We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat! Great stumble upon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyatt Place Topeka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Topeka
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Baja California Norte, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a treat! Great stumble upon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

So happy we chose this place from the list of available hotels. I was just so surprised to find such a lovely HUGE room, great linens, fantastic shower, good coffee. Didn't have any great expectations, but couldn't beat it for under $100.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 012608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    116
    39
    14
    5
See reviews for
153
90
26
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

The Hyatt Place in Topeka is a great hotel. We stayed here for a week while visiting relatives. Most of the staff is super. However, one of the desk clerks was gruff and didn't appear to have many customer service skills. We only approached her two times with normal questions and both times she looked at us through half-opened eyes with a "are you kidding me?" expression on her face. She was a little scary. Everyone else was very pleasant and kind. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast was adequate. They serve biscuits and gravy on the weekdays. But curiously enough, they do not on the weekends. It was a little disappointing. The fruit salad was extremely sour/bitter. Everything else was ok...cereal, bagels, bread, yogurt.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csshwtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Time
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

After a long day of driving, I stopped off here with my children. The lobby is lovely and the staff very friendly. The first room we got smelled musty and had food all over the floor. The second room had hair in the bathtub. We were given a third room and it had even more food and hair in the bathroom. We finally took one of the rooms and put towels everywhere there had been any hair. I was extremely grossed out, but we were all desperately tired. We left super early the next morning as none of us slept well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank betsyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Second HP stay on our cross-country journey. Exact same hotel/room layout. Main complaint is the breakfast area - very cramped area with a large table in the buffet area. We now get a tray, select our breakfast items, leave the melee buffet/reception area to have a quiet breakfast in our room. Hotel is located passed a round-about(circle)- Americans just need to learn to negotiate them as they ARE safer - entering -one yields, once in, you have the right of way AND use your indicator (blinker) to exit. Anyway, there's a nice pond & paved path to walk & stretch your legs next to the hotel. It's true there's no sign at the lane to the hotel, but hotel is visible from the street. Hotel is conveniently located right off the interstate. Couldn't get across/out of KS in one day,so this was my choice lay-over, and I'd stay here again, if necessary. Large room, large flat screen TV w/video inputs, free WiFi, small fitness area, good A/C, comfy beds, frig, coffee maker and desk in room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid_Avia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

This was my first stay at a Hyatt property. There is a two lane round-about you need to go through to enter the street leading to the hotel. It is unecessary as the one street leading away from the hotel is a dead-end road with no businesses. 4 times I went through he round about and almost got hit or hit someone. They are very dangerous. A 4 way stop intersection would have been better.

The road to get to the hotel's parking lot is not marked, nor is there a sign for the hotel telling you where to turn in at. The adjacent business center has a sign at the road - but not Hyatt. I turned in here only to assume you had to drive through the business center parking lot to get to the hotel parking lot. There is only 1 entry/exit and this is it.

The hotel itself was wonderful. Staff was courteous. I and several friends (taking up 5 rooms) only stayed one night. The room was clean ( room 313). The only problem was the air conditioner was dripping water on the carpet. I didn't notice it till morning when I got wet feet when I went to open the curtains. There was a little bit of road noise, but it wasn't too bad. I noticed it as I had turned off the Air Conditioner at 2 am so I could sleep.

The pool appeared like it was built on the shaded portion of the building, but I'm not really sure.

The room had small desk & chair, refrigerator, small sink & counter top but no microwave oven. The very small clothes closet is hidden behind a sliding mirrored door to the right of the bathroom vanity. There is no hint that the mirror slides to reveal a closet. The room divider is too close to the one bed, so it might be a problem for those sleeping on the side of the bed near he divider..

Energy efficent bulbs throughout the room so it was rather dim with some of the darker colors in the room. Bathroom was clean.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkAvenueMOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

State of the art hotel. Room is huge and TV is bigger, with HD! Bathroom is extremely small. Large sink is outside. Toilet inside is placed too close to the door - pretty much the m.o. of all Hyatt Places. Shower was great! Bed was a blessing, so comfortable. Refrigerator , couch and large desk were in this fatastic suite. The complimentary continental breakfast could have been allot better - but at least the coffee was good. Free newspapers included: Wall Street Journal, USA Today and local Topeka paper. Parking lot was huge with plenty of spots. Close to the State Capital and Brown vs. Board of Ed building.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Louis Mo.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

My bed sheets were not changed. Cleaning was poor and that maid pierced all over the face was a terrible impression

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonic2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.2 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#4 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
4.4 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#6 of 32 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.5 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Topeka

Property: Hyatt Place Topeka
Address: 6021 S.W. Sixth Ave., Topeka, KS 66615 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Topeka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#6 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Topeka Hotel Topeka
Hyatt Topeka
Topeka Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing