We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #72 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect for families with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend for 3 nights and loved it. 2 adults, 2 kids plus one toddler. We upgraded to the huge suite which is about 1100 sq feet and it was amazing. Breakfast at Vela was really nice - good food, healthy options and nice view. The pool was seriously filled with kids day and night so beware if you don't have kids. The pool movie on Saturday nights was a ton of fun for the older kids, especially the free popcorn and ability to float in the pool while watching the movie. The toddler pool was perfectly designed with water jets and sprays. The fitness center looked really well done but with 3 kids we didn't get to use it. Location is gorgeous and walking distance to Gaslamp. $30/night for parking really bugged us but there are no other options so you'll need to suck it up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are thrilled you and your family had a memorable stay with us. Don't forget our family-friendly movies by the pool on Saturday nights this summer. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,009
    1,629
    636
    248
    104
See reviews for
989
920
154
2,101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wonderful property across from Convention Center and Old Downtown. Outstanding amenities, best rooms, great service. Some employees may be younger and careless, but if you go ahead and ask the right person, everything will be solved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy you found our location desirable and convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just a hop, skip and a jump from the Convention Center and the historic Gaslamp Quarter, this Hilton is a cut above most Hiltons and has topflight service, food and accommodations. The breakfast and dinners in the Vela Restaurant are very good, and the lobby staff excellent (especially Alex). Andy at the Enterprise Rent-a-Ca counter in the hotel was also excellent.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnydogmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Wonderful to hear that you liked our location in downtown San Diego and our staff helped make your stay more comfortable. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My colleagues and I stayed at this property for a conference recently and were very impressed. Located next door to the San Diego convention center, it was easy to shuffle over for the early-morning sessions. A short walk down the bay led to a number of shops and restaurants, and in the evening the Gaslamp District was easily accessed via a footbridge. We took a ferry across the bay to Coronado for a quick beer and stroll. PetCo park is also right across the street. As for the amenities, we found the poolside bar to be very cozy. In the evenings we sat by the fire and reflected on the conference sessions over whatever drink special they were offering that evening. The pool itself was WARM and clean and so inviting. Starbucks on the property was a big plus, except for the long lines. Outstanding views, comfy rooms, updated bathrooms -- it was a great place to be for a few days!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZSportyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for the fabulous 5 star review! Wonderful to hear you enjoyed our location and the amenities our hotel has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My stay with Hilton was none other than awesome... the Location was great with an easy access bridge to Petco Park and Gaslamp.. Service was outstanding and everything was so clean and comfortable. Bath products smelled amazing too!! Completely satisfied with everything!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank sarahj654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
What a fabulous 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to share it via TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and our hotel amenities. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel in June 2014. I was traveling with some friends and we had requested connecting rooms when we made the reservations. This is not an unusual request, but you would be surprised how many times hotels just can't seem to accommodate the request. When we arrived - we checked in with absolutely no problems and they had our connecting rooms all ready. The hotel staff was absolutely superb. We had to leave very early in the morning - 4:30 am, and when we checked out, we were greeted with the warmest smile from an employee named Alex. Way to go Hilton. They assisted us with taxi service on several locations and you can tell they really hustle to help out their guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Deirdre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us! We will share your kind words with our staff and we look forward to seeing you again. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I visited here on business for a conference at the convention center. The hotel is in a quiet location as it is on the end of the harbor. You are walking distance to places like Petco Park, Convention Center, Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. I would highly recommend the Maritime Museum (you can walk there too) and shopping at Seaport Village. The breakfast buffet is extensive and includes made to order omelettes. The views from the room windows are grand.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay! We are glad you found our location convenient and enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,883 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing