We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton bayfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #75 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hilton bayfront”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in February 2014. Great location. Gaslamp quarter within walking distance. Wonderful restaurants and nightlife. The hotel itself is beautiful. Very trendy decor. Great atmosphere for drinks and dinner. Bit pricey though. The downside is the parking fee. Atsronomical! $25/Day. This is not included in the resort fees you pay! My advice is park your rental ( if you have one) across the street in the public lot. 5$/24 hours. Just be mindful of the times you need to move the vehicle. Otherwise pool area was fabulous, very family friendly. Staff super attentive as well. I traveled with Kids who wanted to visit SD zoo. We just walked along the bridge and got the train/trolley. Very easy! Recommended if your looking to Be close to gaslamp quarter. And easy to get too Corrinado area too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpriante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We appreciate your review and we are thrilled you enjoyed our downtown location! Our parking rates are inline with all downtown area hotels and rates at downtown public parking lots vary based on season/events. We do not have any resort fees for our hotel. We will share your kind words with our staff and we look forward to welcoming your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,029
    1,643
    647
    251
    109
See reviews for
993
927
155
2,139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I found this an excellent hotel.

The hilton San Diego Bayfront is in a perfect location for the convention centre and only a short walk to the main tourist attractions. The trolley bus stops at the hotel. The hotel is next to the San Diego convention centre, only a two minute walk, only 5 minute walk from the gaslamp quarter and 10-15minute walk to seaport village and USS Midway. The hotel has the vela restaurant for breakfast, with a wide selection on the buffet and an a la carte menu. There are several restaurants for evening meal including fox sports bar. There is a poolside bar and a spacious pool overlooking the bay. The bedroom had tea and coffee making facilities and bottled water but my room had no mini bar. The bathroom was stocked with the usual toiletries. There was a small gift shop in the hotel and the business centre was very useful to have complimentary on line flight check in and printing of boarding passes. You can get free wifi in the lobby and the restaurants, (but not bedrooms).

I found the staff all friendly and helpful especially the man on the desk during check in even having a plan of the hotel and showing me each available room on that floor. My room on the 17th floor had a wonderful view overlooking the convention centre and city. Although overall I had no issues with the cleanliness as the hotel was very clean there was one day my bath wasn't cleaned a minor oversight.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for those attending conferences.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank itlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are right next door to the San Diego Convention Center and many attractions our guests enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for a conference and found this hotel did not represent the hilton brand very well. We were disappointed with a number of aspects of the hotel. It was extremely crowded all the time and found it hard to access different areas We are HH members however they had no club area and we were given vouchers to Starbucks hmmmmm.. The food at the various restaurants and In Room was below average. All in all would not recommend other than a very quick overnight stay if you had to be in that location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueandsteve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. We will be sharing your feedback with our staff so we may make necessary improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We recently had a week at this hotel. My husband had a conference here and I was the tag along.
I am not normally a fan of big hotels preferring a boutique hotel but this was the exception.
We had a lovely large corner room on the 23 rd floor. It had beautiful water views across to Coronado Island and was very comfortable.
The location is ideal as you are able to walk to the gas lamp area, along the waterfront and to the ferry to Coronado.
The staff were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and requests were dealt with immediately.
I would highly recommend this hotel as a base for your San Diego stay.

Room Tip: Corner room, high floor, water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are happy you were able to join your husband and experience our hotel! We highly recommend the higher floor corner rooms as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Next door to the convention center.This is great hotel for a conference.We had a nice Jr Suite with a wonderful bay view.Room was clean and beds were comfortable.We could walk to everything including restaurants also ate ate the hotel and the food was good.The pool was perfect for an afternoon rest in the sun.I would recommend this hotel.The Jr Suite was 2 rooms that connected,one room had a couch and one had the bedroom.Liked the 2 bathrooms and 2 closets.The second room had a big table so my husband ,who was a the meeting ,could do work while I could see TV or read my book.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed our pool and spacious junior suite accommodations! Thanks for recommending our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Spent 5 nights during a conference. Convention center within very short walking distance. Loved the bay view & all of the activity. Very comfortable room and bed. Good room service and food. Only complaint is with charging extra for wifi; with these room rates I would expect free wifi. Luckily I have ATT & had instant wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for staying with us for your conference! Great to hear you enjoyed our very convenient location right next door to the San Diego Convention Center. We do offer packages that include internet for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I just returned from a 4-day conference and can happily recommend the hotel for others to use for the same purpose. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The food was excellent. The conference rooms were varied in size, but all very comfortably furnished and air-conditioned. The location was perfect for walks by the water and to local fare in the Gaslamp Quarter. It was an excellent stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MCamacho1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Great to hear your conference and stay went spectacular. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing