We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot and cold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #75 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hot and cold”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Beautiful property but limited facilities. One bar, one pool, one restaurant. When a private event closes one of those, you're out of luck. When they do not warn you in advance of the closing, you're really feel left out to dry. Staff were a mix of very good folks and some that were too busy to care about guests. Events were excellently done. Some individual guest interactions were decidedly un-Hilton-like.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We strive on making all our guests feel welcomed and comfortable during their stay. We apologized if you were not informed of a private event. We will share your review with our staff and hope you will stay with us again when you are in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,029
    1,643
    647
    251
    109
See reviews for
993
927
155
2,139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Location is great, facility is new and good condition. Hotel wanted to charge $25 extra for early check in which I've never had at a Hilton before, especially as an HHonors member. Food quality on location and service are just average, which is disappointing in this location and facility quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and policies and apologize for the confusion and frustration you encountered. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Room was flooded by a drunk patron in adjacent room. Required 3 phone calls to desk to receive assistance. Placed in a replacement room that was extremely noisy. Bell service did not offer to assist in changing rooms. Did not recieve promised compensation in the form of Hilton Honors points.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
5 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced during your stay. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We have sent you a private message so we may get in touch with you and resolve any outstanding issues. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Vista, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just want to send a special thank you to Claudia the Bellhop who was extremely helpful and delightful she is a great first impression of the Hotel and the services yet to come. Also a very special thanks to Nolan at front desk for being so polite and helpful and offering such wonderful amenities to us during our stay. Because of these two employees we look forward to returning to this hotel, they were both great representatives of Hilton

Phil and Kathy Johnson
Omaha Ne

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review via TripAdvisor! Wonderful to hear that our staff made a difference in your stay and we will share your review with them. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went to this hotel on business and stayed a couple of extra days. No issues with room cleanliness or service but I thought the room, bar, and restaurants were a bit over priced for a very average experience. BTW Fox Sports Bar has terrible food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive for every guest to have an exceptional experience at our hotel. We will share your review with our staff and Fox Sports Grill. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel location is great. Rooms very clean. However, it is extremely noisy there. The slamming doors is annoying and quite loud. I will seek another hotel on my next trip. For the price, it was disappointing

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay. Please let us know next time if you are experiencing any discomfort with your guest room and we will do our best to relocate you to a better location and address any noise issues. We hope you will consider staying with us again when you are in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Wow, this is a great place, a little pricey during our conference, but the weekend rate was very reasonable. The internet is $15 bucks a day, free in the lobby. The staff is VERY nice. It's a 10 minute or less cab ride from the airport, $20 including tip. The view is GREAT! It's right on the bay. There is a walkway all along the bay that beautiful, There is a sky bridge to PetCo Park and the gaslamp district, trolley system and convention center are all located in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: I'd ask for bayside, but my room was 16 floor and had a beautiful view
See more room tips
Green Features: The local plants are outstanding, it's beautiful, eat at the Fox Sports Grill for a wonderful view of the bay
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay! We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and its location in downtown. We look forward to seeing you next time. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing