We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Tupelo or anywhere???”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Reviewed 25 May 2012

If any of my friends and family come thru or close to Tupelo, they MUST stay here! My husband and I are beginning a 6 week cross country and back trip and this was our first hotel stay. I'm afraid that we somehow started with the best and the rest are going to be lacking!!! All of the staff are courteous and helpful, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable and the hotel was quiet while we were there. Are you ready for the rest? There are GLASSES in the room and COFFEE MUGS - when is the last time you saw that? And when you go to the hot, delicious breakfast BUFFET, you get REAL PLATES and REAL silverware wrapped in LINEN NAPKINS!! There's more - for those who like to have an adult beverage, you can get 2 FREE cocktails, per person not per room, during their happy hour! This was the best hotel stay I have experienced in a very long time and one that you shouldn't miss when you are anywhere CLOSE to Tupelo!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

We generally try to stay at Choice Hotels when we travel. We booked the Clarion sight unseen but based upon very positive reviews in TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. Clean comfortable room, great breakfast, convenient location, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldGIRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

At first glance, this hotel seems to be older and perhaps not in the best section of town. Although this being my first visit to Tupelo, I hardly found any other place in town that looked any different. We were greeted pleasantly and our room was spacious enough for our four-person family. My husband and I went to the complimentary happy hour that was run by a very nice woman. I thought they should have furnished more than popcorn with the drinks, but it was free. We asked the front desk clerk, on our way to dinner, if we could have a late checkout. My husband had a business luncheon to attend and I wanted to be able to stay at the hotel with my two sons. The desk clerk was lovely and said that would not be a problem and told us we could have a checkout time of 2 p.m. The next day at breakfast, my family got to the free breakfast buffet about 8:30 a.m. It was the usual assortment of waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits and grits. There was a container that had two slices of ham. I asked the hostess on duty if she would be bringing out some more. She said the hotel did not have any more and that was all of the ham she had. I was astonished. The hotel was not very full and it was the middle of the week. If I were the hotel, I would have gone to the grocery store and purchased more ham for the buffet rather than tell my guests there wasn't any. Other people came in after us and looked askance at the rather brief buffet. We ate what they had and returned to our room. About 11 a.m. we received a phone call from the front desk asking us to take off the "Do Not Disturb" sign from our door so that the maid could clean. Regular checkout time is at noon. We told her that we had been given a later checkout time of 2 p.m. She said there was no notice of this on the computer, but did say she could honor the other desk clerk's agreement. I walked to the front desk to confirm this in person and she was very nice about it. In all, the staff at the hotel was very nice, although I do believe if you tell a guest he/she has a later checkout, then you should note that on their account. Also, they need to make sure they have plenty of food for the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherrikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

An excellent value, spacious rooms, nice amenities, and the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. Super friendly staff. No disappointments.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrob1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hidden behind Conf. Center this Hotel catered to guest satisfaction. 2 free drinks tickets per person in nicely appointed bar/breakfast area. along with freshly cooked popcorn (thanks Jo) the very nice lady that was bartending.
The rooms were slightly dated but were very nice large flat screen tv, fridge,microwaves
2 free bottles of water were in each fridge and you could ask for more and they would deliver to room.(nice touch)
The price of these rooms$73.80 +taxesand the goal to make their guests happy was a real GEM

Room Tip: all of our group stayed in part of Hotel with Lobby other part of Hotel has pool and King rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayseN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I booked this hotel when other nicer hotels (Hilton Garden and Hampton Inn Tupelo) were booked. To get to the hotel, I had to drive through the parking lots of the two adjoining, less savory motels. They were run down and I got very nervous. The Clarion is the nicest of the three properties but still nothing to write home about. It is tired. The room was tidy but plain. The smell of cleaner was overwhelming. The turn down notice on the bed had smeared lipstick and chunks of dried food on it. The ice machine and toilet were very noisy and woke me up several times in the night. No pool either but you can use the motel's pool next door if you want to. Staff seemed friendly at least!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popartpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This Clarion was in a lot with 1 or 2 other hotels and not the most thrilling place in the world. But it was fine, nice staff, funny happy hour where you can get two free drinks in their little bar, hanging with the locals and guests was amusing. I didn't really eat their breakfast cuz I was on my way to somewhere else but the bit of biscuits and gravy I had was awesome. They have a guitar shaped pool but I didn't swim my one nite there. Some cute stuff in Tupelo.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tupelo hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 26 in Tupelo
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tupelo
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tupelo
Red Roof Inn Tupelo
#7 of 26 in Tupelo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tupelo Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 26 in Tupelo
175 reviews
5.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tupelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 852 N Gloster St, Tupelo, MS 38804-1935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Tupelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Price Range: £39 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion inn, Tupelo, MS. Centrally located at the intersection of Gloster Street and McCullough Boulevard, we are the premiere venue for your accommodation needs. Whether you are here for business or leisure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, amenities, hospitality, and relaxation. Clarion Inn Tupelo North offers our corporate guests optimum productivity with executive desks in each room. With Free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel, and a 24-hour Business Center, our guests are always connected. We are in close proximity to many major corporations, such as North Mississippi Medical Center, Cooper Tire, and Toyota Motor Manufacturing of Mississippi. Our hotel also features flexible meeting space. We are minutes away from most of the area's premier attractions. Elvis Presley's Birthplace and Museum, The Automobile Museum, The Tupelo Buffalo Park and Zoo, and The Oren Dunn City Museum are just a few of The All-American City's paramount attractions. Call today to make your reservation at our beautiful, avant-garde Clarion inn Tupelo, MS and experience the epitome of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Summit Hotel Tupelo
Clarion Inn And Summit Center
Summit Tupelo
Tupelo Summit
Summit Hotel Tupelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing