We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
WoodSpring Suites Topeka
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Value Place has been my family's home for the past six months. We are in the middle of relocating from another state and purchasing a home. I definitely would not say that this hotel is anywhere close to ghetto standards but for the price, you cannot expect it to be the Ritz Carlton either. We have had the same manager here throughout our stay and she has been very friendly and more than adequate. Although they do have a high turnover for the rest of the staff, most of the employees seem to be good people. They have provided a safe environment for our family to stay in and have attempted to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I would recommend this option for anyone who is looking to purchase a home or work in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBaller220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2009

The room was very nice and all of the housekeepers and staff that I met were really friendly and always had a smile on their face! I met with the manager who checked me in and her pleasant personality made me feel right at home. I read the previous reviews and I can say that my room neither had bed bugs or stunk of anything. It was a very nice place to stay, a sort of home away from home. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goobersgirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

They have bed bugs! It's awful! I have bites all over. The entire building stinks. They advertise that they are a fully furnished extended stay establishment. That usually means things like kitchenware, towels & soap. There are no dishes, pans, utensils, kitchen towels, soap, etc. You get two bath towels, a bar of soap and dozens of insect bites!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
2  Thank royallaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I stayed at the Value Place for a few days, and if you are on a budget, this place will definitely do for a while. It's less expensive staying here for a week then if you would book the cheapest hotel/motel for a week. The place has a new manager. She started about 1 -2 months ago and she was very friendly and helpful, so were the other people I came in contact with. I didn't have any hangers in my room and didn't realize that until 9 p.m. when I filled the form out and I called from the phone up front and the hangers were delivered to me within 10 min. It's nothing glamerous, but I felt ok there and definitely would stay at the Value Place again if I need to.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank My_Review_Opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Been Here almost 8 months and survived most of the staff, which has a turn over rate that is quite sad. the little staff that has stayed are the only ones holding the place together. The " Temp" or Traveling manager that has been assigned , is now running the hotel like he is the dictator . Disrespecting several guests , The disregaurd for the staff is alarming , rude , perverted and seems to be disturbed as though he may have been picked on in school.

It is a Real Shame the owners seem to want to run the hotel properly, but this manager has threatened the staff that they better keep there mouths shut to the higher ups , and if they do talk he made it clear they would back him up and never beleive the other staff.
many other guests have requested that he have the district manager called Or have him report complaints he never tells them because they are in regaurds to him.
He is a modern day Tyrant .
Please do not let this reflect poorly on the other staff they are the only reason we haven't left.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mamamayeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

I stayed there 2 weeks before being told to leave because my room "smelled like I was smoking marijuana."

I had NOT been smoking anything but cigarettes and burning a candle. But, because I refused to let them in to "inspect" (mind you this is on Sunday when the office is supposed to be closed - apparently except to harass the guests) because I was in my underwear. They came to my door and tried to open it with a key BEFORE they even knocked to see if anyone was in there. And when I told them they would have to give me a minute to get dressed (I am a woman staying alone), Willie (the manager) looked me up and down and said "You look dressed to me." I was not about to let him in after he talked to me like that. So I decided I would rather forfeit the $100 deposit and get out of there as quick as I could. I was given 30 minutes to vacate the premises. What a nightmare!

For the two weeks I was there, it was loud and obnoxious. I know there were rooms that had parents staying in there with 2 or 3 kids. There were so many rules it felt like living in a dorm room or army barracks. AND absolutely nothing is complimentary. You even have to buy your own toilet paper. You have a "full kitchen" (minus an oven), but nothing to cook with or eat on. And the elevator was so slow you could walk up and down the stairs faster.

They give you two towels and two washcloths and if you want them replaced before your bi-weekly cleaning, you have to take them (and the sheets for that matter) down to the office (DURING OFFICE HOURS ONLY) to exchange them. For this luxury, they charge you an additional $7.00 a week. They advertise the room as being $169 a week, but by the time they nickel and dime you to death, the bill is right at $200 for a week.

DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS "HOTEL" It was like living in the projects.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VPTopekaCrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Topeka
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Topeka
Econo Lodge Topeka
#24 of 33 in Topeka
97 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Topeka Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 33 in Topeka
591 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker
5 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WoodSpring Suites Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WoodSpring Suites Topeka

Address: 1801 SW Westport Dr, I-470 & 21st St., Topeka, KS 66604-4058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range: £32 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WoodSpring Suites Topeka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WoodSpring Suites Topeka is a new kind of extend-stay hotel. Our hotels are comfortable, our rooms are well-priced, and our customer service makes every guest feel welcome. Kitchens in every room. If you need a hotel for a few nights, a week, or longer - you'll save more money the longer you stay with us. Free wi-fi and access to guest laundry and vending help you relax while away from home. WoodSpring Suites. It's Simple. Done Better. Extended stay hotels are different in amenities from traditional hotels. - Daily housekeeping included in nightly rate. - Private bathroom in each suite (ADA and ADA w/ Roll-In shower available). - Guests can book by the night. Weekly and extended stay rates also available. - Pet-friendly Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your WoodSpring Suites Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Topeka Hotel Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing