We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Nearby Hotels
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$240
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$251
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$282
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$699
US$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$325
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,254)
Filter reviews
5,254 results
Traveller rating
2,245
1,844
731
298
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,245
1,844
731
298
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetco parkconvention centergaslamp districtpedestrian bridgevela restaurantthe fox sports grillcoronado bridgethe gas lamp districtcorner roomshort walkbay frontself parkingbeautiful hotelbreakfast buffethigh floorbaseball stadiumlarge hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,097 - 3,102 of 5,254 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I am staying in the hotel at the moment and am entirely happy with it. The room is fine (23rd floor looking ?North towards water and convention centre) and gave me absolutely no cause for dissatisfaction. Smooth arrival and check-in, a couple fo quiet days before the conference started and everything going well during the more formal parts of our stay.
Small group reception (1-200) this evening on a fourth floor outdoors patio was delightful, and larger group formal dinner last night was smoothly orchestrated and delivered decent food throughout.
Close to lovely areas of downtown, a ten minute walk to hundreds of restuarants and other vendors offering most anything you could be looking for. Even closer to the trolley-car / train station ... and the public transport here is very good (far from a given in US cities). Very close to baseball park, if you're into that kind of thing.
It may not appeal to everyone but yesterday morning I was having a quiet coffee on an outdoor patio while a huge aircraft carrier sailed by out to sea, blocking half my skyline from several hundred metres away ... not the sort of morning coffee experience I get every day.
It's a biggish hotel, it's a major chain, and I am here on a conference package ... but I am having a great time and the hotel's involvement has varied between completely invisible and very good.
I am not an organiser so cannot comment on package prices,except that none of our events seem to be more expensive than at any of the other destinations we have been to over the years.

Room Tip: No surprises really. Higher is better. The lifts are not terribly noisy. North looking outside-view rooms are nice, although I have not seen the others. None of the bedroom doors are super-quiet closers, but has not been a problem to-date. Decent curtains for light exclusion, aircon is adequate, and external noise reduction imperfect (listening to beach music drums from 23 levels down at the moment) but has not been a problem at all.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiffyGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your stay! We are happy you are enjoying your time with us during your conference stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again whether for business or pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great spot if you need to be close to the conference center. Also perfect for the Gaslamp area too. We had no trouble driving in and out of hotel area. Only 12 minutes to the zoo. Rooms were nice, roomy and although we didn't have the bay view, our view really wasn't that bad. Biggest complaint is that we have two small children and finding meals for them in the morning and evening was not the easiest. There is a Starbuck's on location but the hours are limited. Pool and deck area is lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review! Wonderful to hear you liked our convenient location in downtown. We will share your review with our staff and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We combined a business trip at the convention center, along with a Mother's Day leisure trip and had a fantastic time. Hotel is right there at the Con. center, Petco Park, Gas Lamp district, Seaport village and ferry across to Coronado.
The staff is very helpful and amenities are very good. Pool is exceptional and has bar and food service right there. Several cautions for you though; if you're on a higher floor 19-26, Wi-Fi is spotty at best, and doesn't seem to get better as you get lower. 2. Self parking at garage is $30/day, with in/our privilege, due to demand in the area (ballpark parking on game nights and convention center overflow) Train/trolley is right across, so you can use that if you're going around town. 3. If you have more than 2 guests in a room over 18, there is additional charges per night that isn't listed on the hotel sites like hotels.com and others. About $20/night more.
Altogether, a great place to stay in San Diego.

Room Tip: Pick a room on 1-15th floor and still has great view for good Wi-Fi pick-up. Take shuttle from airport ($8 each way on Supershuttle and walk around or take train close by. Old town is a 20 minute cab ride, so may cost you some. If you have a car, get up to Mission Bay and Pacific Beach/La Jolla for great views and meals overlooking ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batterz-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your stay via TripAdvisor. How wonderful that you were able to make the most of your business trip! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and pool. We will look into the Wi-Fi strength on the mentioned floors. Thank you for letting us know. We look forward to welcoming you back whether it is for business or pleasure or both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wonderful hotel on the bay in Downtown San Diego. Located next to the convention center, and across from Petco Stadium, an easy walk to the Gaslamp District. Our suite was on the 29th floor with fabulous views to the north, Coronado Island, the marina and Point Loma. The views from the other side of the hotel are equally stunning.

The staff was very attentive, the rooms beautifully designed and everything was spotless. The housekeeping staff were cheerful and friendly.

We upgraded to a Jr. Suite, although I couldn't figure out what was Jr. about it. Two adjoining rooms, two bathrooms, a dining table, fold out couch and very nice working desks. I loved the chaise/chair by the window in the bedroom! (I too, would have liked a small refrigerator.)

The hotel is quiet, restful and relaxing. I would recommend this hotel for everyone, business travelers, honeymooners, and for weekend getaways. There is a nice wide walkway along the water for walkers, runners, just a little sightseeing, or watching the sun go down from the little park and pier close by.

Room Tip: If budget allows, a Jr. Suite is wonderful. Views from both sides of the hotel are spectacular, choose a high floor, if you can.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MbeanColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful five star review! We are pleased to hear you found our accommodations spacious and comfortable. We will see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Highly recommend this new hotel on the Embarcadero Bayfront. Attentive, courteous staff. Great food at Vela Restaurant, and fabulous original infused cocktails. The pineapple habanero infused tequila is amazing! The drinks and bites at Oysssea Lounge are also very good. Nice atmosphere, and nice views (thru-out hotel as we'll). Prices are quite reasonable for an upper tier Hilton property. Great views most most rooms, as hotel we'll sited on property.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the the five star review! Wonderful to hear you enjoyed our infused cocktails and food. We are currently renovating Odysea Lounge and it will be the new hot spot in downtown San Diego this summer. Come back and visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews