We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb experience at the newly remodeled inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This newly remodeled Sleep Inn had all the comforts of home on a very wintry night in early May! The night reception desk lady greeted us with a warm & friendly smile & gave us a room on the 3rd floor away from an in-coming bus load of college students saying that we'd probably be more comfortable away from all the college students. The hot tub & pool were very clean with a large pool room with nice decor. Though I did not experience the work-out room, next to the pool room, it was clean, large, and would have provided the opportunity for a serious work-out away from home. The coffee pot with coffee & the hair dryer were welcome amenities. The shower was clean & unique with a "rounded" style that was nice & large! The mattresses were clean & quite comfortable with great bedpillows. The heater was quiet when it was turned on & provided a "homey" feel to the room on a very cold, snowy May evening! The very, very nice breakfast was hot, fresh, and delicious that provided fresh fruit, self-made waffles, hot & cold cereal, bacon, sausage, and scrambled eggs! The biscuits & gravy were quite tasty. The apple & orange juices were cold & fresh, and the morning coffee was delicious! There is a seperate WI-FI room located on the 1st floor. The price was affordable, even to one on a budget, and amenities were some of the best I've enjoyed in my travels, and the staff were so polite, helpful, and friendly. It is easily located off either I-70 (exit 356) or I-470 (exit 1B) exits to Wannamaker, which makes it "easy on/easy-off" both interstates. There are about 40 various eating establishments on Wannamaker near the hotel. Enjoy the comfort, delicious breakfast, friendly staff members, and a "perk" for your wallet, too! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are located away from any noise one might hear if there is a large group of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbop3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger M, Director of Sales at Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Wow! What a great review! Thank you so much for all of your kind comments. We really appreciate the feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Our owner has worked hard throughout our renovation to be sure the property provides a level of comfort and quality that exceeds the expectations of our guest the first time they visit us. Our management and staff members are now working hard to be sure the hotel continues to provide that quality and comfort while we also serve our guests with an elevated level of courtesy, consideration and friendliness that comes to them as a pleasant surprise! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come stay with us again and bring friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending a conference in downtown Topeka. It is a great value, and is conveniently located at the intersection of Wanamaker & 470 for quick access to downtown as well as restaurants & shopping.

The rooms were clean & newly decorated. Guests might want to know in advance that the rooms only have showers - no tubs.

Breakfast at the Sleep Inn was better than most breakfasts typical of two-star chains -- The selection included waffles, fruit, sausage & eggs, yogurt, cereals, muffins and more.

Customer service was excellent. When we arrived, we found that there had been a computer error in our reservation, which we had booked through a third party online. Manager Ed immediately offered us a room upgrade at the price we had paid, and front desk clerk Jennifer was very helpful and friendly. Other staff we encountered were also very courteous & willing to answer any questions we had.

I would definitely stay here again when in Topeka.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger M, Director of Sales at Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you very much for the flattering review! Our whole staff works very hard to insure our guests get a great value from our hotel during their stay. We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us and please come back again! From our entire staff, Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean. It is off the main street, so quiet at night. It is pet friendly for a $10 fee, which is better than some places. It is close to resturants and shopping. The staff was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 800retire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger M, Director of Sales at Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for staying at our Sleep Inn & Suites and for submitting your review. Your reviews help us to insure that our guests have a positive experience whenever they stay with us. While your review was very positive with no specific complaints, it concerns me that we didn't manage to attain a top rating from you in any category. We try very hard to make our hotel the best it can be for our guests. Specific criticism is well received and we strive to address anything that you may find to be less than satisfactory during your stay. It is very important to us that you feel we provided the best value for your hard earned money. Please don't hesitate to write another review addressing the areas where we didn't earn a top rating. We will work to improve them if possible so that your next stay with us will be completely satisfactory! Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our normal hotel we stay at when we are Topeka was booked to capacity so we took a chance on this hotel and we were glad we did. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint if we had one was that the pool was a little cold and could have been warmer. Again, this is an excellent place to stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger M, Director of Sales at Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you will continue to stay at our Sleep Inn & Suites whenever you are in Topeka. Our staff works very hard to insure your stay is comfortable, convenient and relaxing. Your review helps us to make sure everything is just right for you and other guests on future visits! Thank you so much! Come see us again!
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Our normal hotel we stay at when we are Topeka was booked to capacity so we took a chance on this hotel and we were glad we did. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint if we had one was that the pool was a little cold and could have been warmer. Again, this is an excellent place to stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger M, Director of Sales at Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We strive to keep our swimming pool at a temperature between 80 and 84 degrees as recommended by the industry for our area. Depending upon the existing atmospheric conditions on any given day that temperature range could feel a bit cool or very comfortable. We will continue to monitor the pool temperature to insure it remains at a safe and comfortable temperature. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention. We appreciate your input and hope you will come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stopped in here one night while traveling between Denver and Louisville, KY on Thurs 11/29. Great access to I70, but I never heard it, the room was quiet.

Jennifer checked us in, offered my dad a lower rate than what he booked, which was nice.

We had a 2 queen bed room with shower only. (I prefer the tub/shower combo). The room was clean, and smoke free, however I could still catch whiffs of smoke coming either from other rooms or floors, ? possibly through the ventillation system. I prefer smoke free places, but this was cheaper.

Breakfast was just fine, clean and hot food looked decent, although I only had a banana and cereal and a couple slices of bacon. The bacon was good but fatty (which is why it was good!)

Close to tons of eateries for evening dining options.

This is not a gross kind of Sleep Inn at all. The remodeling has made this a nice & clean place to stay, with reasonable price and also accomodates pets without having to have a huge extra charge.

This will work great for budget minded travelers who need a clean place to rest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKJACKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here passing through on a road trip and it was wonderful! The front desk lady was an absolute joy, the hotel had an elevator which we liked, indoor pool, the room was very clean, updated,comfy and fast internet. The price was around $80 but it was well worth it, not a single complaint. Its in a good location near the interstate and on the same road as alot of good shopping and eating. Will definitely stay here again if we are passing through again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxursoxoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.2 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 33 in Topeka
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 33 in Topeka
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker
4.2 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker

Address: 1024 SW Wanamaker Rd, Topeka, KS 66604-3807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
Price Range: £63 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sleep Inn facility has undergone a complete top to bottom renovation in the last couple of years, so everything is new, fresh and up to date, right down to the new top of the line Sealy Posturepedic mattresses and 37 inch flat screen TVs! We offer a convenient location at 1024 SW Wanamaker Road, with easy access to I-70 and I 470 and less than a quarter mile from over 50 restaurants, lots of shopping, Security Benefit, Washburn University, Kansas Soybean, Advisors Excel, the Kansas Museum of History, two recreation centers, movie theaters, Gage Park, the Topeka Zoo, Hills Bark Park and more! Our Location is also minutes away from the Capital Building and Downtown Topeka! Our facility features a business center, exercise room, guest laundry, a large indoor heated pool and spa. We have ice machines, vending machines for snacks, sodas and bottled water. Our lobby elevator will take you to the upper levels. We can also help by providing some of those little things you may have forgotten. Our experienced, knowledgeable staff is here to help you in any way we can 24 hours a day! Our guests are treated to a free hot and delicious Morning Medley Breakfast while they catch the morning news on the flat screen TV in our comfortable breakfast area featuring a broad variety of breakfast favorites and of course fresh, hot coffee. We offer comfortable rooms with microwave ovens, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, free high speed Internet and those great 37' TVs. We are Also a pet friendly property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Topeka
Topeka Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing