We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Tiny room.The bed was extra firm which is not my favorite. We had very little space to put our luggage. Ancient television. The shower was okay and had adequate hot water. The hotel employees were very nice. This hotel does not have much to recommend it except that it is within walking distance from Fenway. And that would have been enough but the game for which I had tickets was rained out. The Buckminster is close to a pile of restaurants and on games days there are the food carts outside the stadium. We were able to walk to an on/off tour bus stop that was near. Barely adequate place to get some sleep after a game.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Saw some good reviews and the photos looked good, so I booked it for two nights.
The minute I got to the room I asked if I could cancel my reservation. The room was a glorified dorm room with NO amenities except a CRT TV with only about 10 channels that works.
I hallways smelled a bit and the service was virtually non-existent.
Probably the worst hotel experience I have had in years.
I would highly recommend you stay ANYWHERE else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel Buckminster is not worth it, the vouchers for food are a joke, the food is overpriced for the quality of the rooms. The restaurant is never open as late as they say it is either. The bathroom is poor as well. Not a comfy environment at all do not go here!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Not a bad place to stay in Boston when you can get a deal on it.

It's an old building; most of the doors and furniture are worn, and the TVs are old. Everything works, though. The mattress is comfy. Everything is clean. The paint is fresh.

I've read a few reviews about how this hotel could get cold in the middle of winter. I'd believe it based on the slightly drafty windows. We stayed at the end of April with a 40 degree night and had no problems.

Parking is $35 per night, which is about average for Boston. Compare it to $50 Red Sox game day parking, and it's a good deal.

Room Tip: This hotel sells discount rooms through a number of travel brokers; shop around for a good price. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked this hotel through a third party that called it a "solid" hotel. 240.00 per night... It was one of the worst nights I have ever spent in a hotel. Was visiting my daughter who lives in Boston, booked the trip last minute. When we arrived, we were given a room with two beds-two twin beds, with VERY worn furniture. I have seen dorm rooms nicer then this. The bathroom had rust and mildew throughout and there was hair on the sheets. Called the front desk where they were able to switch us to a "renovated" room. The room was the same but did have a cleaner, newer bathroom. Went out for dinner and came home exhausted. There were only blinds on the window, the lights from Fenway shined through the entire night-we also listened to nonstop traffic from the freeway, as well as a beeping noise from a truck below. Finally at 5 AM, after no sleep, we left to go to my daughters apartment to try to get a few hours sleep. Think before you book at Hotel Buckminster!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is our 2nd time staying at the Buckminster. We were very pleased with the ongoing upgrades, like room redecoration, new tv's, new wood flooring, new furniture. The superior queen bed room was excellent, very comfortable bed, it had a microwave, coffee maker(it didn't work), refrigerator/freezer,i Pod dock spacious bathroom. It also included a $10 breakfast voucher per person per day which was used at the Fenmore Grill within the hotel property. The best part, is that the room rates are far below than the nearby hotels in the Kenmore/Fenway area, especially during Red Sox home games. We enjoyed very much our stay and plan to come back.

Room Tip: Try to get the superior queen or king rooms and on higher floors if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stay here every time when in Boston. Here 3 nights during Boston Marathon weekend. The location is only 20 minutes walk from the marathon finish line and Fenway Park is right around the corner. Our room this visit was huge compared to other rooms we have been in over the years. It had 2 twin beds, bright, clean, with an updated washroom, and a view of Fenway Park. Room was sound insulated from traffic noises below. Only complaints were: the electrical outlets by the desk were not working, hot water for shower/bath was hit and miss, and Wifi did not work for my husband's laptop but did for my apple mini...and it's only free for 60 minutes! You receive a $10. coupon/person for breakfast at the attached restaurant which was excellent. The other restaurant in the same building was also excellent. Front desk and cleaning staff very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: If you don't mind 2 twins beds, I recommend room 616. Larger than other rooms. Bright sunny win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justvisiting50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 84 in Boston
2,347 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
3,820 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
572 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: £74 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing