We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #25 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have to agree with the other reviewers. This hotel was great. Seems to be fairly new and everything was neat and clean. The room was very nice with comfortable bedding. Bathroom was nice as well. Couldn't ask for anything more. The grounds were pretty with outside patios, a pool, and a view of the ocean. There was a wonderful waterfront park to walk along. The Liberty Station area is very nice with numerous shops and restaurants. Most were within walking distance. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! It means even more coming from someone that has reviewed over 60 hotels! We appreciate your comments regarding the clean rooms, which we have passed along to the housekeeping team to reassure them their hard work does not go unnoticed. Thank you again, and should you be in the San Diego area in the future, we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    339
    66
    22
    7
See reviews for
413
284
61
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 weeks. Chelsea Carone was very professional and has exceptional customer service. Chelsea was very accomodating and made sure we had a great 5 weeks. All of the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very updated and clean. There is alot to do with the pool, outside seated area with firepit, a restaurant, bar area, cafe, and workout area. There are beautiful, extensive grounds (miles) to walk surrounded by water and palm trees. Beautiful place to walk, run, ride a bike, scooter, roller blade, etc. Lots of activities all around - people exercising, playing socceer, ball, etc. Hotel is very close to restaurants, grocery stores, etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn_h_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you! What a great review of our Sales Manager, Chelsea! I have shared your comments with the team to celebrate. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed everything from the room to the grounds and local area. After staying for 5 weeks, I’m sure you became very familiar with the property! Thank you again. Come see us (and Chelsea!) sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The Marriott is a very nice hotel. The room was large, nicely decorated & had a nice view. I enjoyed the infused ice water available in the entryway. They have several options for food & drinks within the hotel. I had the Chef Special & the risotto was yummy! I walked the extensive waterside grounds. The only downside was although their pool is lovely, it gets shaded by the building in the afternoon. (A little cold on not-so-warm days)

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank proctor992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the risotto; it’s one of our newer items! Come back and see us in the summer when the weather warms back up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stopped at this hotel on the way to Mexico . It was very near the airport, and once you find it ( it is tucked away in a mall) easy to get in and out. The service was friendly, helpful, in a utilitarian way.
The buffet breakfast, though not opulent, was quite satisfactory and had most everything you might want to have for a good breakfast.
It is very handy to the San Diego Zoo and very near the Gas Light quarter of San Diego which is hopping place in the evening.
A room overlooking the pool would be a definite plus...
The price for the room made it a definite plus.

Room Tip: Room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seberus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for writing the handy review! That’s just dandy you were able to grab a bite to eat before heading out to the Zoo. Thank you for staying with us; come back to those great pool views sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forked River, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights recently. Everything good written about the hotel is true. The employees are great, the restaurant decent, the rooms are clean and modern! And, best of all....Jim, the main bartender, was the Best! I felt very comfortable staying in this hotel. Every convenience was here....the coffee shop/deli, the mini market place, the restaurant, the business center, the pool and outside seating area, the bar (the Best!, as previously mentioned) and also....the walking area outside of the hotel. Also, there are other restaurants and stores just steps from the hotel. The hotel is 10 minutes from the airport (how convenient when one has to rise at the ungodly hour of 4am) and close to all the major highways. I would not hesitate to book this hotel for me and my family...and we have travelled quite a bit. To Hotel Management: You are doing something really right here....make sure Jim is treated well and Chris (from the restaurant and bar) too....you would not want to lose these guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbles664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! Jim IS the best! I have passed along your comments to the entire team to share your kind words. Also, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as the grounds. Next time you fly in, come back and see us (and Jim of course)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was an excellent location that had a nice shopping area just outside the Hotel, a area for walking alongside one of the inlets from the bay and is also very convenient to the major roadways surrounding the airport. Many good restaurants are close by. It is not too far a drive to Shelter Island Park from here. Great central location to be in.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BCvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and for writing such a great review. We are definitely fortunate to be located in both a beautiful and convenient location. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Checked in Monday, February 17, and stayed until Friday the 21st. Immediately greeted by two or three persons working the front desk. Friendly, knowledgeable staff anytime we had a question during the stay. The room attendants were equally as friendly and offered more of anything we might need. Room was appointed as advertised. Easy access to Liberty Station amenities and very convenient to all San Diego attractions. Five minutes to the airport. (You could walk to it if you had to!) Would highly recommend this hotel for business or vacation travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review! We are happy to hear you were well taken care of and enjoyed the location. Fly back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.5 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#9 of 278 in San Diego
1,109 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing