We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i had an awesome time!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
nh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i had an awesome time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

i had the best sleep that i have had in a long time, so comfortable and i loved being on the 11th floor so i had an awesome view.. thank you for everythng!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolaher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,921
    774
    223
    79
    56
See reviews for
754
876
141
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

I had a convention, and my husband decided to join me for a 3 night stay so we could do some fine dining while in Boston. What a lovely surprise the Colonnade turned out to be! The decor is understated, sort of mid century, but elegant. Spotlessly clean. The room was a little small, but very comfortable. The service was extraordinary. Everyone was so friendly and seemed genuienly interested in top notch customer service. We did not eat at the hotel's restaurant, but we did order room service for breakfast each day, and it was out of this world yummy (French omellette). The location is prime, close to everything, close to the T. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPBNewbury_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Two things ruined our stay at the Colonnade and made it dubious that we would return, even though we travel to Boston often.

First, the positive: Great location, beautifully designed hotel, rooms and bathrooms are beautiful, with very comfortable beds, great light and views, and nice amenities. The downstairs restaurant is not cheap but is excellent and lovely. the hotel staff is friendly and mostly extremely. My husband and I were traveling with our two teenagers.

The negatives might seem unimportant but it rankled us and tainted our experience:
One, we requested a non-smoking room. Unbeknownst to us, the 6th floor is the first non-smoking floor, so the smell of smoke wafted up to our floor. The hotel staff obviously sprayed the halls (and maybe rooms) regularly with air freshener, which is disgusting in itself and only makes things worse. Anyone who is healthy and doesn't want to smell smoke also would not want to breath chemical air freshener. It made me feel asthmatic, and I don't have asthma. I learned to cover my mouth and nose with my fleece while I walked in the hallways. Also, the in-room movie (and TV) selection was so poor and sub-standard that it ruined an enjoyable aspect of traveling with my family that we have enjoyed in ANY hotel we've stayed in, even in much cheaper hotels. We had only about 10 awful movies to choose from, none we'd want to watch (although the hotel made sure there was enough porno available!). At almost any other hotel, you get a far superior type of film rental service (it's usually the same service in all hotels), with tons of selections and variety. When I clicked on each movie category at the Colonnade, it came up with the same awful 10 movies. And, when I complained to the front desk, they told me, as did the TV technician, that there was something wrong with the TV in our room, that we should have a lot more movies listed, and that they would fix it. Then, the next night, the same movies appeared. When I complained again, they told me that those were all the hotel's service offered, there was nothing wrong with the TV. So, I was given misinformation the previous night. We were visiting colleges for my son in the pouring rain, and at the end of several very long days and evening activities, we looked forward to settling down and watching a movie, and because of the sub-standard system that the Colonnade has chosen, we couldn't. We spent way too much time trying to wade through the misinformation to try to solve this—all to no avail—and I resented the waste of my traveling time. I would have preferred a straight answer and less time spent on the issue. And, to top it off, the hotel made no effort to credit us with anything to make it up to us. I don't like to ask for credits, so I let it go, but the hotel staff was wrong—and foolish—not to try to make it up to us in some way with some kind of credit. The hotel is beautifully designed and comfortable, in a great neighborhood, and has a lot of great characteristics, but the smoke/gross air freshener and entertainment deficits really cheapen this hotel experience for the traveler. If not for these issues, we'd return to the Colonnade.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clyde1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Management at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you for your positive comments about the beautiful design of our hotel and guest rooms, our comfortable beds and views, our great location, and most importantly for your positive comments on how extremely friendly our staff is.

You mentioned that the 6th floor of the hotel is the first non-smoking floor. Please know that there are no guest rooms, floors or public areas in the entire hotel where smoking is permitted, according to Boston City ordinances. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel as is every hotel in Boston, MA. We do our best to enforce this ordinance, including the application of a substantial cleaning fee that also acts as a deterrent. Despite this, there are rare occasions when guests ignore the posted no smoking rules. When this occurs, we contract with a professional cleaning company to permanently rid the room and area of smoke in an ecological way. Our hotel does not have nor use air fresheners. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you.

We are disappointed that you were not happy with our TV entertainment selection. Last year, the hotel completed a major in-room entertainment upgrade that included 37” High Definition televisions along with keyboard web access and a 100% HD movie offering. Additionally, we offer 60 (free to guest) television channels including but not limited to: 6 Starz channels, 5 Encore channels, Universal, Turner, Lifetime, American Movie Classics and other movie channels. During your recent stay, our movie lineup included a good number of pre-DVD releases. However, we are sorry you were dissatisfied and would be happy to credit you for any selection that you did make.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

We only spent one night, but it was delightful. Our king size bedded room on the top floor overlooking the south end of Boston seemed very newly decorated. Everything about it was comfortable and clean. The service that we had was friendly and nice. We took advantage of a spring special so it wasn't even expensive compared to nearly hotels. The Colonnade is in a great location in the Back Bay with easy access to shops and restaurants and the subway to all other parts of the city is right out the front door.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeak65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieandBert1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

I was impressed with the service. My son had an audition at New England Conservatory. It was our first time in Boston.We felt so welcome when Norman opened the door of the taxi and greeted us. He knew our names and that we were traveling from Pittsburgh.Albert helped us with our luggage and was very friendly . He showed us the amenities and gave me a rubber duckiie and then made sure my son got one later. Norman and Albert showed interest in my son's audition and also gave him some encouraging words. If my son goes to school in Boston, I will definitely stay at the Colonnade again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieandBert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

My wife and I like 4-star hotels and the Colonnade fits us in every way. We like to come into the City some weekends to escape our normal life. On this trip we did have a temporary inconvenience when my wife noticed that the rug was not spotless but we have never been moved to a second room so fast in our lives and #2 was indeed spotless. The view ! top floor with wall to wall glass looking straight down a busy street. The bed! so many pillows draw you in, then you find out that it is as comfortable as it looks. The thoughtfulness! Someone quietly slipped a note under our door with extras like free breakfast. The staff! Friendly but not fawning, attentive but not in your face. I can only imagine the full experience in late Spring when the rooftop pool opens. We want to return then to once again restore our souls in this urban oasis.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4-star-traveler1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

A warm and welcoming stay in the heart of this electric and breathtaking city! Recently renovated, the Colonnade offers guests beautifully appointed and comfortable rooms. The contemporary furnishings are chic and funky; the building's makeover, sleek and edgy. It's a perfect fit in the bustling Back Bay/Copely Square neighborhood where restaurants and shopping abound. Perhaps even more impressive than the design, is the hospitality provided by those who work there. Staff are friendly, kind and courteous, always willing to go that extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable. Look up Jimmy--just inside the front door--a Colonnade "gem" and one of Boston's most colorful ambassadors!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javamanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing