We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel -- great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #21 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel -- great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a very nice Courtyard hotel -- just a few years old and very clean.
Pros
**Nice lobby, rooms, and heated pool
**Ample free parking
**Great walking path along the water with playgrounds for kids
**Location - away from the really busy areas, but still just a short drive to downtown, parks, and Coronado
**Walking distance to restaurants (Mex, Panera, Tender Greens, etc) and shopping (Trader Joe's)
**Nice fitness center near pool with easy access

Cons (not really any, but...)
**The hot breakfast is great but not included in most rates
**If you want to make this a walking trip, a downtown location like the Omni, Hilton, Hyatt would be closer to Petco Field (players stay at the Omni), USS Midway, and the restaurants of the Gaslamp district.

Overall though you can't go wrong with this Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    324
    61
    23
    6
See reviews for
395
279
60
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Perfect, quiet spot for our "Daycation". Less than 5 minutes away from one of the best dinners we've ever had (Island Prime). Loved the free coffee, and they made connecting to the Internet super easy (both wifi and wired). Everything was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful with local recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLove1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I went to Courtyard Marriott and no problems going in and going up to my room. I finally get there, go out to eat and realize that my card has been declined. I booked the trip on travelocity and so everything was already paid for, but apparently Courtyard decided to run the card again by "accident" for $1200. Since I had about $1000 in the back, basically my card was declined and I had no money to spend. When I told the front desk, they said they would release it after the weekend when the banks opened back up. So because the hotel made this mistake, I was stuck not able to spend any money and not eat for the weekend, and I got no gesture from the hotel as well.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is a newer property located on the old Navy training base. The area has been commercialized and now has walking trails with a number of shops and restaurants in the area. The best part are the walking trails along the hotel that lead to Harbor Island across from the airport. The accommodations are what you would expect from a high end Courtyard, but during our stay there was some very noisy parties that the management didn't seem to care about. They even broke the elevator and were still allowed to stay at the property. It's also a little noisy being at the end of the runway for the airport, but you don't notice the planes all that much. It's easy to get both to the downtown area over the N. Harbor St. bridge and out to the Point Loma area going to the south. We would definitely stay here again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony, preferable on the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireman_Bob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

In San Diego for a conference held at the Sheraton which was only 2 miles away. Chose a Marriott property to use my points. Many Marriott properties within 10 miles but this looked the best due to free internet wireless in rooms and free parking plus proximity to conference.
Staff on phone and at desk friendly and helpful. Listened to another Trip Advisor member's comments and chose not to overlook the pool which seemed very noisy. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the parking lot below but never heard any noise on the 4th floor. Looked over some hills and houses but couldn't see any cars when sitting on the couch or the balcony. Loved that thermos pots of Starbucks coffee were off the lobby up until maybe 9 p.m. and the bartender in the tiny bar area was amazing taking orders and running the bar.
Happy hour not a great deal on the wine but the food items were half off for that short time.
(Grilled shrimp yummy!). Refridgerator in the room always a winner in my book. The airport shuttle guys were so accommodating by giving me a lift to the Sheraton which was across from the airport each of the three mornings and my husband picked me up each day. No need to pay the $20.00 all day parking at the conference. Room was clean, furniture in excellent shape and lots of plugs to charge all the electronics. Would stay again even if not in town for business as hotels in downtown charge ridiculous fees to park and noise levels great if near Petco and Gaslight streets. It's less than 10 mins. drive to Horton Plaza and this location even has a Subway, Starbucks and Mexican Restaurant across the parking lot from the hotel next door. Lots of free parking and the free shuttle if flying into San Diego can't be beat! Can't find one thing I didn't like and I am a picky traveler!

Room Tip: In summer, if you like to sit on balcony or open doors and read quietly, get a high floor over entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 385eileenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Will stay here again! Great modern decor. Clean. Great breakfast and cafe. Good hot tub. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MommaTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Spent 4th of July there and had a great time We will be back again
Great Location,staff was very nice parking was real bad on the 4th of July and another guest paid no attention and snuck their dog into the place via a side door

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POLICEDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing