We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #75 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Went for a weekend with my sister. From our arrival to our departure everyone was very friendly and accommodating. There was a MagCon event going on that weekend so the place was filled with teenage girls swooning over Vine video "celebrities, but the staff and security did a good job keeping them under control. We had a corner room with beautiful views and the beds were very comfortable. The location was ideal in that we could walk right across the street into the Gaslamp district and enjoyed some good meals there. We also walked along the bay one morning and had breakfast at a cute little place that overlooked the water.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matayaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your stay! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and walked to many attractions that are near us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,957)
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Bayfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,932 - 2,938 of 4,957 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Pros: Location by the water with great views. Clean rooms, fantastic shower. Not far from Balboa Park. Comfortable beds. Starbucks in lobby (very pricey, but convenient)

Cons: We still have to pay for wi-fi?! $30 per day parking. No fridge in room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanBC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed our location and our comfortable beds. We do offer room packages that include internet for your next stay with us. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had to attend a meeting in San Diego and this was the headquarter hotel. Very pleased overall. Great view of San Diego harbor from our 28th floor room. Staff is very helpful and they have a separate checkout station so you don't have to stand in line at the front desk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for leaving your feedback via TripAdvisor! We are glad your stay with us for your meeting was time well spent. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Check in was great - friendly, attentive and informative. The property still feels new and seems to be in great shape. Rooms are spacious and clean. Room service food quality is good and was delivered promptly (most times before promised). I found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Location is nice in that the hotel is on the water and only a short walk to waterfront shopping and restaurants. Gaslamp district is an easy walk but there are many hotels located in the district if that is more your thing.
My one complaint is the quality of the WiFi. Terrible, intermittent connection on the 27th floor. They did put me with IT support who was unable to help. Hopefully this was a temporary issue but it did not improve over my 4 night stay - I was not charged for the WiFi - definetly a technical NOT a customer service issue.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SConTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We are sorry about the technical difficulties with the WiFi, we have looked into the issue and were able to fix it. Thank you for letting us know and we are happy our staff help make your stay more comfortable. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You would expect a Hilton to be clean, efficient and well-run. Well, this is certainly that plus quite a lot more. We enjoyed several nights here for our first visit to San Diego in 20 years. Our room was spacious with a great view, spotlessly clean and well looked after by Housekeeping. The Pool Area and Gym were very popular and well equipped. Dinner at the Vela restaurant was OK, if nothing special, but there are lots of dinner options close by. The breakfasts in the Vela were uniformly first rate, and the service attentive and friendly. Reception were also friendly and helpful - a fridge was arranged for the room in no time, and with minimal coaxing we were offered a code for free WiFi access in our room. Loads of parking next door at rates which were better than the other hotels we considered, and also reasonably easy walking access to Seaport Village, USS Midway, and the downtown Gaslight area. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We are so happy you decided to stay with us for your return to San Diego after 20 years! We hope you will choose to stay with again when you are back in town. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You have to pay for internet and you don't get good service, it is very slow and gets disconnected in every 2-3 minutes. Mattress was very uncomfortable. Location was fine. Too many kids and noise. Restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vandana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Please let us know next time if you are experiencing poor internet service so we may look into it immediately. We strive to provide a comfortable environment for our guests while they are with us. We hope the next time you are in the area you would consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

While attending the NABE 2014 Conference, I was fortunate enough to have had my school set-up our overnight accommodations at this property. It is an absolutely beautiful hotel with very attentive staff. My only piece of advice is to eat elsewhere, given the on-site restaurant prices are quite high.

Room Tip: Reserve one of the rooms that has a view of the bay and city skyline. It's breath-taking!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Wonderful to hear you liked our accommodations and service. We would love to welcome you back whether it is for a vacation or business. ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,633 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £101 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing