We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need to LOVE Elvis for this” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elvis Presley Birthplace & Museum

Elvis Presley Birthplace & Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$185.00*
and up
Elvis Presley Birthplace Park in Tupelo with Transport from Memphis
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Tupelo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum showing objects from Elvis' childhood.
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You need to LOVE Elvis for this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stopped in Tupelo to get fuel and a gentleman asked me if we were going to visit Elvis' birthplace just down the street. We were ahead of schedule so figured why not. You really need to LOVE Elvis for this to be worthwhile. I am not a huge fan, but it was interesting especially in the cabin his family built. And if you do LOVE Elvis, be sure to dress up like him. We saw people from the UK and Italy dressed up just to visit here and Graceland. *shrugs*

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    347
    130
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“From humble beginnings...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We have been here before and at that time we saw the museum too and enjoyed it all. For this trip, we were introducing our 13 year old granddaughter to Elvis. We were going to Graceland the next day and I wanted her to see where he begin. We bought the tickets just for the house. It really is a 2 room shotgun house. The docent gave good information and the point was made to our granddaughter that people who end up in mansions might start out very humbly and use their talents and skills to create the life they aspire to.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Striggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordanstown,N Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“"Start at the very beginning"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you are an Elvis fan, his complete life story is a must - not just the music, fame & fortune.

There could not be a bigger contrast between Tupelo & Graceland. The two room house where Elvis & his twin were born is a poignant reminder of his humble beginnings. The original church, attended by the family was moved to this location & was an integral part of his family life. You can actually "attend" a service in the church. It is cleverly done & you really feel as if you are part of the gospel service. It is a very effective way of conveying the importance of the church & gospel music to Elvis & his parents.

If you visit on a Sunday, there is a lovely lady at the desk (sorry I can't remember your name) who knew Elvis when he was a child. I believe her father had the garage in Tupelo.

I was glad I visited Tupelo before visiting Graceland as it emphasised just how dramatically Elvis life had changed & in such a short time.

Start in Tupelo, continue in Sun Studio, Memphis, then Studio B, Nashville & finish in Graceland & you've got the complete package.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelkidx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Small shotgun house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Interesting museum. Watched a documentary about Elvis childhood.
Then we visited the birthplace. A small shotgun house, where Elvis lived until his 13th Year.
Beside the birthplace, you can visit the Church Elvis went to every Sunday until his 13th Year.
The Church was moved here from its original position.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PiaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Interesting info about Elvis early life. I love historical trips. A must see if you like music. I think the prices are a bit high for the house viewing considering its only 2 rooms but still I enjoyed it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elvis Presley Birthplace & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Elvis Presley Birthplace & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing