We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Hyatt Place Topeka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Topeka
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This was my first stay at a Hyatt property. There is a two lane round-about you need to go through to enter the street leading to the hotel. It is unecessary as the one street leading away from the hotel is a dead-end road with no businesses. 4 times I went through he round about and almost got hit or hit someone. They are very dangerous. A 4 way stop intersection would have been better.

The road to get to the hotel's parking lot is not marked, nor is there a sign for the hotel telling you where to turn in at. The adjacent business center has a sign at the road - but not Hyatt. I turned in here only to assume you had to drive through the business center parking lot to get to the hotel parking lot. There is only 1 entry/exit and this is it.

The hotel itself was wonderful. Staff was courteous. I and several friends (taking up 5 rooms) only stayed one night. The room was clean ( room 313). The only problem was the air conditioner was dripping water on the carpet. I didn't notice it till morning when I got wet feet when I went to open the curtains. There was a little bit of road noise, but it wasn't too bad. I noticed it as I had turned off the Air Conditioner at 2 am so I could sleep.

The pool appeared like it was built on the shaded portion of the building, but I'm not really sure.

The room had small desk & chair, refrigerator, small sink & counter top but no microwave oven. The very small clothes closet is hidden behind a sliding mirrored door to the right of the bathroom vanity. There is no hint that the mirror slides to reveal a closet. The room divider is too close to the one bed, so it might be a problem for those sleeping on the side of the bed near he divider..

Energy efficent bulbs throughout the room so it was rather dim with some of the darker colors in the room. Bathroom was clean.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkAvenueMOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

State of the art hotel. Room is huge and TV is bigger, with HD! Bathroom is extremely small. Large sink is outside. Toilet inside is placed too close to the door - pretty much the m.o. of all Hyatt Places. Shower was great! Bed was a blessing, so comfortable. Refrigerator , couch and large desk were in this fatastic suite. The complimentary continental breakfast could have been allot better - but at least the coffee was good. Free newspapers included: Wall Street Journal, USA Today and local Topeka paper. Parking lot was huge with plenty of spots. Close to the State Capital and Brown vs. Board of Ed building.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My bed sheets were not changed. Cleaning was poor and that maid pierced all over the face was a terrible impression

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonic2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

As mentioned spent a week at Hyatt Place and enjoyed myself. My room featured a 46" plasma TV with access to a few genuine HD channels (HIGHLY unusual!). It also featured a separate conveniently-mounted patch panel that would be useful for the traveler carrying a laptop with HDMI output on its BluRay DVD player. Perfect for extended veg-out sessions...with a couple exceptions. The large sectional in my room was nearly impossible to use for any extended time due to totally worn-out foam on every single one of its bottom cushions. I ended up using both throw pillows for support down there and, even then...
Guess one COULD lounge on the bed, but, again, why? I don't know WHY Hyatt brags about their beds! These things are closer to cotton-covered bricks than quality, cushy mattresses! SO - nix the idea of substituting bed for dead sectional...
Provided wireless internet is slow and signal strength is weak - not a very good solution - especially considering they've run local cable to each room.
WORD - I visited Shatner and originally booked a full 7-day stay. I attempted to renew - in a timely fashion - for another 7 days, but this was declined unless I was willing to pay TWICE the daily rate I'd had! Look, hotel-industry-in-general!. I KNOW you'd rather not accommodate, "us," but, if it's really such a chore, how about simply telling the, "Negotiator" you've made the negative attitude a formal policy and start refusing to accept bids? I KNOW this hotel had openings - I ASKED! Anyway, left a bad taste in my mouth and, in the future, I won't look at Hyatt unless there aren't any alternatives (and, even in the backwater I'm currently visiting, Hyatt, you have LOTS of competition!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrc050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Another hidden gem. Clean, friendly staff, good food, good location, quiet, incredibly comfortable bed. Very generous breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acharya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed at the Hyatt Place while in town for a wedding. The room was modern & stylishly appointed, the staff were friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was great and the bed provided an incredible night's sleep. We couldn't ask for more and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oiledhingessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Wow, what an awesome place. The best value on our vacation. Had a very nice welcoming at check in. The young lady at the front desk was very friendly. The room was huge. We had a room with the sleeper sectional couch. A huge TV (the kids really liked that). The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was small, but it didn't bother me. The breakfast was a very nice change from styrofoam plates and plastic utensils. They had real plates and utensils. Nice selection for breakfast. Lovely place, really good value. Topeka had some really strong storms earlier in the day, the pool area was in need of a straightening up. Went to the front desk to inform them of this and it was cleaned up very quickly. Lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.2 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 33 in Topeka
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#7 of 33 in Topeka
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
4.5 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Topeka West I70 & Wanamaker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Topeka

Address: 6021 SW 6th Ave, Topeka, KS 66615-1006 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Topeka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#6 Family Hotel in Topeka
#6 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range: £71 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Place Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Topeka Hotel Topeka
Hyatt Topeka
Topeka Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing