We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, Historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #65 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, Historic hotel”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a 2-day conference and found it to be wonderfully convenient spot for trips around downtown Boston. The historic hotel is located just one block from Fenway Park and close to the Boston University campus. Additionally, the Green Line subway is about half block away and will take you to the Hynes Convention Center station in about 5 minutes.

The hotel itself is over 100 years old. Rooms come in all sizes from two-room suites to squeezed-in queens. We had one of the smaller rooms (most likely it was originally meant to hold a single bed), but we found it worked well-enough for our needs.

Yes, some of the furniture was a little worn, but the bed, linens and pillows were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was spotless, the towels were soft and the shower worked. We had two minor maintenance problems (one was our fault). Both times after calling the front desk, a service person was at our door within three minutes. The front desk staff was consistently friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room faced the inner "courtyard" and it was pretty quiet. So if you are sensitive abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamala_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    630
    301
    111
    109
See reviews for
421
519
104
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we were in Boston to attend a concert at the House of Blues which is right around the corner. We were pleasantly surprised by the service, cleanliness and the cool view from the room (Fenway Park). There is quick access to the subway across the street to get downtown and a great little bagel place across the square. We ate at the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at the service and the food, it was above average and nicely presented pub fare. The building is a little on the old side but don't let that scare you. The hotel was reasonably priced for what we got and the location was great for what we needed; I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I usually attend one or two Red Sox games at Fenway Park every year. We used to stay at the rapidly deteriorating Howard Johnsons next door to the Park. It now has been torn down, and so we looked to the Hotel Buckminster as an option. Having stayed there two nights ago, I now can report that it is a great option for attending Red Sox games. We had reserved a king bed room but were upgraded to a king suite -- very nice. What wasn't so nice was the fact that, in a non-smoking room in a non-smoking facility, we were met with the strong stench of stale smoke when we entered the room. In addition, the excellent modern windows in the unit had obviously been opened to try to freshen the air and had not been closed properly, letting in noise and cold breezes. I managed to close the windows (which were off their tracks), which remarkably protected us from the street noise outside (we were on the 2nd floor). Because the hotel was full, we could not be offered alternative accommodations, but were given a small discount on the room price, which was appreciated. When we return for our next Red Sox game in July, we are hoping that the room we have reserved will truly be smoke free. I wish that hotel management would try harder to enforce the no-smoking policy, because otherwise they have a very convenient and well-cared for facility. The suite, by the way, had a kitchenette, which was nice, but it would have been helpful had they left a few more plastic glasses in the room (only two were there, in the bathroom).

Room Tip: We expected 2nd floor room to have serious noise issues but were pleasantly surprised that the new w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soxfanforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Arrival/Check in was accompanied by great service and guidance by front desk. Front desk service was AWESOME (friendly, helpful, reassuring) throughout entire stay. Location was excellent. Day 2 of visit was consistent of lunch in the Fenmore Grill at the hotel. During 4/22 lunch, service was sub par. Bartender seemed irritated/annoyed which resulted in bad service. He seemed irritated with any guest (togo or dine in). Day 2 had an unannounced fire alarm in the AM which was unsatisfying. We were not notified that our floor was going to have a "fire alarm" that day and was alarming.
Checkout service was great with the front desk, as was overall privacy and overall room accommodations. The "feel" of the hotel was great, alongside the location. Regarding the Fenmore Grill on 4/23, the female bartender (who was significantly busier than the gentlemen on 4/22 AM) was significantly better. She was friendlier and more efficient, even though we only had a TOGO order. I also appreciate the vouchers for the restaurant given by the hotel, it is very convenient. Overall, the amount of money spent for the hotel was appreciated mostly for the location rather than the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Vacation to boston to hangout and head to the Red Sox vs. Yankees game! Checked in on Marathon Monday (which was a treat in many ways). What an experience to watch! I would check in the day before just because it is hard to make your way around the city (obviously) and if you want to park in the hotel parking, you have to wait till about 8:30ish to get your parking but watching the marathon and the bars and restaurants in the area are easy to get to. After checking-in and getting settled after the marathon we ventured out and had a wonderful time. We asked the front desk 2 times for a roll-away bed (plus the phone call the day before). We never got the roll away but made that was a minor problem that was manageable. We did wake up to a fire alarm test that was only on our floor.. and i was not impressed but understand the value of testing the alarms so i did not make an issue about it. The next day we went to get lunch in the restaurant at the hotel called the Fenmore Grill. The service was honestly the worst I've ever had and i am saying that because there was 1 table and myself and a friend at the bar.. a total of 4 adults and 2 children. It took 10 mins to get a drink and 40 mins after that to put a food order in. The waiter/bartender (one person working) was extremely rude and short with 2 guest that came in for a to-go order and change for a 20 dollar bill. He seemed very irritated that he had to serve these 2 people who were very pleasant with him. I work in the service industry and understand the pressure and stress as well as being busy and at times it is unbearable but his demeanor was kind of disrespectful. In my opinion (which is from my view of what was in the restaurant) he was not overly busy. The next day I wanted to give the restaurant another shot and the young lady working was unbelievable! She had 5 tables and 5 bar guests and our service was amazing! We put our order in and was in and out in 35 mins. This girl knew how to work!!!! She was polite and efficient and I wish I got her name so i could tell management.
Although i had a 50/50 with the restaurant the front desk was very nice and took care of the issue with not getting the roll away quickly and were very apologetic.
This hotel is so close to Fenway and in walking distance of many restaurants, bars and corner stores... park your car and leave it and you don't have to use it until you leave, which is awesome!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McClem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

An okay budget hotel that has only its location going for it (Fenway's steps away as is a T stop; walk about fifteen minutes down Beacon past BU, you'll be in Coolidge Corner which is awash in excellent Asian restaurants). But then again, Boston's small enough that nearly everything's within walking distance. As the hotel is proud to tell you, this is an old place, and while that's . . . interesting, this is one instance where I'd be happy to forgo history for a restful night's sleep. The walls are tissue-thin, and because this hotel sits at the confluence of three major streets, you'll be listening to traffic noise all night long--and I mean, ALL night long. In addition, the blinds are inadequate, and the rooms stay bright enough that I finally broke down and bought a sleep mask just to get some semblance of darkness going here. All in all, these factors outweigh the hotel's location. If I'm ever in Boston again, I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaturnGirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
729 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed three nights before our trip to England and felt this was a very good choice. It's an old hotel with character and history. We had booked a regular king room, but asked if we could have a free upgrade (we always do and it often pays off). We were given a large suite on the sixth floor with a view of Fenway Park. There was a busy road below, but we wear earplugs, so no problem. Everything was clean and the rooms were well equipped and very comfortable. The staff is absolutely top notch - very friendly and helpful. The $10 a night voucher helps with the breakfast bill (it pays for one meal each morning) and the food and service were excellent. The elevator was certainly adequate and not that slow for us, but the hotel wasn't full. Price wise the hotel is a very good value. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Can't remove swimming pool and fitness center rating, hit by error. Don't believe they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing