We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, large rooms, attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #73 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
312 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great location, large rooms, attentive staff”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed on business in August for three nights and was fortunate to get upgraded to an incredibly large corner suite. I enjoyed the attentive service, extremely convenient location for GasLamp district, beautiful view of bay, etc. The gym is well equipped, with the only drawback being that the channel selection on the individual equipment screens should be expanded to include more premier/viewable channels. The basic ones on display are (to put it politely) disappointing to the point of being useless.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo2018babushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on TripAdvisor! Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and our location. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,045
    1,674
    659
    255
    112
See reviews for
1,003
935
156
2,176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The Hilton, great views of the bay. Friendly staff, and easy check in. Parking is a little expensive,but prime location. Fun activities for the kids. We were able to catch a concert nearby. Walking distant to Petco Park. Stayed here two times already, just love it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dylan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are glad you enjoyed our views and our staff. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with family (2 kids) for 2 nights. Rooms are ok, breakfast could be better, and the location is not bad (on the bay promenade)
Pool is small but clean and kids friendly.
Drink/food prices are exaggerated, $9 for a beer?!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nadav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value your feedback and we will be sharing it with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is rated as 4 star but it is new and is more like 4.5 stars. I had a nice spatious room with two king beds. Nice upper floor room with great view at the bay and in distance US navy harbor with aircraft carriers and the city and baseball stadium on the other side. The room is spatious and very clean. The hotes fitness is not that big but with modern Precore aerobic machines. The front desk stuff and concierge stuff are very kind with the fact in mind there is a big guest turnover. I would reccomend staying in this hotel. The lobby area is nice and spatious. You can walk over a walk bridge to a Gas Lamp restourants historic area a 15 minute walk avoiding traffic.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ratko_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and service. We look forward to your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Except for check-in.....but, of course, it's always "timing" that makes the difference! If you can avoid it - don't check in on a Friday! But, of course, if the hotel management was customer-facing the need for adequate staffing to exceed the check-in experience would be obvious. Once you get past the front desk ......you won't be disappointed. The room was clean and spacious and my view of San Diego Bay (almost) erased the front-end experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cgriff_leawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We value your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your guest room. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, amazing location and friendly staff make this place worth staying at!

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time! We were given a gorgeous room with a stunning view of the marina. The pool was perfect, and there's even a Starbucks downstairs!

You can walk across the bridge to gaslamp and uber over to Coronado island.

Staff was extremely friendly and the place was spotless.

Highly recommend!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LilBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We never moved our car until we left - enjoyed the San Diego Symphony Summer Pops, walk to the Midway great meal at The Fish Market! Seaport Village - all 5 stars and we look forward to a return visit and more San Diego adventure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Annette018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share it on TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed our location and all the nearby attractions. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing