We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Fulda
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I've stayed at a ton of country inns and this one is just OK compared to the rest of them. Like so many I have stayed at lately this one was not build as a country inn but the conversion job is not bad. Converted hotels never have enough space for the breakfast area and this one is no exception. But overall it is clean and in decent shape so I would stay again.

The staff was great and I got a very nice note from the manager after I did my online review. It is unfortunate the hotel is not smoke free but he said they are working to get it that way. How hard can it be to put up a sign? I don’t understand why they would do such an extensive remodel and not make it smoke free. We could smell it everywhere we went in the hotel. Just a little but still just a little is like having just a little dog poop in your brownies it ruins everything! The other issue that was not pleasant is the room was hotter than hot when we walked in. It was a 3rd floor room and it was 103 out so it took till about midnight before it was not roasting in there. And the purpose of the reservation is???

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Priya Sandir
MANAGER
COUNTRY INN
7854789800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    83
    35
    22
    19
See reviews for
144
59
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We often stay with Country Inn and Suites. This one did not live up to the brand. Front desk staff cordial. Check in was smooth. Room was warm when we walked in. A/C was weak and did not circulate air well. A/C fan was clunky and loud. Ceiling fan in sitting area helped but seemed out of place. Mentioned a/c issues after checking in, not much response from front desk. Toilet did not flush well. Had to hold it down then it had a chugging noise to finish the flush. Hole in shower stall around shower head needed fixing. Not enough towels in room and two decaf coffee packs, no regular, which was not noticed until morning.

On the positive, bed seemed comfortable and wifi easy to use. Power strip on desk was handy. Breakfast as expected.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the issue with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Priya Sandir
MANAGER
COUNTRY INN
7854789800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our first stay at a Country Inn & Suites. We chose this hotel because we have friends that stay at this line on all their vacations, so we also wanted to try it. Great location right off the highway, lots of restaurants and gas stations nearby. The staff was friendly and helpful, and our room was spacious and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The pool and hottub were larger than we expected and even know there were about 20 people using the pool, it did not seem overcrowded. The cookies upon checking in were delightful, and we were very impressed with the morning breakfast choices: fresh made waffles, eggs, sausage, hash browns, 4 kinds of cereal, bagels, toast, danish, fresh fruit, yogurt with berry topping, juices, milk, coffee and more! But the person who made the trip for us was the young man working at the breakfast bar on July 22, who was beyond helpful with assisting us with our young boys during breakfast. (I think his name was Chris!) One person can really set your day off right, and both my husband and I agreed he made our stay at the hotel fantastic. Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, no noise above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Priya Sandir
MANAGER
COUNTRY INN
7854789800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Good value for money. Clean rooms and washroom.
Decent breakfast good variety of food. Friendly and efficent counter staff Close to restaurants,gas and shopping easy access to interstate would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I will agree with the review by Tellulah Pixie. We have stayed here several times in the past and always had a great experience. Our most recent visit was a huge disappointment. I think the rude women mentioned in TellulahPixie's review may be the same person we dealt with, and, sadly, is the new owner. We had the same impression...this person does not know how to be in the service industry. (I am a business owner in the service industry.)

Justin, the morning person, was also the best experience for us, trying very hard to accommodate and address the numerous issues. He offered to comp us a room for our next stay due to the many failures - including green pool water and glass in the hot tub....also the same shoddy cleaning Tellulah mentioned. We will be returning to Topeka within the month and will see if the hotel has improved by using the free room. We hope it will be back to the great hotel we have known previously, if not, we will be looking for a different 'regular' hotel for our frequent visits to Topeka..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerfectTouchKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Carlson at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is located right off the Interstate and Wanamaker (main drag through Topeka).
Very clean facility, comfortable beds, spacious room with helpful front desk employees. Close to restaurants and fuel stations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

When I checked in the young girl at the front desk was
absolutely unaware of how the hospitality industry works. She was on the phone,
did not acknowledge my presence, made a mistake, and redid her entire phone
reservation without ever acknowledging me for ten + minutes! I had just driven
all day (driving cross country) and could not have been more annoyed by the
ignorant behaviors. In the room, the bed looked made on the outside but upon getting ready to sleep- it was only half made! The fitted sheet didn’t cover the mattress whatsoever- such a mess! I then went back to the desk to ask for another bar of soap for my shower- as it
was missing from the room, and that took the same young lady at least 10
minutes to figure out, despite me specifying that I needed one bar of the bath
soap (generic hotel kind in every room). There were maybe 2 plastic cups in the
room, a very odd whole in the wall with a half-way looking sprinkler for fire emergency. A lady who talked extensively to her dog who also barked extensively were within earshot the duration of my stay. The location is right next to Hooters and in the morning loud
motorcycles revving their engines was enough to wake me up, no alarm needed!
There was a towel hanging with blood stains on it. It had obviously been
washed, but still put back in my room with the old blood stains. The tub was
dirty- had to wash it myself before I could bathe… Overall this hotel is not
the worst I’ve seen or stayed at, but has TONS of room for improvement. The single redeeming quality of my stay was my choice to speak with Justin this
morning and his extreme helpfulness! The other reviews recommended this place
partially based on the excellent service he provides- and they are right! If you stay here I would advise talking to Justin if he is working. He listened to all of my
complaints, took notes down to improve upon certain areas, and made sure that I left happy with my stay. Justin truly knows what it means to excell in the hospitality industry! Despite the negative things, his honest hospitality and genuine desire made the
difference, as the hotel is not an awful “roach motel” type place whatsoever! I suggest staying here but also using caution when doing so; if it’s bad timing
it will not be a happy stay, in my opinion. I would like to thank Justin for everything he has done today to rectify all negative experiences. I appreciate that
kind of hospitality in an enormous way- as I am on the road quite a bit- it makes all the difference!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TellulahPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.0 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#4 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.3 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#6 of 32 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Address: 6020 SW 10th Ave, 6020 SW 10th Street, Topeka, KS 66615-3814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Topeka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#8 Family Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West Hotel Topeka
Country Inn And Suites Topeka-West
Country Inn Topeka West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing