We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food was terrible”
Review of Grover's Smokehouse - CLOSED

Grover's Smokehouse
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Restaurant details
North Topeka, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food was terrible”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

food was dry, tough to eat, lacked taste, not enough seasoning, and small portion. the pulled pork was very dry. the brisket lacked flavor. only one free refill for your drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sometimes great...”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

sometimes just so-so. My wife and I generally go and get a slab of ribs on Sunday once in a while. It's pretty much hit and miss on whether they will taste fantastic or just be dried up bits of meat stuck on a bone. If they could ever be consistent, they would blow every other BBQ place away in Topeka. Generous portions though and fairly reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My experience at Grover's BBQ has been hit and miss. Sometimes the food is pretty good, and other times it is just okay. It's a shame because it has been in Topeka for a long time and at one time there was a second location where the food was always good. Anyway it's a good place for lunch if you are in the area but don't go out of your way to eat here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank n0uzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osage City, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You've got to try the Grover sandwich”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I love the Grover turkey sandwich. It is the best smoked turkey around. The French fries are great too, ask for extra crispy. An unexpected surprise are the rib tips...you've got to try them. I love all bar b que, but this is really good. I ask for my sauce on the side so I can control the amount and the mess. The staff is friendly. The decor is poor, but I go for the food and usually drive through.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b4osage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Burnt ends are great. Ambience is forgettable, Staff are brusque, but efficient. Many of my friends go there for sandwiches at lunch, and never seem to be disappointed. Nice sized helpings

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank labamba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grover's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing