We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topeka Performing Arts Center

Topeka Performing Arts Center
Ranked #20 of 47 things to do in Topeka
Attraction details
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have attended concerts, enjoyed comedians, and seen plays. Good views from all areas. Parking is a problem. Concessions are available. Had to deal with two ladies who had too much beer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DIANE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great concert venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just saw 'Chicago,' the band, last weekend and couldn't have been more surprised at what a great venue this was. Coming from out of town, we didn't realize how intimate this place is. There are theater seats, not like a sporting arena, and the floor seating is inclined so you can actually see the stage and not someone's head in front of you. The acoustics provided great sound. We'd go again in a heartbeat for another concert. This building was a treat to see. The parking garage across the street was FREE! You don't find that in big cities. Loved it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank amaslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, older theater”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Came into Topeka to see Pat Matheny (acoustic and electric jazz music).
Venue was nice, older theater with theater seating. All staff and ushers encountered were fantastically nice!
Acoustics were not the best, but not sure if that was the hall or the band's set up.
It was COLD in theater for performance, even with wearing my coat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Guests come from long distance for shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

There are many great performances, dance recitals, Nutcrackers, corporate training sessions, children's programming, etc. held at TPAC. Guests come from hours away to see a concert. Pricing is comparable to other venues and usually set by the promoter rather than TPAC.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Virginia825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunch, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Too up tight.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A beautiful facility, Judy Collins and Don McLean were excellent and presented in a wonderful way. I just don't appreciate being told I can't dance or take pictures. McLean said do it anyway so we did.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darrel-Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Topeka Performing Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to Topeka Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing