We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Ranked #63 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Really enjoyed my stay this weekend a Hotel Buckminster. Wanted to manage budget but be IN not next to downtown Boston and wasn't disappointed. Quick and easy access off the highway then able to park my car right next door for the weekend and enjoy the sites on foot and by subway. Staff were quick to respond, friendly, and helpful. Rooms were clean and well-appointed. Just what I was looking for - thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrannyMacMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our daughter attends BU and the Buckminster is the perfect location to stay. Walk anywhere with ease on Commonwealth, our beloved Red Sox are right next door. It's surprisingly quiet. The building is timeless and the history is rich. The staff was INCREDIBLY friendly. Open welcoming eyes and smiles. So nice. Loved the Sox jersey attire on game day. the restaurant is welcoming and sublime. Fabulous food. The rooms feel like being in a lovely old home rather than a stock, stark hotel room. The back stairway is reminiscent of my grandmothers and it brought back wonderful memories. I never used the elevator, the stairway was an absolute hidden treat. We will be back, regularly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for the Zack Brown Concert and this place was super convenient since the hotel is basically across the street from Fenway. The staff was very pleasant and professional. We received an upgrade when we checked in, and the room was clean, bright and very quiet.. Real old character in this hotel ..

Breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Our wait staff was 1st class, very attentive and the overall experience was very good.. (some of the best home fries I have ever eaten)

If you're attending a function at Fenway Park, or close by, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked my stay on Priceline and got a very good rate. It was a little further from downtown than I wanted. I got sick while I was there and was unable to leave the room. They were of no help. I asked for a thermometer and tea and ginger ale, since everything is self-service, I was stranded in my room. The room was tiny, view of an internal courtyard. The halls were musty.

That said, well priced if you are on a budget and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was reasonable and the waiters attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandysole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here a few times when I traveled to Boston. It was very clean and the staff was friendly. Usually I was always upgraded if I made the reservation a few weeks in advanced. Beds were comfy. Housekeeping didn't bother me as long as I put out my sign. Breakfast was alright...typical continental breakfast. Has a gym and wifi. never had any complaints about noise either. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Buckminster is an older Hotel right next to Fenway Park and is great for the price. I had accidentally left my laptop computer and both Matthew and Kevin helped get it in the mail to me right away. The views of Fenway park from our window was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Storme123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I am a business traveler with a limited budget, and the Buckminster was a perfect choice. For Boston, the price was perfect. The room was very large, double beds but comfortable, a dressing area and a large bathroom with stylish soaps. The staff at reception are reactive and friendly; your receive a ticket for breakfast to eat at the restaurant which is fine offering several choices.

The location, while not downtown, is near Boston University and Fenway Park with the Kenmore T station next door.

An excellently run hotel which is comfortable and inexpensive. You can't do better ; I will definitely come back on my next business trip.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 86 in Boston
3,861 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 86 in Boston
2,476 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 86 in Boston
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#10 of 86 in Boston
4,566 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Hotel Buckminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Hotel Buckminster

Address: 645 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: £72 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Hotel Buckminster 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Boston Hotel Buckminster located in Kenmore Square, a few steps away from Fenway Park. Built in 1897 this hotel takes you back in time with its old world elegance. A historic hotel that hosted a speakeasy in the 1920's and hosted jazz legends including Billie Holiday and Charles Mingus. More notoriously, it was the site where the 1919 baseball-fixing scheme, the Black Sox Scandal for the World Series was planned. Our 132 guestrooms and suites have been tastefully designed for simplicity, elegance and comfort. All accommodations include complimentary Wi-Fi, HD Flat screen TVs with HBO, microwaves, mini-fridges and large soft beds. For the best views in the house, ask for our City View rooms overlooking Fenway Park, the iconic Citgo sign and the Boston landscape. Boston Hotel Buckminster is within walking distance to Boston University and House of Blues. Come join us for a relaxing stay where the crossroads to history and baseball collide in an elegant fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boston Hotel Buckminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing