We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ sauce”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grover's Smokehouse - CLOSED

Grover's Smokehouse
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ sauce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I've been going here since I was a kid. Grover's has the best BBQ sauce! Awesome rib tips, great smoked meat, French fries are amazing too!!
Sometimes it is a little dirty, and could use a cleaning of the eating area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sauce Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've grown up around Topeka and BBQ isn't just a meal to me. It's a lifestyle. Back East, they like vinegar. In Texas, they like mesquite. In Kansas City, we like it sweet. It should be obvious to anyone which one is best (go Chiefs). I've hit up any big BBQ spot in KC----Oklahoma Joes, Jack Stack, Danny Edwards, Gates, Arthur Bryants------and what amazes me is that a restaurant in Topeka is better than any of them, or at least as good. Sure, the building isn't the prettiest, but the help is great and it's the FOOD that matters. First, let me start with what puts them over the top: the sauce. There is no sauce that holds a candle to Grover's. It is sweet and somewhat thick and just downright perfect. Next, the meat. The half chicken special is the best. The brisket is fantastic. The ribs and pork are pretty good. All that turns into a mouthful of heaven when slathered with the best sauce of all time. The best side on the menu is the jalepeno cheese grits. I'll let you find out for yourself...be sure to mix in some sauce. Grover's is the best and anyone with a differing opinion just happens to be incorrect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

You can always rely on the good BBQ from here. The meat is well cooked, the French Fries are great. We often get it to take home to the family since we live on the other side of town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kstoptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really good barbecue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The check-in clerk at my motel recommended Grover's. I found the barbecue pork to be excellent with really tasty Kansas City style sauce. The beans and slaw were just average, but the pork was among the best barbecue I've ever had. I must have hit them on a good day (based on other reviews).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drivinexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Topeka, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food was terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

food was dry, tough to eat, lacked taste, not enough seasoning, and small portion. the pulled pork was very dry. the brisket lacked flavor. only one free refill for your drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grover's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing