We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #26 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Keurig coffee maker: awesome. If U drink coffee w/creamer in your room, bring some creamer. There R fridges in the rooms. No more Coffee Bars in the Lobby since the updating. I haven't seen any of those Go Cups like I'm used 2 seeing @ Marriott's. We'll have 2 watch if Hilton does something simliar.

Room Tip: 1.8 mi. from the airport. So if you love the Harbor view, be prepared for the noise of jets taking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am glad you enjoy our Keurig K-Cup Coffee makers! I too am a fan of the convenience of these machines, and am also someone who needs creamer for my coffee. We are also proud to offer refrigerators in every room . Next time you stay with us, let us know if you would like us to deliver a carafe of half & half from our Waterside Deli to keep in the fridge in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    327
    63
    23
    7
See reviews for
397
281
61
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The rooms were clean, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They did a fantastic job. It was such a convenient venue due to it's airport proximity and many surrounding restaurants. We held a corporate event there and everything went off without a hitch. I would definitely hold another event there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to hold your event with us! We are delighted to hear you will be back the next time! You mentioned our location and the staff, two aspects of the hotel we are very proud of, and especially love seeing positive feedback about. Thank you again for your business, and we cannot wait to host you and your colleagues again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here for 10 days in Nov 2013 and were thrilled with our choice of hotel. Our room overlooked the harbour arm, was very quiet, extremely clean, and the location was central to the tourist sights we wished to see (e.g., Cabrillo Monument, Zoo, USS Midway Museum, Gaslamp Quarter, Coronado, La Jolla). We appreciated the Starbucks in the hotel and the small 24 hour store with food items, snacks and sundries. The larger Liberty Station area had another Starbucks and several nice family style restaurants (e.g., pizza, mexican). We had a cafe latte and breakfast sandwich from the hotel Starbucks each day and sat on the outside patio and enjoyed the sun. We either read or sketched, sometimes for hours at a time, it was so relaxing. We did not use the pool or hot tub, although they looked inviting. We used the free shuttle to and from the airport and drivers Scotty and Mikey were very friendly and accommodating. Two things made our stay outstanding and would bring us back in a moment. One was the staff. Every single one of the staff we encountered were very friendly, helpful, efficient, effective and welcoming. Many remembered our names. Thank you to, in no specific order, Rick Brown, Molly, Sandy, Damien, Kris, Duncan, Susan, Ashley, Angela, Samantha, Anna and Vincent. We became good friends with Jim, the bartender, who, as advertised by Trip Advisor, really does make the best Margaritas. We have never seen a harder working, more sincere bartender who takes such pride in his work. An awesome man working with a larger awesome staff. Each of the housekeeping staff was friendly and did a great job of our room, too. The second thing that would bring us back in a moment was the menu and food. OMG - we dined at the hotel all but 2 of our nights in San Diego. We can't say enough about the quality of the food - it is first class, affordable, and served beautifully. Thanks, again, everyone, for a wonderful stay. We didn't expect to spend so much of our time at the hotel, but you made it a special place to be. We were truly relaxed when we left and that is what we needed. By the way, we rented a car and GPS from San Diego Rent A Car at 3346 Kettner Blvd because we were shuffled there when our rental company didn't have our booked car available. Bernie and Jerry were very friendly and helpful and their assistant went out of his way to get us a GPS and even drove us back to our hotel when we returned the car. We highly recommend their company.
We'll be back for sure!
Elaine & Hart
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and had room 321 which was an end room with a view of the harbour arm. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Wow! Such a detailed picture of our hotel you have shared! There are many aspects of this hotel that our guests appreciate, thank you for sharing many of these with other travelers. I am very happy to see that you were able to meet many of our associates from throughout many different departments. I will be sharing your kind words with all of them, as we are all in this business to do the best we possibly can for all of our guests, and great feedback such as yours is always welcomed by our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We were not informed at check in the POWER would be shut off overnight. I saw a note by the elevator. The management was not proactive and ruined a pre cruise stay. I need electricity for medical equipment - i had to practically demand another hotel, and was told i needed to be back at this hotel first thing in AM. I had to pack, move, pack and move. Unacceptable. Only response from management was they would cover it in training sessions and they were sorry. What started out as a great stay turned into a NITEMARE! I would NOT RECOMMEND this hotel. Sheraton Harbor Island or Hilton Harbor Island are old standby's -- i regret trying this "new" property.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicuriousTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rick b, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
It was good to talk with you yesterday and hear your thoughts regarding the SDG&E power outage and the impact it had on you. Again, we apologize for the lack of verbal communication at check-in. As you know we had plenty of signage throughout the property, but fell short at your check-in.

I'm glad to hear that you loved our property and the staff overall, and that you would return to us on your next San Diego visit.

We are in the process of talking with SDG&E on how they were 3 1/2 hours late on their stated return power on time of 5am.

Thanks again, and we hope you have a wonderful cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice area of SAn Diego, close to the airport, close to Cabrillo point, the harbour and not too far from downtown. The only drawback might be the noise from airplanes in some rooms. There is ample parking in front of the hotel free of charge. The buildings are well kept. The personnel was very nice and welcoming, especially the lady in the breakfast room. The breakfast (included in our rate) was copious, very varied and of excellent quality. The room (double queen size beds) was large with all the needed amenities. The TV set was reasonably new with a decent choice of channels, although the different plugs for HDMI, RGB and so on were not working properly. The whirlpool and teh swimming pool were heated and with a nice view of the waterway in fron of the hotel. Definetely worth going back to.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms toward the airport if you wan tmore quiet. Some rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pas-encore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Courtyard Liberty Station. From our unique location, friendly and attentive staff, up to date property, dining options, and in room amenities, you noted several aspects of the hotel that we are very proud of. Thank you for your positive feedback on many different aspects, as we strive to provide a complete package that leaves a lasting impression on all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Courtyard Marriott for 5 nights Dec 2013! The property was immaculate! The room was clean and comfortable! The hotel staff was very courteous and friendly. We had an excellent stay and would highly recommend the Courtyard to anyone....we will return here again without question!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you choosing to stay with us! I am happy hear that the property, guest room, and staff all exceeded your expectations. The number one guest comment we can receive is that they will be back, and I am happy to see you will be paying us the ultimate compliment by returning “without question.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I am a Platinum Premier with Marriott – in other words I spend more than half my time in hotels. I’ve stayed in probably close to 100 different hotels around the world and the Courtyard at Liberty Station is one of the best. I’ve been a guest at this property probably more than a 100 times since it opened and never had a bad stay. As others have indicated the staff is extremely attentive. The location is very convenient – beautiful park right next door. And of course you can’t forget Jim and Anna at the bar. Jim is one of a kind – super friendly even when he has 30 or 40 people in the bar – he always has a smile and greats everyone. When Jim isn’t there Anna does a super job filling in. On this trip in December I was pleased to see the whole menu has be revamp with some very unique items on it. Thanks for making me feel at home when I’m almost 3,000 mile from it! John

Room Tip: get a bay view room even if cost a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
It is great receiving such positive feedback from our Marriott Rewards Platinum Premier members. Without a doubt, travelers with elite status in hotel loyalty programs know what a hotel experience should be, and have high but realistic expectations. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#112 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing