We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Great Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel - Great Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed at this Hotel for a conference across the street. Subway entrance right by hotel, worked great for rainy days, we could just walk through the tunnel below ground to conference center instead of in rain. Hotel was convienent, comfortable, clean, worth the price, and the perfect size (not to large). The concierge was incredibly helpful with our sightseeing questions and gave great local restaurant suggestions! Best Italian ever just two blocks or so behind the hotel!
Gave us free wifi when we signed up for hotel membership card.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2010
Thank you so much for your positive review. We appreciate the kind comments about our convenient location, clean and comfortable rooms and especially the positive praise for the superior service of our concierge. You astutely pointed out that the Prudential T (underground Train) stop outside our front door also connects guests to Boston's largest mall - Prudential Center & Copley Place malls. Thanks for mentioning and once again - Thank you for choosing to stay at The Colonnade Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,920
    772
    222
    79
    56
See reviews for
754
876
141
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

The Hotel was great the staff was helpful and friendly.. the rooms were quiet and the bed was to dies for.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsme710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2010
You are so kind to write a positive review. We appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for mentioning the superior comfort of our new pillow-top Luxe beds. This was a very important aspect of our reinvention and we're delighted that your experience was so positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Great hotel , easy to get to off the highway. We walked to Fenway Park for a game and the hotel provided easy to read walking directions on a pocket size card. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location , close to Prudential Center shopping.
Only negitves were shower knob would fall off when adjusted. Room keys were difficult to get to open room. Asked for Soy milk for breakfast for my coffee 3 or 4 times, several staff members told me it was on it's way. It never arrived.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We had a lovely 4 days (even though 2 of them involved non-stop drizzle) staying in this hotel. All aspects of the hotel were excellent with just the one exception; wi-fi was only free down in the lobby area, which just meant a little trip down the lift with the laptop. The room was quite large and certainly big enough for 2 adults. Everything was clean and tidy and we found the staff always pleasant and keen to answer any queeries.The hotel has an excellent French style restaurant which was well used by the locals as well as guests. At the time of writing prices were expensive compared to the UK but not too bad when you consider that you are in one of the USA's main cities. The roof top pool is small and busy but well managed.
One big piece of advice when visting Boston for the first time; Get the 4 day tour bus pass which has a hop-on, hop-off policy. It is an excellent way to get round the city and stops outside the hotel!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJtraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

I recently stayed at the Colonnade Hotel with my 2 children on a Saturday night for a quick weekend away from home. The service was exceptional, the room was very comfortable, the food in the restaurant was delicious, and the location is fantastic if you want to see the Back Bay sights. Our favorite part about the room was the comfortable beds and the awesome water pressure in the shower. The room was immaculate. I liked that fact that for breakfast, they offer reasonably priced menu items for children, and they made us something that wasn't on the menu. The front desk couldn't have been nicer when we checked in. I recommend this hotel to business travelers and people on leisure travel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelconsultant60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Whilst this hotel was perfectly functional it lacked any personal touch or atmosphere and was frequented by a large number of airline staff. We thought the receptionist was abrupt and unfriendly, but very businesslike and this was our view of this hotel overall. Having just spent a lovely few days at the fabulous Hotel Elysee we were very disappointed at the contrast at 2 equally star rated hotels. We had no need to tip the Concierge as they never offered to help us with anything!

We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant but we did use the rooftop pool one afternoon, on the other occasions we tried to use it, it was closed for private function. Drinks were pricy at $10 for an average Pina Colada.

As for Boston, we enjoyed the cycle tours but overall struggled to find much else that really kept us interested although there were some nice shops and the trip to Harvard was interesting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FOXYSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Thank you for your recent review and particularly for mentioning the functionality of the hotel and our guest rooms. In the design aspect of the $25M reinvention, we spent concentrated on the functionality of the rooms- from the dining work center to the dimmable lighting and technology in the room. We noted your comments about the abruptness of the receptionist and wish to apologize. Our front desk staff takes great pride in offering friendly, genuine and personalized customer service. Clearly, we did not perform up to expectations and we hope that you accept our apology. We believe that our ideal location, customer service and unique amenities like our Roof Top Pool are well suited for both business and leisure travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in September. The hotel was within walking distance of Fenway and Prudential Center was across the street. The rooms were very nice. Loved the rubber duck. We purchased a 2 day troley ticket to see the highlights of Boston. Had a great time in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancun1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing