 a night for adjoining rooms and we would have been better off within $40 staying at a suite in a 5 star hotel. Also cleanliness was a concern. On arrival our duvet cover had food over a 8 inch area on the underside. Management never contacted us about the dirty duvet. So clearly linens were not changed between guests. $700 a night and not even a water bottle in the room. We feel completely taken advantaged of... Duped.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10,217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this hotel on Hotwire, and given the price that we paid we were very happy with the hotel and its amenities. We were particularly enamoured with the location, from which we walked or took the "T" everywhere. It is very central and convenient. The rooms themselves could use some updating, as could the carpeting in the hallways. This is a perfectly acceptable 4 star hotel in a great location, but don't expect to be wowed. The attached restaurant did not seem particularly popular and was quire pricey.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,352 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,856 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,870 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#50 of 84 in Boston
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £139 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing