We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff.. ALL Departments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The staff at this hotel is Outstanding in customer service and friendliness. The hotel itself is a very old property, with all the quaintness and charm of a historic building. The room was fairly basic, no frills, but good sized. Nice refrigerator and microwave for convenience, but no coffee maker. Only one electrical outlet besides one in the bathroom, so charging personal electronics was a challenge. The bed was super comfortable. This is a great location, just a few steps away from the Kenmore station, Boston University and Fenway Park. What the rooms lacked, the staff more than made up for. I can overlook a few minor items, as long as I'm treated well. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kaymarie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2011

Not a fancy or modern hotel. Perfect if you are catching a game or hitting a concert. Near great bars and restaurants. Price is great too. It's a little expensive to park in their lot.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubaDavePhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick R, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for completing the survey for us. We value your feedback and patronage. It is good to hear that you took advantage of our great location to experience all that Boston has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

hotel was pretty good for the outrageous prices they charge in Boston. Clean and cozy but a little small. Breakfast is your standard continental with coffee, juice, muffins and raisin bran, etc, no hot food except by microwave. My complaint was the internet. They advertise free internet but that is only for 90 minutes. Free should be free. They should say "90 minutes free internet"

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
Thank oysterman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Stayed two nights at the Hotel Buckminster to explore Boston and catch a concert at the House of Blues. Despite reading a few negative reviews about how old the building is, we found it to be perfect for our stay. The hotel is very old but you can tell they've remodeled from time to time and to me it has all the modern ammenities that I seek. Since it is built on a triangular intersection the hallways are almost like a maze with a few rooms tucked here and there into little nooks and crannies. We found this to a be a cool feature, unlike any hotel we've ever been a guest of. My girlfriend, myself, and another couple had a two bedroom suite on the fifth floor which had a comfortable queen bed in each room with a tv, a bathroom, and a hallway connecting everything. It would have been nice to have a common area but we still had ample space to hang out in one of the bedrooms. Our desire for a common area became reality the morning after our first night there, when a fire alarm was sounded due to some sort of gas leak or fumes that was part of the sixth floor renovation that was going on. We asked to be moved to a lower floor and they gave us another suite down on the third floor which also had two bedrooms with tvs, plus a living room with a couch, desk, and a tv which was wonderful. The suite was located right at the point of the triangular intersection so the view from the living room window was very nice, looking right down Beacon Street.
The hotel was in a perfect location for us; the Kenmore T station is less than a hundred yards away which was great to hop on the train and cruise around town, and Fenway Park and the House of Blues is about three hundred yards away in the other direction. The first night we walked to The Bleacher Bar, a very cool bar located under the center field bleachers of Fenway. Granted it was February and months away from baseball season, still it was neat being able to look through the big glass garage door out into the stadium. The next night our concert was at The House of Blues right across the street from Fenway, it was very nice being able to walk to the show and to not have to worry about driving under various influences afterward.
I would definitely recommend staying at The Buckminster, despite the fire alarm and the $28 a night parking fee it is still a cool old hotel and in the perfect location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RutherfordtheBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick R, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Buckminster and taking the time to provide feedback. We value your comments and share them with our staff in an effort to improve the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Buckminster for 5 nights. We are budget travellers who appreciate comfort while trying to keep costs down. The Buckminster was the best deal in our US trip this year. For US $ 103 we got an ensuite 2 twin bed room with fridge and microwave plus an all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast. I simply do not understand all the complaints and fuss about a stain in the carpet. This is what I would call a perfect budget hotel, providing all a traveller needs.
It is true that the furnishings are old fashioned and that the place would look much better and cost much more if it were completely refurbished, but from my point of view, let it be as it is. And the conveniences! We had a kitchen with an ice dispenser on the same floor, as well as a complete laundry room with washing and drying machine (a vending machine provides soap and softener). The room had a safe in the closet, a hair dryer in the bathroom (immaculately clean, all white), the room was well lit as there were large windows. The mattresses were comfortable. Towels were changed daily and room was always clean.
Breakfast did not include cooked fare, but consider that it is a complimentary breakfast. Bagels, English muffins, Danish pastry, mini-cup cakes, four types of cereal, marmelades, honey, Philadelphia cheese , tea, cocoa, coffee, fresh fruit, orange and cranberry juice. A grill to toast bagles and muffins. I would not call that "little variety". Sure, if you are staying a month it might turn repetitive, but at that price, you can save enough to purchase whatever you want to add to the basic breakfast. We even saw guests who helped themselves to fruit and coffee and took it upstairs to their room.
As regards service, this is the only hotel where we were greeted by our surname upon returning from sightseeing. So much so, that the second day I decided to memorize the name of the fellow who had taken the trouble to know who we were and where we were from. Thank you, Scott.
We had trouble with the heating and the temperature in our room dropped to 61º. We asked the situation be looked into, and reception promised to send the maintenance crew. However, that night the room was still cold. A different receptionist took our second complaint and this time someone did their job right, because the room was steaming when we returned.
The business center is rather expensive but very convenient: you access it with your card key and use your credit card to buy internet connection time. There are two work stations and the chairs are comfortable.
There are several restaurants within a 2 block radius (two in the same building as the hotel). Although there is a convenience store which sells pizza and other simple fare round the corner, the supermarket is a good 12-minute walk away.
As regards location, although it is not in the heart of Boston, it is a 12/15-minute ride away on the green T-line. The station is Kenmore and it is 100 yards from there to the hotel. A word of warning to future guests: there are 4 green trains coming out of Boston center: only B (to Boston College), C (to Cleveland Circle) and D (to Riverside) take you to Kenmore. If you get on the E line, you never reach Kenmore because it turns south towards Heath. Going inwards, into town, all the trolleys stopping at Kenmore follow the same route so you can hop on the first one that stops. There are elevators that take you up to street level without having to lug your suitcases up the stairs. At Park Street you can transfer to the red T-line. With those two lines, you can move all over Boston, Harvard and MIT. We got a Charlie one-week Pass with unlimited trips for US$ 15 each. It works out even if you are staying only 4 days!
Summing up, don't hesitate to book this place if you are cost conscious but want comfort and convenience. Don't stay here if you are fussy about style and decor and can afford to pay 200 dollars a night for lodging.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Argentine-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

While the "Buck" is an old guy, it was clean, the bed comfy and clean, the bathroom was cleaner than more expensive places I have stayed (and the water was hot and plentiful). The desk folks were amazingly polite, smart, and helpful. Great location to BU and to Fenway. Best deal on sushi right in the hotel.

They are working on some remodeling which made a few hallways dusty, but that did not encroach into the rooms. Plus, it'll be even better when they are done.

I saw another person had an issue mere days before I was there. Quite frankly, I think that person is crazy. I stayed 12 nights and when I return to Boston, I'll stay there without hesitation.

Bring an ethernet cable for free internet. (That's a secret)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick R, General Manager at Boston Hotel Buckminster, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Buckminster and taking the time to provide feedback. We value your comments and share them with our staff in an effort to improve the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

The people at the front desk couldn't do a simple credit card transaction and charged me $66 too much.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jkd2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 84 in Boston
2,309 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,787 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
290 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: £76 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing