We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All About Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Ranked #47 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Sullivan, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's All About Location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This visit to Boston was for a one-day event at a hotel that was a) full, and b) very, very expensive. Primarily because of university commencements, nearly every hotel I checked had nothing available for the date. I remembered that my former employer used CQ as its hotel of choice in Boston, although I had never stayed there. The price was OK and location was nearly perfect for the event and my transportation (South Station) and business dinner arrangements, so I booked it.

The "lobby" is tiny, not much more than the front desk and elevators. The rooms are tucked in off the hallway in pairs. My room itself was ok, with a desk, a bed, a TV and a closet, although the closet was not much more than a cubby with not much vertical room to hang my suit.

It's clean and functional for a solo business traveler, but I would not want to spend too much time there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank royatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    656
    234
    88
    62
See reviews for
260
675
154
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Boston hotel is quite expensive and so is this one. However, my experience with this hotel is quite pleasant. I can point out few things:
1. My biggest worry is whether it would be clean. It is quite clean and thanks to house keeper names Yu-Hua Wu;
2. Hotel staffs are helpful and professional. I can name few like: Tristine, Sal, Aram, Anou, Xivan. I am sure I probably miss-spelled some of those names, but that's how I call them. They are very responsive to my requests and always try the best to make me feel home. I am planning to stay here for few months for a project in downtown Boston and it is somewhat important to feel like home;
3. The only negative side is that the room is small even though I have already taken the largest room. That's more to do with Boston downtown.
4. Location is great and it is only 8 minutes to my office which means I can walk back for lunch if I want to.
5. Boston is a good city to visit. It is just a lot to do in downtown area and very friendly to tourists. ....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A rainy July 4th weekend dampened my mood a bit, but I cannot complain about the hotel while I was there. For those looking to do the tourist thing, this is a great home base. We walked the Freedom Trail and several of the stops were a block or two from the hotel. Boston Common is 5 or so minutes away and there is a subway steps from the hotel entrance.

Our room was pretty small, but big enough for two people to be comfortable. We did have to ask for an extra washcloth as we were initially given only one. Still they provided them quickly so it was no hassle. The one perk I liked that I had not encountered before in a hotel was the free cold filtered water station in the hallway and plastic bottles to use. It was a nice thing to have before heading out for a long day of sightseeing.

They provided dicounted parking at a deck a block away. For the 2-ish days we were there, we paid $42, which is pretty reasonable to me in a busy metropolis.

We didn't partake of the adjoining restaurant, but if you do go there and charge to your room, you get a 10% discount. The front desk staff were very nice and automated checkout made leaving early in the morning a breeze. Good stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a one night stay at the Club Quarters. I stayed with 3 other family members so we got a room with a double bed and double pull out sofa bed, the room was extremely spacious and modern. Check in was very fast and the staff are very helpful. The bottles of water are super as the humidity and heat in Boston during our stay was extremely bad. Nice touch with the water bottles on each floor. We had breakfast in the bar/restaurant next door and it was also of good standard. The bathroom facilities were excellent with plenty of hot water for 4showers. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent, very convenient for sight seeing and a night out.
Thank you for the lovely stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DannyBoySouthIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Exceeded my expectations. When you select a hotel using reviews and rating it does not always work out. A pleasant surprise was had at Club Quarters. Great location close to Fanueil Hall. Great hospitality from Manager Anou who saved us a 2 hour wait for dinner at Legal Harborside by giving us a contact there. Rooms were just right for 2 with a very clean and bright feel. Small by Florida standards but large by NYC standards. Very nice Club room with tv, computers and fab coffee machine that ground beans and made cafe latte and espresso. Very helpful staff when I needed 4 am valet car for early flight. Thanks Anou and the clerk from Florida that likeed my FSU gear.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzotrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Location is great. There are many restaurants and attractions close by. It is a short walk to the Boston Common, Public Garden, Old State House, Quincy Market, etc. The room was a little small, but we didn't spend a lot of time there so it worked just fine for us. We loved the free water machine on the floor as it was very hot when we visited Boston and we used it every time we returned to the hotel. Housekeeping did a great job of cleaning the room everyday. After full days of sightseeing it was nice to come back to a clean room.

Having an automatic check-in takes the personal touch away. We were there 5 days and were never greeted when we came in. The only time we talked to an actual person was when we checked out. She offered to get us a cab which was nice, however it was an SUV that wasn't labeled as a cab and it cost us $30. We could have taken a regular cab for half that. You expect a little better customer service when you pay that much for a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed over July 4th weekend. The financial district is dead during this time. Overall this is a nice hotel with decently appointed rooms. I'm sure it's great if you're here by yourself for a business meeting on a Tues. morning. It is not the best choice if you're travelling with your partner or family because that is not what they were aiming to please. The base level rooms and services were simply not designed for families or couples. Still, it's a nice hotel and very clean. We found their staff to be very pleasant and accommodating. The location is excellent and near a T stop.

There is no unloading zone, very annoying in a city where you cannot find a parking space. The rooms here are very small, European, unless you pay for the larger "suite" rooms (they did have a cheap upgrade). The bathrooms are very small, almost "cruise ship" style. They do not have a micro fridge. People travelling on business don't need them since their meals are expensed. They do not have ironing boards, except in the hall closet for sharing. The coffee machine was terrible and they had no decaf K cups.

Our room was above the bar, and subject to bass thumping till 1AM (That is why I give it 3 stars). Steer clear of the 2nd floor rooms if possible, especially the ones over the bar. My wife and I got soaked twice during the rainstorm, and there was no way for us to dry our clothes (no laundromat within 15 min walk either). There was no way for her to ice down her foot either, due to no micro fridge.

Still, overall for what we paid, I'm fine with this place. It's in a great location. I just wanted people to understand this hotel concept and it's pros and cons before booking.

Room Tip: stay away from the 2nd floor, especially above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,279 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#46 of 83 in Boston
7,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Boston

Property: Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Address: 161 Devonshire St, between Milk & Franklin Streets, Boston, MA 02110-1402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#37 Business Hotel in Boston
#40 Family Hotel in Boston
#49 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston is a full service hotel designed for business travelers. Located in the heart of downtown Boston near Faneuil Hall, the North End, Freedom Trail, Quincy Market, and Post Office Square, and a short walk from fine dining, shopping and entertainment. All Club Quarters Hotels provides: • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel • Instant registration and check-out • Club Living Room - an inviting lounge for working, meeting, socializing and relaxing • Free unlimited chilled bottled water • Greater security with keycard access to guest room floors • Restaurant and Bar • Fitness room with cardio equipment and weights • Meeting rooms and office space available • Guest Request Closets on every floor containing extra pillows, blankets and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Boston Hotel Boston
Hotel Quarters Boston
Club Quarters Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing