We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!! (And it's location!!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #31 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel!! The staff was super friendly and gave us the best room for our price range--top floor with a balcony. Had a nice view of the channel and San Diego. Loved our room - clean and cozy. Couldn't ask for a nicer one. The pool and hot tub was in a very elegant setting. It seemed like we were only minutes away from everything we wanted to do. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PerpetualK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your very kind review, and for choosing to stay with us! We are very lucky have our hotel in such a unique, convenient, and beautiful location, and I am very pleased you were able to take advantage of this while staying with us. I am happy to hear you were placed in one of our great rooms featuring a balcony and view of the San Diego Bay, and that you found the accommodations clean, comfortable, and cozy! Thank you again for choosing Courtyard Marriott Liberty Station, and we can't wait to be your hosts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is an ideal location for visitors to San Diego: close to the airport and popular destinations like the Zoo, the Midway Museum, and Little Italy. Our room was spacious and pleasant, and the front desk personnel, especially Kris, were friendly and efficient without being obsequious. We enjoyed great sandwiches and wine at the bar. Didn't catch the bartender's name, but she was a sweetheart. The hot tub was a real plus. We noted that both the hot tub and the pool are handicap-friendly. A variety of restaurants are in walking distance for those too weary to drive into town. There's no extra charge for parking or wifi! (The recent practice of charging for parking in a non-urban setting is a pet peeve!) I have not rated this hotel as a "5" because it is in the flight path for Lindbergh Field: The noise was not unbearable, but some may object. Also, we occasionally heard creaking as guests staying on the third floor walked about their units. Overall, we were very pleased with the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOWRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and had a wonderful time taking advantage of all the amenities within the hotel, and also the local area. I am happy that you found the room and its features to your liking, as well as our amazing staff, notably our Front Desk Manager, Kris. I am sorry to see that you experienced airport related noise, which prevented us from receiving a perfect 5/5 Trip Advisor score. Next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to remind us you prefer a room where this will not have an impact on your rest and relaxation. I am happy to see that you will definitely return to stay with us again, and I hope your next and all future stays with us will be a 5/5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here for three nights. It's an excellent hotel with a great staff, bay views, gym, pool, spa, delicious food and the suites conform to specific requirements for the visist.

It takes about 10 minutes from there you can get to almost anywhere in the city

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Awesome review and great pictures, thank you! We always appreciate guests taking the time to post their personal photos of their trip to San Diego, especially ones featuring the Courtyard and Liberty Station. Also, thank you for sharing info regarding our complementary airport shuttle, and public transportation (San Diego MTS bus & trolley service) to and from local attractions. This information is very valuable to travelers, and is a big reason why they come to Trip Advisor. I am happy to read you enjoyed using your balcony to take in the planes, and the neighborhood bird activity! Thank you again for your detailed review and photos, which I am sure many Trip Advisor users will also appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family and I finished out our California vacation at this beautiful hotel. This property is true to the positive reviews and pics on the internet. We were pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous view of the San Diego Bay, the clean, spacious rooms, the location near attractions, and especially the friendly staff. We felt welcomed by every person employed by this hotel. We had stayed at an Omni in the San Diego downtown district for three nights and the W Hollywood in LA, but this particular hotel lived up to the service and quality of what we paid to stay there for two nights. This hotel will be one of our favorite places to stay in the Bay area in the future. Thanks again to the fine staff for considering how very important it is to be kind, helpful, and friendly to your clients; it is why such hotels are chosen over others for future visits.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, and for sharing your thoughts on the accuracy of other reviews posted by our guests on Trip Advisor. We understand that more than ever, travelers rely on their peers' opinions and experiences when making their travel plans and decisions. We are so grateful for those guests that have the awesome experience we strive to provide to every guest, and go on to share that those experiences on influential forums like Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This Courtyard is located on the site of the former US Navy Recruit Training Center in a development now called Liberty Station. Much of the old base has been preserved as a park. Many of the buildings have been restored and put to new use as restaurants, stores, and other establishments. The hotel is located on an inlet that once separated most of the base from the recruit barracks. All sorts of birds can be seen in and around the inlet. Rooms that face the inlet also face the San Diego skyline. The hotel is located about 5 minutes from the airport and the planes take off just about a hundred yards to the north of the hotel. It is a great place for planespotting, but when the sliding door on the balcony is closed we could not hear the planes at all and slept very well at night. There is a free airport shuttle available and the staff was always very helpful. The hot tub is really hot instead of lukewarm like you often find. If you use public transportation, you can walk to the bus stop on Laning Road and Harbor Drive in about five minutes. Catch the 923 bus there and ride it toward downtown to the trolley station at American Plaza. It takes about 10 minutes. From there you can get to almost anywhere in the city. We will definitely be going back and staying here.

Room Tip: We sat in the rooms facing south and they were fine. You can see downtown and the inlet from these r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrislast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your review, and especially for posting the great pictures you took of the hotel and local area! It is always great to see guest's personal photos taken during their stay, as we are able to get a better understanding of our guests experiences through their point of view. Other travelers are also able to see guest's photos and get a very real perspective on how their trip could be. I'm very proud to know that the staff, guest room, hotel amenities, and dining options all met or exceeded your expectations! We hope to have you back soon! Keep taking those great travel pictures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The pics of this property and it's nice location on the waterway with beautifully landscaped walking paths leading to Liberty Park are accurately portrayed on the website. This is a beautifully maintained Courtyard with superb views of San Diego in the distance and the waterway and park in front of the property. There are lots of lounging spaces for enjoying the beautiful weather. My husband and I stayed here on Christmas Eve and was pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of the public spaces of this hotel and it's beautiful and convenient location. The staff is friendly and the rooms were clean and well-maintained.

We were delighted to have received a visit from Santa's elves on Christmas morning--the hotel staff prepared and assembled Christmas stockings filled with homemade goodies and left it on our door. It was a nice touch on the part of the hotel and shows their dedication to "hospitality"--we appreciated it. Thank you!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Sam Diego skyline and waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for choosing Courtyard Marriott Liberty Station, and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that we lived up to your expectations after your pre stay research on our website. We are very lucky to be in such a beautiful location, and our groundskeepers do an excellent job keeping our property up to par with the surrounding area. I am glad you were able to venture out and explore the neighborhood and all it has to offer. I am also happy to see you received a special Courtyard Christmas stalking. Hopefully it helped your visit feel a little more like home during the holiday season! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us during this special time of year, and for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here for four nights just after Christmas and I was pleased with EVERYTHING about this hotel! The free shuttle to and from the airport is a great convenience and I had 2 very friendly drivers, Joe and Sandy. The food in the restaurant is very good and Jim is a great bartender. The location is excellent for several reasons: Liberty Station is near the airport, there are many restaurants, a few Starbuck's, and a Trader Joe's within walking distance, and it is located along a lovely waterway with an esplanade for walking or biking. I thought it was great in the month of December to take a walk every morning along the esplanade to explore the rest of Liberty Station and learn about how it is on the site of the old Naval Training Center. All the staff I encountered were friendly and cheerful and very knowledgeable about the history of the area as well as being able to recommend restaurants and other tourist info. The pool and hot tub area is very pretty and there is lots of comfortable outside seating areas. I plan on making a trip back to San Diego this summer and I definitely will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Courtyard Marriott Liberty Station, and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor! I am delighted to read that you were happy with all aspects regarding your stay. From the convenience of our shuttle, our great dining choices, and all of the friendly staff you encountered, to all that Liberty Station has to offer, I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy all of the qualities of our hotel! I am especially glad you were able to take the time and explore and experience all of the history of Liberty Station, as it is a hidden gem in San Diego. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#35 of 286 in San Diego
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £125 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing