We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good appearance,but something still missing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #76 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Big hotel, just by the beach. Staffs professional and efficient. Could not understand why no fridge in my room, in such hot city. As a brand chain hotel, should consider the actual needs of a customer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Qun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please let us know the next time you will need a fridge and we will be happy to bring one up to you. Having them available per request is part of our green initiative. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,845 - 2,851 of 5,091 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to San Diego for a family vacation and we had the best time. The Hotel staff and service were great. The hotel was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The view was wonderful. You could see the water, Coronado, and downtown. The hotel is close to Gaslamp and Seaport Village Areas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Corner suite facing convention center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 74dash68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful 5 star review! We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed our hotel and its location. See you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I've stayed at many large Hilton's which sometimes lose their ability to deliver personal service but not this one. From the moment I arrived, my bags were taken off me, guided to the front desk, no queue, great service, I took an upgrade for $20 and got an amazing view across the bay.

The bell team ensured I could get a taxi to go diving at 6am and gave me a bottle of water on my return later :) most appreciated.

Just across from the gas lamp area, next to the convention centre it was better placed than I could hope.

Loved the pool area, all of the team were really friendly without being pushy and I had lunch there which was very nice and not too expensive .

The spa and gym was also very nice & I had a really good massage.

The concierge sold me tickets to the us midway at a reduced price & I didn't have to queue.

Finally checkout was a breeze and I then used the spa to shower and change before leaving in the early evening.

My sister was staying at the us grant and this was over £100 a night cheaper... And with the pool & position I think I had the better hotel :)

Room Tip: The rooms with a bay view are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie38c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your fabulous 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel, service, food and accommodations. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here with my husband in first week of June for 4 nights after driving from LAX. The location is great with excellent view to the sea and Coronado Island. The main bar area has no atmosphere and the pool bar is nice but cocktails is weak and also not presented in a beautiful way. A 20-30 mins walk to marina where lots of good restaurants are.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank drsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy you liked our location and the views from our hotel. We are renovating our hotel lounge - Odysea and it features new furniture, new menu and atmosphere. We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

On a recent family outing we stayed at the Hilton and had a great time. The rooms and service were excellent. We were close to shops in the harbor village, walked to Petco Park for a baseball game, thanks to the Skywalk from the hotel. We're always in need of good coffee and were happy that Hilton had a Starbucks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casapanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your stay via TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and proximity to Petco Park. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed in several Hilton properties over the past year, and this one stands out for the staff, service, and location. The hotel had been full for many days due to conferences in the adjacent convention center. At some hotels, , this high volume of guests can result in ambivalent or stressed staff. Not here. We had to wait until 3 pm to check in, and the staff did all they could to make the wait convenient, taking our cell numbers to call us when the rooms were ready. They also offered a free mini frig for the rooms, and they ensured that we could get rooms that were adjacent when our request for adjoining rooms couldn't be honored. Our 11 year old son is very talkative and active, and the staff was patient, gave him markers and paper and tape, and answered his numerous questions while we waited. We had a breathtaking view in a corner room on the 27th floor. We could see the bay and ships, downtown, the stadium, and the rail yard. The convention center is across the street, and the gaslamp district is a short walk. Despite the high volume of guests, the rooms were clean and very comfortable, quiet, and the property was well maintained. The concierge provided discounted tickets to a bay cruise and to Sea World. Parking was reasonable considering the location ($30). I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views both of the water and downtown. The rooms are pretty quiet if you are away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves2garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! It was our pleasure to help make your stay with us more comfortable. We are happy our staff made your stay memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a very nice up to date hotel. Located right on the bay, the location couldn't be better. You will be walking distance from the Gaslight Area, Petco stadium, and of course the bay front. Watch ships and boats on the bay or just the people walking along the water. You will be close to some great restaurants and even just two miles from the famous aircraft carrier, Midway. The hotel is well kept and located in a safe area.

Room Tip: Bay side rooms will have the best view. I was in 2963 and really enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed our location in downtown San Diego. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 278 in San Diego
4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,779 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £77 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing