We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #27 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I only stayed for 1 night and it was my last day in San Diego and wish I was able to stay longer! The room was very nice and was very close to where we had to drop our car off. It is also very close to the airport and they also offer airport shuttle! Wonderful and clean area! I believe they will even do a pick up for you at the airport if you call ahead! Def. recommend this area especially for the price! It was an average place and for what the room was like it would be like 2 times more expensive in Chicago!

Room Tip: If you are on a higher floor I believe you should be ok but you can ask them that you want to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, even though your stay was very brief, we appreciate you sharing your experience. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our location, close to the airport and your rental care agency, and the convenience of our airport shuttle. Hopefully during your next visit to San Diego you are able to stay longer, and are able to take advantage of all of the hotel’s amenities and get to experience Liberty Station.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed here on and off for 6 months while doing work in San Diego. I can't say enough good things about the staff and location. The staff made the time away from home and hectic work schedule tolerable. They made the effort right off the bat to make me feel welcome and comfortable. They took the time to make sure I got the room I liked and always anticipated my needs.

The location is great and is on a beautiful stretch of water which is great for runs, walks or just soaking up the sun.

The only downfall to this place is bar closes too early. Around 9:30-10ish. They could make so much more money and keep their patrons happy if they just kept the bar open.

Other than that I highly reccommend this place. The rooms are great size, clean and nothing beats the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPT2LAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

First and foremost, I would like to thank you again for choosing our hotel as your “home away from home” during your half year long project in San Diego. We are very fortunate to have the opportunity to have guests stay with us long term, as we are able to really get to know them on a personal level. Not only is it nice for our long term guests to have familiar and friendly faces throughout the hotel, but it’s also nice for us as a team to have guests we look forward to seeing on a regular basis. We thank you for your loyalty, and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel is clean, updated and the staff is friendly and helpful. No more than 5 minutes from airport and 10 - 15 minutes from the downtown waterfront. Microwave and 2 refrigerators in the room are a great extra.
I have stayed here in the past and will stay here on future visits to San Diego.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank tberch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that have you have chosen to stay with us on many occasions, which is the effect we hope to have on every single guest that stays with us. Thank you for your loyalty, and for sharing that with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Keurig coffee maker: awesome. If U drink coffee w/creamer in your room, bring some creamer. There R fridges in the rooms. No more Coffee Bars in the Lobby since the updating. I haven't seen any of those Go Cups like I'm used 2 seeing @ Marriott's. We'll have 2 watch if Hilton does something simliar.

Room Tip: 1.8 mi. from the airport. So if you love the Harbor view, be prepared for the noise of jets taking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

I am glad you enjoy our Keurig K-Cup Coffee makers! I too am a fan of the convenience of these machines, and am also someone who needs creamer for my coffee. We are also proud to offer refrigerators in every room . Next time you stay with us, let us know if you would like us to deliver a carafe of half & half from our Waterside Deli to keep in the fridge in your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The rooms were clean, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They did a fantastic job. It was such a convenient venue due to it's airport proximity and many surrounding restaurants. We held a corporate event there and everything went off without a hitch. I would definitely hold another event there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to hold your event with us! We are delighted to hear you will be back the next time! You mentioned our location and the staff, two aspects of the hotel we are very proud of, and especially love seeing positive feedback about. Thank you again for your business, and we cannot wait to host you and your colleagues again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here for 10 days in Nov 2013 and were thrilled with our choice of hotel. Our room overlooked the harbour arm, was very quiet, extremely clean, and the location was central to the tourist sights we wished to see (e.g., Cabrillo Monument, Zoo, USS Midway Museum, Gaslamp Quarter, Coronado, La Jolla). We appreciated the Starbucks in the hotel and the small 24 hour store with food items, snacks and sundries. The larger Liberty Station area had another Starbucks and several nice family style restaurants (e.g., pizza, mexican). We had a cafe latte and breakfast sandwich from the hotel Starbucks each day and sat on the outside patio and enjoyed the sun. We either read or sketched, sometimes for hours at a time, it was so relaxing. We did not use the pool or hot tub, although they looked inviting. We used the free shuttle to and from the airport and drivers Scotty and Mikey were very friendly and accommodating. Two things made our stay outstanding and would bring us back in a moment. One was the staff. Every single one of the staff we encountered were very friendly, helpful, efficient, effective and welcoming. Many remembered our names. Thank you to, in no specific order, Rick Brown, Molly, Sandy, Damien, Kris, Duncan, Susan, Ashley, Angela, Samantha, Anna and Vincent. We became good friends with Jim, the bartender, who, as advertised by Trip Advisor, really does make the best Margaritas. We have never seen a harder working, more sincere bartender who takes such pride in his work. An awesome man working with a larger awesome staff. Each of the housekeeping staff was friendly and did a great job of our room, too. The second thing that would bring us back in a moment was the menu and food. OMG - we dined at the hotel all but 2 of our nights in San Diego. We can't say enough about the quality of the food - it is first class, affordable, and served beautifully. Thanks, again, everyone, for a wonderful stay. We didn't expect to spend so much of our time at the hotel, but you made it a special place to be. We were truly relaxed when we left and that is what we needed. By the way, we rented a car and GPS from San Diego Rent A Car at 3346 Kettner Blvd because we were shuffled there when our rental company didn't have our booked car available. Bernie and Jerry were very friendly and helpful and their assistant went out of his way to get us a GPS and even drove us back to our hotel when we returned the car. We highly recommend their company.
We'll be back for sure!
Elaine & Hart
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and had room 321 which was an end room with a view of the harbour arm. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Wow! Such a detailed picture of our hotel you have shared! There are many aspects of this hotel that our guests appreciate, thank you for sharing many of these with other travelers. I am very happy to see that you were able to meet many of our associates from throughout many different departments. I will be sharing your kind words with all of them, as we are all in this business to do the best we possibly can for all of our guests, and great feedback such as yours is always welcomed by our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We were not informed at check in the POWER would be shut off overnight. I saw a note by the elevator. The management was not proactive and ruined a pre cruise stay. I need electricity for medical equipment - i had to practically demand another hotel, and was told i needed to be back at this hotel first thing in AM. I had to pack, move, pack and move. Unacceptable. Only response from management was they would cover it in training sessions and they were sorry. What started out as a great stay turned into a NITEMARE! I would NOT RECOMMEND this hotel. Sheraton Harbor Island or Hilton Harbor Island are old standby's -- i regret trying this "new" property.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EpicuriousTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rick b, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

It was good to talk with you yesterday and hear your thoughts regarding the SDG&E power outage and the impact it had on you. Again, we apologize for the lack of verbal communication at check-in. As you know we had plenty of signage throughout the property, but fell short at your check-in.

I'm glad to hear that you loved our property and the staff overall, and that you would return to us on your next San Diego visit.

We are in the process of talking with SDG&E on how they were 3 1/2 hours late on their stated return power on time of 5am.

Thanks again, and we hope you have a wonderful cruise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £109 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing