We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & clean hotel”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The location is tops. You are right by the Prudential Center shops & the Back Bay. The T is right outside the door to get to other parts of town. Our room was just like the photo on the website. It was nice; the only thing missing was a refrigerator. The hotel was very quiet; we didn't hear any other guests in the halls or rooms adjacent. The roof top pool was a nice spot to sit & relax for a bit. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 83,702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

We're very grateful for your positive review and appreciate you mentioning our superior location and our new guest rooms. Thank you for acknowledging that our website photos are representative of the accommodations that you will experience. You mentioned that the only thing missing was a refrigerator. All of our guest rooms do have a mini-bar and we also have small refrigerators’ that may be requested at the time of check in and are subject to availability. We're glad that you enjoyed a quiet stay and experienced Boston's only Roof Top Pool. Thank you again for taking the time to post a positive review. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,854 - 2,860 of 3,397 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

The location is fabulous. T stop right out the door. Grocery store down the street for incidentals. Shopping and coffee across the street. We liked the bedding, the coffee maker, and the spaciousness of the bathroom. It would be nice if there was a table or counter for toiletries. The air conditioning worked very well. Our room was at the end of a hallway and very quiet. The view and the pool on the rooftop were very cool. I like staying in hotels that have under 250 rooms. This was the perfect size.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familygrl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My daughter and I went to Boston to visit BU & Northeastern. With the NEU rate it made this wonderful hotel much more affordable. The hotel is beautiful & the staff very pleasant. Our room was on the 9th floor (out of 11, the pool is on the roof and 1 flight of stairs up) Our view was over Huntington Ave and looked at the Prudential Center, which has restaurants and shoppes.
The location was great. the subway is right outside the front door. Even though there are plenty of places to eat right there, we took the subway (the charlie) and walked through Copley Square & Fanueil Hall area (for shopping & food).
The parking is a self park deck ($38/day), I prefer to park myself & not have to wait for my car. The deck is below the hotel, so it's just an elevator ride to the lobby or you rroom.
When leaving to visit BU & Northeastern the next day we were also very centrally located (If you are interested in attending a Red Sox game, it's also not that far away either.
The room is beautiful & well appointed. The beds are very comfortable and loaded with pillows!!
We loved our stay at the Colonnade. If our daughter goes to school in Boston, we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsPozzable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

It's becoming really difficult to find 4-star hotels in Boston under $250 per night. I was able to book this hotel directly on their web site for lower than it was posted on all of the major travel sites. Other than the cheesy music they play on their home page, it was a simple booking.

The rooms had been recently renovated, so they were well appointed with flat screen HD television, updated bathrooms, and lots of open space for working.

A lot of the travel sites hyped the "roof-top" pool. I was not impressed, as it was VERY small, and not very well maintained. There wasn't a sole up there, so it felt very desolate. I was expecting nightly parties or at the very least some sort of basic entertainment.

All-in-all, this was a great hotel in a super convenient location. Walking distance to most everything in downtown Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Colonnade Hotel. The place was affordable and the rooms were way above our expectations. Everything was perfect! On top of this, the place was affordable. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This hotel is great if you get a discounted room rate but would be a disappointment if you paid full price. Our room was large with a big television and a comfortable bed. Nice work area for the business traveler. The bathroom is rather small but two people were able to make it work. The gym was satisfactory but crowded and the pool provided a nice break from the chaos of the city. The hotel is in a great location being near tons of restaurants and shopping. The Colonnade is a 12 minute walk to Fenway and the green line has a stop right outside the front door. The problem with the hotel is the service. There is no service. The front desk clerk didn't talk to us except to ask for a credit card and provide the room number. The bellhop who stored our luggage upon arrival returned our luggage to us but never offered to bring it to our room. No one greeted us at the door. The concierge was seldom there to provide any assistance. There was no turn down service, no fresh towels in the evening. The gym was frequently out of towels as well. Bottom line - this is a really good hotel for the price we paid. It could be a great hotel but only if service improves dramatically.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlh02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago. It was a great experience. When we decided to revisit Boston I saw that the hotel had been renovated. We arrived at 2:45 checkin was at 3PM. The room was not ready until 4PM. They asked for our cell phone # yet never called us to say the room was ready. The front desk was rude. Upon entering the room it smelled like someone had just smoked marijana it was awful. The bed pillows had stains, the sheets had hair on them, the curtain on the window was torned and dirty, the shower curtain was stained, the toilet seat moved when you sat on it, there was no refrigerator in the room, no ice bucket for us to keep our water cold but yet there was an ice machine on the wall outside our room that guests used all night long noise was awful. The handles on the sink were falling off as was the mirror on the wall. I am not sure what they renovated but surely it was not the room we stayed in. The price was definitely not worth the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dissatisfied0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

We thoroughly investigated the claims in the review and spoke to numerous departments to try and corroborate the details mentioned above. There is no log of any of these issues. We were unable to substantiate any of the complaints. Not one. The only details that we were able to confirm are a reservation from CT along with a check-in time of 3:29 PM and a noise complaint from other guests about the occupants of this same room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,421 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#9 of 84 in Boston
4,534 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £111 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing