We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected - in a BAD way!”
Review of Days Inn Tupelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Tupelo
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not what I expected - in a BAD way!”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed overnight one night on our way from FL to OK with two kids. About 2 miles from I-78/future I-22. The Days Inn was listed in the AAA MS handbook for 2010, so I thought at the very least it would be decent. Was very disappointed, especially in comparison to the Days Inn in Springfield, MO (which is AMAZING).

Positives:
* Our dog could stay - for an extra $20. And they gave us a $10 discount when I mentioned that La Quinta (where we should have stayed) gives a 10% room discount to Sam's Club members.
Negatives:
* I called before we arrived to find out the price of the room. Price quoted on phone: $63 + taxes. Price given to me in person (didn't find out until I checked out b/c no receipt was given prior): $70 + taxes.
* Smoke alarm hanging by wires from ceiling.
* No light covers in bathroom. Could see inside ceiling/ceiling could see inside bathroom...a little creepy.
* Sink countertop was beginning to separate from wall.
* Bedroom lighting was limited.
* Toilet handle had to be held for 10 seconds to flush.
* Had a one year old, but forgot the pack-n-play. Called front desk to see if we could use/rent a crib/pack-n-play/whatever and was told to "go to Walmart and buy one."
* Cable is through a cable box. Child pressed button on TV, cable stopped working, and there were no instructions on how to fix it. Called the front desk and was walked through how to fix cable - like I was an idiot. (Most hotels I stay at don't have cable boxes; there's just a cable into the TV...but I guess I should've known how their TV worked?)
* No fruit or eggs available at breakfast - just starches (cereal, bagels, biscuits, and waffles). Not much for a one year old to eat. And no highchairs or booster seats for the kids.

Overall: room basically looked like a seedy motel room worth about $40-$45 night. It looked like management put forth very minimal effort to keep hotel operational at best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickitoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    35
    26
    26
See reviews for
42
27
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I stay in Days Inns several times a year and this was my most disappointing experience to date. I always travel with my pets. No where on the website was there a mention of having to pay $20 per stay per pet. There was a tiny sign announcing this fee hidden behind an obstacle on the front desk that was only pointed out to me when I checked out. Every other Days Inn I have ever stayed in let my pets stay for free.

Upon check-in the light out front was out. It was raining and I arrived after dark so I drove around for about a half hour looking for the place. Tried to call but the line was perpetually busy or not answered. However, the check-in person was friendly and got the sign fixed once it was brought to her attention that there was a problem.

We stayed in a "handicapped" room. It was very difficult to get hot water out of the shower--we got it to run lukewarm at best after several minutes. The handheld handicapped part of the shower head did not work at all.

This hotel was not located near any decent restuarants and traffic in this small town is HORRIFIC in the mall and restuarant areas!!

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetoGo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

The rooms were VERY DIRTY! The carpet was filthy!! The pillow cases, sheets, towels, etc were dirty/dingy!! I would not allow my kids to go barefoot. Did not get the opportunity to move because they would charge our credit card therefore we tuffed it out. Luckily we travel with our own pillows. There were little knats in the room. I could go on and on and on. We left VERY EARLY the next morning. Other people in other rooms had the same complaints. The front desk was nice and could only say that she would get onto the housekeeping staff. They need to pull up all of the carpet and bedding and bathroom equipement and START OVER....Housekeeping can't help it's to far gone. My advice is if you just need somewhere to lay your head take your own pillow, wear socks and leave as soon as day light hits!!! DAYS INN can do better than that. Come on this is 2008!!!!!! The previous reviews were a couple of years ago and things hadn't changed!! I read the previous reviews but had not seen an updated review therefore took a chance on it being better..NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — THE DIRT!!
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SOFTBALLMOM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2007

This was the dirtiest hotel that I have ever visited. There were dust
bunnies hanging from the ceiling and in the folds of the curtains. My
non-smoking room has numerous cigarette burns on the edge of the bathtub. And there was MOLD growing on the bathtub curtain. My non-smoking room smelled so badly of smoke that I had to go outside to breath at 3 am. I fled this place for another hotel at twice the price rather than try to spend another night in this pit.

  • Liked — there is nothing to like here
  • Disliked — everything - starting with how filthy it is!
  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mscostumelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2006

Where do I begin .... A) Go out the driveway and go down the street to another motel because you'll be sorry if you stay here.
B) Wallpaper is stained, torn, dusty, moldy, peeling.
C) Carpet and mirrors are dirty.
D) Holes in the walls; scuffs and all kinds of other stains and unfinished drywall patches.
E) Towel bar in bathroom is bent.
F) Sheets and pillowcases are dirty, stained, torn.
G) Dead bugs and old popcorn.
H) Styrofoam cups for the non-existant coffee had holes in them.
I) Floor lamp shade cracked. Shades on all lamps very dusty and cob-webby.
J) The beds are old and icky and lumpy.
K) I'm sure there's more .... I just don't have the time to list EVERYTHING.
L) The Front Desk Lady was very nice ... it just goes all downhill from there.

By the way, I'm not taking a shower nor am I giving my daughter a bath. We're both wearing socks to bed and I'm keeping my RAID and Lysol wipes handy.
I'm praying morning comes quickly. I'd been driving for 13 hours and was hoping for somewhere nice and clean to stay ... boy did I make a mistake.

  • Liked — The Driveway Exit
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Skip this place
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ButtercupsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

I was in town due to a family emergency. After traveling 12 hours to get to my destination, all I wanted was a nice, clean room to relax in. The front desk clerk was friendly enough, no problem there, but when I got into the room, it was quite run down and in need of major repair.

There were scuff marks on the wall, the hand towel bar beside the sink was no longer there. The holes left in the wall from where the towel rack had been was patched with drywall mud. The mud wasn't sanded down or painted over, but rather it looked as if someone took a spoon and slapped it in the holes. The main sleeping area had spots of the same slopping of drywall to patch the holes in the wall.

A coffee maker was in the room however, they don't provide you with the coffee, at least our room didn't.

Other family members were in the room next to mine and when I went in, there's was even worse than mine.

The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired. If you like Little Debby Pin Wheels and mini bagels, that was about it. Sure they had cereal for the kids, Rice Krispies and Corn Flakes and I'm sure some folks like those cereals, but I expected at least donuts or a danish or something.

Needless to say, after 2 dreadful nights in this hotel, I moved down the road to another, for the remainder of my stay.

I've never had a bad experience with Days Inn and always considered them to be good, but this one my friend, isn't worth what you pay.

I don't recommend this hotel if what you are looking for cleanliness. The pictures are deceiving.

Not impressed, whatsoever.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and general upkeep/maintenance of rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Law27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vleuten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2005

This hotel was one of the better Day's Inn hotels we've experienced last 2 years.
The people were extremely friendly and helpfull.
They had about 10 rooms for the hurricane victims when we stayed here and there was also a table with food and other things for the victims. Really amazing how friendly the people are.
We stayed only one night and we enjoyed the pool, the free to use internet pc in the lobby and the breakfast.
We payed 54,63 (incl tax) for one night

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tupelo hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 26 in Tupelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tupelo
Red Roof Inn Tupelo
#6 of 26 in Tupelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tupelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Summit Center
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tupelo
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tupelo Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Tupelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Tupelo

Property: Days Inn Tupelo
Address: 1015 N Gloster St, Hwy 45 & McCullough Blvd, Tupelo, MS 38804-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Tupelo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tupelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Tupelo 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Tupelo hotel situated in rural Mississippi, near BancorpSouth Arena is the ideal spot for your vacation. Our location near Highway 45 and free parking for your car, truck or RV makes it easy to visit popular. You'll feel right at home in the clean, spacious rooms with many amenities. The cozy rooms at this family-friendly Tupelo hotel offer cable satellite television with HBO(R), a coffee maker, a microwave, a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi. Want to bring your four-legged family member along? We also accept pets at this Mississippi hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Tupelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tupelo Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing