We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Small Charming Historic Hotel, Convenient, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice Small Charming Historic Hotel, Convenient, Good Value”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is our 2nd time staying at the Buckminster. We were very pleased with the ongoing upgrades, like room redecoration, new tv's, new wood flooring, new furniture. The superior queen bed room was excellent, very comfortable bed, it had a microwave, coffee maker(it didn't work), refrigerator/freezer,i Pod dock spacious bathroom. It also included a $10 breakfast voucher per person per day which was used at the Fenmore Grill within the hotel property. The best part, is that the room rates are far below than the nearby hotels in the Kenmore/Fenway area, especially during Red Sox home games. We enjoyed very much our stay and plan to come back.

Room Tip: Try to get the superior queen or king rooms and on higher floors if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    637
    304
    113
    109
See reviews for
433
520
105
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petawawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stay here every time when in Boston. Here 3 nights during Boston Marathon weekend. The location is only 20 minutes walk from the marathon finish line and Fenway Park is right around the corner. Our room this visit was huge compared to other rooms we have been in over the years. It had 2 twin beds, bright, clean, with an updated washroom, and a view of Fenway Park. Room was sound insulated from traffic noises below. Only complaints were: the electrical outlets by the desk were not working, hot water for shower/bath was hit and miss, and Wifi did not work for my husband's laptop but did for my apple mini...and it's only free for 60 minutes! You receive a $10. coupon/person for breakfast at the attached restaurant which was excellent. The other restaurant in the same building was also excellent. Front desk and cleaning staff very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: If you don't mind 2 twins beds, I recommend room 616. Larger than other rooms. Bright sunny win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justvisiting50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review laying on the couch in my room here at the hotel waiting for the Advil to kick in. The bed needs to go! I could not move both mornings of my trip with out excruciating back pain. The softest saggiest mattress I have ever slept on. Room was clean but needs facelift and a coffee maker. Location is great. Fremont restaurant very good. Staff ..meh. Too expensive for what I got... Trip to chiropractor and pain all weekend!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Edison, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a 2-day conference and found it to be wonderfully convenient spot for trips around downtown Boston. The historic hotel is located just one block from Fenway Park and close to the Boston University campus. Additionally, the Green Line subway is about half block away and will take you to the Hynes Convention Center station in about 5 minutes.

The hotel itself is over 100 years old. Rooms come in all sizes from two-room suites to squeezed-in queens. We had one of the smaller rooms (most likely it was originally meant to hold a single bed), but we found it worked well-enough for our needs.

Yes, some of the furniture was a little worn, but the bed, linens and pillows were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was spotless, the towels were soft and the shower worked. We had two minor maintenance problems (one was our fault). Both times after calling the front desk, a service person was at our door within three minutes. The front desk staff was consistently friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room faced the inner "courtyard" and it was pretty quiet. So if you are sensitive abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamala_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we were in Boston to attend a concert at the House of Blues which is right around the corner. We were pleasantly surprised by the service, cleanliness and the cool view from the room (Fenway Park). There is quick access to the subway across the street to get downtown and a great little bagel place across the square. We ate at the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at the service and the food, it was above average and nicely presented pub fare. The building is a little on the old side but don't let that scare you. The hotel was reasonably priced for what we got and the location was great for what we needed; I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I usually attend one or two Red Sox games at Fenway Park every year. We used to stay at the rapidly deteriorating Howard Johnsons next door to the Park. It now has been torn down, and so we looked to the Hotel Buckminster as an option. Having stayed there two nights ago, I now can report that it is a great option for attending Red Sox games. We had reserved a king bed room but were upgraded to a king suite -- very nice. What wasn't so nice was the fact that, in a non-smoking room in a non-smoking facility, we were met with the strong stench of stale smoke when we entered the room. In addition, the excellent modern windows in the unit had obviously been opened to try to freshen the air and had not been closed properly, letting in noise and cold breezes. I managed to close the windows (which were off their tracks), which remarkably protected us from the street noise outside (we were on the 2nd floor). Because the hotel was full, we could not be offered alternative accommodations, but were given a small discount on the room price, which was appreciated. When we return for our next Red Sox game in July, we are hoping that the room we have reserved will truly be smoke free. I wish that hotel management would try harder to enforce the no-smoking policy, because otherwise they have a very convenient and well-cared for facility. The suite, by the way, had a kitchenette, which was nice, but it would have been helpful had they left a few more plastic glasses in the room (only two were there, in the bathroom).

Room Tip: We expected 2nd floor room to have serious noise issues but were pleasantly surprised that the new w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soxfanforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Arrival/Check in was accompanied by great service and guidance by front desk. Front desk service was AWESOME (friendly, helpful, reassuring) throughout entire stay. Location was excellent. Day 2 of visit was consistent of lunch in the Fenmore Grill at the hotel. During 4/22 lunch, service was sub par. Bartender seemed irritated/annoyed which resulted in bad service. He seemed irritated with any guest (togo or dine in). Day 2 had an unannounced fire alarm in the AM which was unsatisfying. We were not notified that our floor was going to have a "fire alarm" that day and was alarming.
Checkout service was great with the front desk, as was overall privacy and overall room accommodations. The "feel" of the hotel was great, alongside the location. Regarding the Fenmore Grill on 4/23, the female bartender (who was significantly busier than the gentlemen on 4/22 AM) was significantly better. She was friendlier and more efficient, even though we only had a TOGO order. I also appreciate the vouchers for the restaurant given by the hotel, it is very convenient. Overall, the amount of money spent for the hotel was appreciated mostly for the location rather than the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,983 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,597 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,277 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Property: Boston Hotel Buckminster
Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing